tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/03/2015 : TWO GALLANTS - We Are Undone

TWO GALLANTS

We Are Undone

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

ATO Records
20/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Two Gallants is a duo that released its fifth album. With only two band members, they try to create an interesting sound. In which they succeed. Their earlier work was more indie rock, but their last albums sound more mature.

This is an album that sound intense. They don’t opt for an easy listening style like many rock bands do these days. In terms of spirit and approach, I think they are like La Muerte. Musically they can be categorized as indie rock, post punk and alternative rock. Great songs are tracks like We Are Undone or Some Trouble, that is reminiscent to The Black Keys and The White Stripes. There are also songs with a minimum use of instruments: There’s So Much I Don’t Know has only a piano and is sung with much emotion and intensity. Beautifully done.

An album that is beautiful, diverse, and interesting. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


NL

Het duo Two Gallants is reeds aan z'n vijfde cd toe. Met twee muzikanten en een minimum aan overdubs, proberen ze een interessant en veelzijdig geluid te creëren, een concept waarin ze zeker zijn geslaagd. Waar ze vroeger nog veel indieinvloeden in hun nummers hadden, is dat op hun jongste albums veel minder het geval.

Dit album is intens en klinkt ook wat tegendraads en is zeker niet easy listening gemixt zoals bij hedendaagse rockbands. Het doet qua spirit en aanpak een beetje aan La Muerte denken. Muzikaal bewegen ze zich tussen indierock, postpunk en alternatieve rock. Meestal met een gruizige gitaar en stampende drum zoals in het titelnummer We are Undone of in Some Trouble, dat zich tussen het geluid van de Black Keys en The White Stripes situeert. Soms met alleen pianospel zoals in There’s So Much I Don’ t Know. Een emotioneel en intens gezongen nummer. Wonderschoon in zijn lelijkheid. Ze hebben nog enkele van die mooie trage nummers, luister maar eens naar My Man Go: een rustige gitaar en spaarzame percussie, maar met een pakkende melodie.

Dit album is bij momenten wondermooi, divers, tegendraads en boeiend. Wat kan een mens nog meer verlangen?

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/03/2015


 

Next reviews
ALBERT PYUN • Cyborg
JOSE PADILHA • Robocop
SCIENTIST • The Dub Album They Didn't Want You To Hear
MOONSPELL & SEPTICFLESH • Biebob Vosselaar 14/3/2015
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland
JOE CARNAHAN • Stretch
• VEEP SEASON 3
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
ERIN BERRY • Living Death
HENRY HATHAWAY • True Grit

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + INDIE ROCK + POST PUNK
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet