tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

DARKHER

Realms

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark FolkDark Wave

[95/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two years after her brilliant EP The Kingdom Field Jayn H. Clear Mountain alias Darkher releases a full album. We liked the good EP at the time for its angelic, mysterious and dark atmosphere. We were wondering which direction she chooses for this album.

She starts with a dark ambient, a drone track that slowly builds up the tension and floats into the second song Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil sounds ominous and you find yourself in a world of ghosts and other strange creatures. In addition, we hear the vocals that are very pure and hide a certain desperation. On Moths she leaves the tension and the threat and comes up with a rather dreamy song. Do not expect happy scenes or colorful butterflies, but this song is rather relaxing and lethargic. You hear a more typical dark wave / folk song. Wars begins with dark and deep sounding strings. Pounding drums and a thin voice do the rest. Buried Part1 is a kind of prequel which is continued on the sinister Buried Part 2. Strong. Lament ends this album in style.

With Realms Darkher follows the path of The Kingdom Field. We notice a contrast between dreamy and obscure songs which makes the album not too heavy and nicely balanced. A release of a high level, in her own style. The artwork features mysterious and mystical images. Beautiful. Realms is as good The Kingdom Field. Doing better will be difficult.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na de schitterende ep The Kingdom Field is Jayn H. Wissenberg alias Darkher er met haar debuut. We vonden de ep indertijd engelachtig, geheimzinnig en donker. En ook heel goed. Benieuwd welke richting ze op dit album uitgaat.

Ze start met een donkere ambient, een drone track die langzaam de spanning opbouwt en overgaat in het tweede nummer Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil klinkt onheilspellend en je waant je in een wereld van geesten en andere vreemde toestanden. Daarbovenop krijgen we de vocals die heel zuiver en toch een zekere wanhoop verbergen. Een eerste sterk moment. Op Moths verlaat ze de spanning en de dreiging voor een dromerige en eerder zweverige song. Verwacht je niet aan zonnige taferelen of kleurrijke vlinders, toch is deze song eerder ontspannend en gezapig. Je hoort hier een meer typische dark wave/folk song. Wars begint met donkere en diep klinkende strijkers. Pompende drums en een dunne zang doen de rest. Buried Part1 is terug een soort lang uitgesponnen prequel dat zijn vervolg krijgt op het sinistere Buried Part 2. Sterk. Lament sluit een negenkoppig tellend album af in stijl.

Met Realms volgt Darkher verder het pad dat ze op The Kingdom Field bewandelde. We krijgen op het album terug een contrast tussen dromerige en duistere songs. Dat maakt het album niet te zwaar om te beluisteren, maar zeker ook niet te lichtvoetig. Het is mooi in balans. Terug van een hoog niveau, in haar eigen stijl en ietsje subtieler gemixt. Ook het artwork is voorzien van geheimzinnige en mystieke foto’s. Mooi. Realms mag naast The Kingdom Field staan. Beter doen zal moeilijk worden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms 11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On