tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2015 : TWO GALLANTS - We Are Undone

TWO GALLANTS

We Are Undone

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

ATO Records
20/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two Gallants is a duo that released its fifth album. With only two band members, they try to create an interesting sound. In which they succeed. Their earlier work was more indie rock, but their last albums sound more mature.

This is an album that sound intense. They don’t opt for an easy listening style like many rock bands do these days. In terms of spirit and approach, I think they are like La Muerte. Musically they can be categorized as indie rock, post punk and alternative rock. Great songs are tracks like We Are Undone or Some Trouble, that is reminiscent to The Black Keys and The White Stripes. There are also songs with a minimum use of instruments: There’s So Much I Don’t Know has only a piano and is sung with much emotion and intensity. Beautifully done.

An album that is beautiful, diverse, and interesting. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


NL

Het duo Two Gallants is reeds aan z'n vijfde cd toe. Met twee muzikanten en een minimum aan overdubs, proberen ze een interessant en veelzijdig geluid te creëren, een concept waarin ze zeker zijn geslaagd. Waar ze vroeger nog veel indieinvloeden in hun nummers hadden, is dat op hun jongste albums veel minder het geval.

Dit album is intens en klinkt ook wat tegendraads en is zeker niet easy listening gemixt zoals bij hedendaagse rockbands. Het doet qua spirit en aanpak een beetje aan La Muerte denken. Muzikaal bewegen ze zich tussen indierock, postpunk en alternatieve rock. Meestal met een gruizige gitaar en stampende drum zoals in het titelnummer We are Undone of in Some Trouble, dat zich tussen het geluid van de Black Keys en The White Stripes situeert. Soms met alleen pianospel zoals in There’s So Much I Don’ t Know. Een emotioneel en intens gezongen nummer. Wonderschoon in zijn lelijkheid. Ze hebben nog enkele van die mooie trage nummers, luister maar eens naar My Man Go: een rustige gitaar en spaarzame percussie, maar met een pakkende melodie.

Dit album is bij momenten wondermooi, divers, tegendraads en boeiend. Wat kan een mens nog meer verlangen?

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ALBERT PYUN • Cyborg
JOSE PADILHA • Robocop
SCIENTIST • The Dub Album They Didn't Want You To Hear
MOONSPELL & SEPTICFLESH • Biebob Vosselaar 14/3/2015
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland
JOE CARNAHAN • Stretch
• VEEP SEASON 3
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
ERIN BERRY • Living Death
HENRY HATHAWAY • True Grit

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God