tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

DARKHER

Realms

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark FolkDark Wave

[95/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two years after her brilliant EP The Kingdom Field Jayn H. Clear Mountain alias Darkher releases a full album. We liked the good EP at the time for its angelic, mysterious and dark atmosphere. We were wondering which direction she chooses for this album.

She starts with a dark ambient, a drone track that slowly builds up the tension and floats into the second song Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil sounds ominous and you find yourself in a world of ghosts and other strange creatures. In addition, we hear the vocals that are very pure and hide a certain desperation. On Moths she leaves the tension and the threat and comes up with a rather dreamy song. Do not expect happy scenes or colorful butterflies, but this song is rather relaxing and lethargic. You hear a more typical dark wave / folk song. Wars begins with dark and deep sounding strings. Pounding drums and a thin voice do the rest. Buried Part1 is a kind of prequel which is continued on the sinister Buried Part 2. Strong. Lament ends this album in style.

With Realms Darkher follows the path of The Kingdom Field. We notice a contrast between dreamy and obscure songs which makes the album not too heavy and nicely balanced. A release of a high level, in her own style. The artwork features mysterious and mystical images. Beautiful. Realms is as good The Kingdom Field. Doing better will be difficult.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na de schitterende ep The Kingdom Field is Jayn H. Wissenberg alias Darkher er met haar debuut. We vonden de ep indertijd engelachtig, geheimzinnig en donker. En ook heel goed. Benieuwd welke richting ze op dit album uitgaat.

Ze start met een donkere ambient, een drone track die langzaam de spanning opbouwt en overgaat in het tweede nummer Hollow Veil. Hollow Veil klinkt onheilspellend en je waant je in een wereld van geesten en andere vreemde toestanden. Daarbovenop krijgen we de vocals die heel zuiver en toch een zekere wanhoop verbergen. Een eerste sterk moment. Op Moths verlaat ze de spanning en de dreiging voor een dromerige en eerder zweverige song. Verwacht je niet aan zonnige taferelen of kleurrijke vlinders, toch is deze song eerder ontspannend en gezapig. Je hoort hier een meer typische dark wave/folk song. Wars begint met donkere en diep klinkende strijkers. Pompende drums en een dunne zang doen de rest. Buried Part1 is terug een soort lang uitgesponnen prequel dat zijn vervolg krijgt op het sinistere Buried Part 2. Sterk. Lament sluit een negenkoppig tellend album af in stijl.

Met Realms volgt Darkher verder het pad dat ze op The Kingdom Field bewandelde. We krijgen op het album terug een contrast tussen dromerige en duistere songs. Dat maakt het album niet te zwaar om te beluisteren, maar zeker ook niet te lichtvoetig. Het is mooi in balans. Terug van een hoog niveau, in haar eigen stijl en ietsje subtieler gemixt. Ook het artwork is voorzien van geheimzinnige en mystieke foto’s. Mooi. Realms mag naast The Kingdom Field staan. Beter doen zal moeilijk worden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms 11/12/2016 : DARKHER - Realms

 

Next reviews
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut

 

Other reviews from DARKHER
DARKHER • The Kingdom Field

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)