tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2015 : TWO GALLANTS - We Are Undone

TWO GALLANTS

We Are Undone

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

ATO Records
20/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two Gallants is a duo that released its fifth album. With only two band members, they try to create an interesting sound. In which they succeed. Their earlier work was more indie rock, but their last albums sound more mature.

This is an album that sound intense. They don’t opt for an easy listening style like many rock bands do these days. In terms of spirit and approach, I think they are like La Muerte. Musically they can be categorized as indie rock, post punk and alternative rock. Great songs are tracks like We Are Undone or Some Trouble, that is reminiscent to The Black Keys and The White Stripes. There are also songs with a minimum use of instruments: There’s So Much I Don’t Know has only a piano and is sung with much emotion and intensity. Beautifully done.

An album that is beautiful, diverse, and interesting. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


NL

Het duo Two Gallants is reeds aan z'n vijfde cd toe. Met twee muzikanten en een minimum aan overdubs, proberen ze een interessant en veelzijdig geluid te creëren, een concept waarin ze zeker zijn geslaagd. Waar ze vroeger nog veel indieinvloeden in hun nummers hadden, is dat op hun jongste albums veel minder het geval.

Dit album is intens en klinkt ook wat tegendraads en is zeker niet easy listening gemixt zoals bij hedendaagse rockbands. Het doet qua spirit en aanpak een beetje aan La Muerte denken. Muzikaal bewegen ze zich tussen indierock, postpunk en alternatieve rock. Meestal met een gruizige gitaar en stampende drum zoals in het titelnummer We are Undone of in Some Trouble, dat zich tussen het geluid van de Black Keys en The White Stripes situeert. Soms met alleen pianospel zoals in There’s So Much I Don’ t Know. Een emotioneel en intens gezongen nummer. Wonderschoon in zijn lelijkheid. Ze hebben nog enkele van die mooie trage nummers, luister maar eens naar My Man Go: een rustige gitaar en spaarzame percussie, maar met een pakkende melodie.

Dit album is bij momenten wondermooi, divers, tegendraads en boeiend. Wat kan een mens nog meer verlangen?

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ALBERT PYUN • Cyborg
JOSE PADILHA • Robocop
SCIENTIST • The Dub Album They Didn't Want You To Hear
MOONSPELL & SEPTICFLESH • Biebob Vosselaar 14/3/2015
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland
JOE CARNAHAN • Stretch
• VEEP SEASON 3
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
ERIN BERRY • Living Death
HENRY HATHAWAY • True Grit

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House