tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2015 : TWO GALLANTS - We Are Undone

TWO GALLANTS

We Are Undone

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

ATO Records
20/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two Gallants is a duo that released its fifth album. With only two band members, they try to create an interesting sound. In which they succeed. Their earlier work was more indie rock, but their last albums sound more mature.

This is an album that sound intense. They don’t opt for an easy listening style like many rock bands do these days. In terms of spirit and approach, I think they are like La Muerte. Musically they can be categorized as indie rock, post punk and alternative rock. Great songs are tracks like We Are Undone or Some Trouble, that is reminiscent to The Black Keys and The White Stripes. There are also songs with a minimum use of instruments: There’s So Much I Don’t Know has only a piano and is sung with much emotion and intensity. Beautifully done.

An album that is beautiful, diverse, and interesting. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


NL

Het duo Two Gallants is reeds aan z'n vijfde cd toe. Met twee muzikanten en een minimum aan overdubs, proberen ze een interessant en veelzijdig geluid te creëren, een concept waarin ze zeker zijn geslaagd. Waar ze vroeger nog veel indieinvloeden in hun nummers hadden, is dat op hun jongste albums veel minder het geval.

Dit album is intens en klinkt ook wat tegendraads en is zeker niet easy listening gemixt zoals bij hedendaagse rockbands. Het doet qua spirit en aanpak een beetje aan La Muerte denken. Muzikaal bewegen ze zich tussen indierock, postpunk en alternatieve rock. Meestal met een gruizige gitaar en stampende drum zoals in het titelnummer We are Undone of in Some Trouble, dat zich tussen het geluid van de Black Keys en The White Stripes situeert. Soms met alleen pianospel zoals in There’s So Much I Don’ t Know. Een emotioneel en intens gezongen nummer. Wonderschoon in zijn lelijkheid. Ze hebben nog enkele van die mooie trage nummers, luister maar eens naar My Man Go: een rustige gitaar en spaarzame percussie, maar met een pakkende melodie.

Dit album is bij momenten wondermooi, divers, tegendraads en boeiend. Wat kan een mens nog meer verlangen?

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me