tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2015 : TWO GALLANTS - We Are Undone

TWO GALLANTS

We Are Undone

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

ATO Records
20/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two Gallants is a duo that released its fifth album. With only two band members, they try to create an interesting sound. In which they succeed. Their earlier work was more indie rock, but their last albums sound more mature.

This is an album that sound intense. They don’t opt for an easy listening style like many rock bands do these days. In terms of spirit and approach, I think they are like La Muerte. Musically they can be categorized as indie rock, post punk and alternative rock. Great songs are tracks like We Are Undone or Some Trouble, that is reminiscent to The Black Keys and The White Stripes. There are also songs with a minimum use of instruments: There’s So Much I Don’t Know has only a piano and is sung with much emotion and intensity. Beautifully done.

An album that is beautiful, diverse, and interesting. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


NL

Het duo Two Gallants is reeds aan z'n vijfde cd toe. Met twee muzikanten en een minimum aan overdubs, proberen ze een interessant en veelzijdig geluid te creëren, een concept waarin ze zeker zijn geslaagd. Waar ze vroeger nog veel indieinvloeden in hun nummers hadden, is dat op hun jongste albums veel minder het geval.

Dit album is intens en klinkt ook wat tegendraads en is zeker niet easy listening gemixt zoals bij hedendaagse rockbands. Het doet qua spirit en aanpak een beetje aan La Muerte denken. Muzikaal bewegen ze zich tussen indierock, postpunk en alternatieve rock. Meestal met een gruizige gitaar en stampende drum zoals in het titelnummer We are Undone of in Some Trouble, dat zich tussen het geluid van de Black Keys en The White Stripes situeert. Soms met alleen pianospel zoals in There’s So Much I Don’ t Know. Een emotioneel en intens gezongen nummer. Wonderschoon in zijn lelijkheid. Ze hebben nog enkele van die mooie trage nummers, luister maar eens naar My Man Go: een rustige gitaar en spaarzame percussie, maar met een pakkende melodie.

Dit album is bij momenten wondermooi, divers, tegendraads en boeiend. Wat kan een mens nog meer verlangen?

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ALBERT PYUN • Cyborg
JOSE PADILHA • Robocop
SCIENTIST • The Dub Album They Didn't Want You To Hear
MOONSPELL & SEPTICFLESH • Biebob Vosselaar 14/3/2015
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland
JOE CARNAHAN • Stretch
• VEEP SEASON 3
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
ERIN BERRY • Living Death
HENRY HATHAWAY • True Grit

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent