tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

DARKHER

Realms

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark FolkDark Wave

[95/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two years after her brilliant EP The Kingdom Field Jayn H. Clear Mountain alias Darkher releases a full album. We liked the good EP at the time for its angelic, mysterious and dark atmosphere. We were wondering which direction she chooses for this album.

She starts with a dark ambient, a drone track that slowly builds up the tension and floats into the second song Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil sounds ominous and you find yourself in a world of ghosts and other strange creatures. In addition, we hear the vocals that are very pure and hide a certain desperation. On Moths she leaves the tension and the threat and comes up with a rather dreamy song. Do not expect happy scenes or colorful butterflies, but this song is rather relaxing and lethargic. You hear a more typical dark wave / folk song. Wars begins with dark and deep sounding strings. Pounding drums and a thin voice do the rest. Buried Part1 is a kind of prequel which is continued on the sinister Buried Part 2. Strong. Lament ends this album in style.

With Realms Darkher follows the path of The Kingdom Field. We notice a contrast between dreamy and obscure songs which makes the album not too heavy and nicely balanced. A release of a high level, in her own style. The artwork features mysterious and mystical images. Beautiful. Realms is as good The Kingdom Field. Doing better will be difficult.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na de schitterende ep The Kingdom Field is Jayn H. Wissenberg alias Darkher er met haar debuut. We vonden de ep indertijd engelachtig, geheimzinnig en donker. En ook heel goed. Benieuwd welke richting ze op dit album uitgaat.

Ze start met een donkere ambient, een drone track die langzaam de spanning opbouwt en overgaat in het tweede nummer Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil klinkt onheilspellend en je waant je in een wereld van geesten en andere vreemde toestanden. Daarbovenop krijgen we de vocals die heel zuiver en toch een zekere wanhoop verbergen. Een eerste sterk moment. Op Moths verlaat ze de spanning en de dreiging voor een dromerige en eerder zweverige song. Verwacht je niet aan zonnige taferelen of kleurrijke vlinders, toch is deze song eerder ontspannend en gezapig. Je hoort hier een meer typische dark wave/folk song. Wars begint met donkere en diep klinkende strijkers. Pompende drums en een dunne zang doen de rest. Buried Part1 is terug een soort lang uitgesponnen prequel dat zijn vervolg krijgt op het sinistere Buried Part 2. Sterk. Lament sluit een negenkoppig tellend album af in stijl.

Met Realms volgt Darkher verder het pad dat ze op The Kingdom Field bewandelde. We krijgen op het album terug een contrast tussen dromerige en duistere songs. Dat maakt het album niet te zwaar om te beluisteren, maar zeker ook niet te lichtvoetig. Het is mooi in balans. Terug van een hoog niveau, in haar eigen stijl en ietsje subtieler gemixt. Ook het artwork is voorzien van geheimzinnige en mystieke foto’s. Mooi. Realms mag naast The Kingdom Field staan. Beter doen zal moeilijk worden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms 11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden