tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/03/2015 : KATZENJAMMER - Rockland

KATZENJAMMER

Rockland

MusicCD
FolkPopRock

[90/100]   

Propeler Recordings
19/03/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Rockland is the third album of the Norwegian band Katzenjammer, produced by Victor Van Vugt (Nick Cave), who gave the material the right atmosphere and tone. In preparation for the album, the four ladies fanned out in different directions (including Nashville) and the result is a collection of 11 new sparkling pop songs, in which the unique sound of the band is retained.

The first song is Old De Spain. We hear a banjo and a choir as the background for a story in which Nashville sounds are accompanied by the chants of the southern plantations. The acoustic guitar takes a deep dive halfway through the composition and we distinguish horses' hooves on sandy trails to another city, perhaps to freedom. A solid song. Curvaceous Needs starts with a whining banjo, solid drumming and beautiful polyphonic vocals. Music for cowboys and sturdy girls around a smoldering campfire. In Oh My God the tempo slows down. The song sounds like Kate Nash on her first album, again with wonderful blazing voices and pounding drums. Fabulous!

Lady Grey begins with a beautiful vocal line, tingling acoustic guitars and just the right amount of electrical force. "Take me away, right back to the days when you were crazy for living", it sounds, a song about aging and returning to the past for once. My Own Tune, is a loud sing-along in which the women join their vocal ability: vintage Katzenjammer, with a beautiful Norwegian rap halfway through the song. The infectious Shine Like Neon Rays starts with a honky tonk piano, followed by rocking guitars, throbbing drums and emphatic vocal work; a song that would fit on a Lily Allen Album: melodic, rhythmic and flowing. Meowing cats, no doubt about it!

Driving You has a bluesy feel, quiet and passionate; a song in which the four ladies can fully display their vocal qualities, while the piano puts emphatic accents for solo voices and choir. Flash in the Dark is again a fairly classic pop song; the beautiful chorus is carried by heavenly voices. This should be a top 5 hit song all over Europe! The up-tempo song My Dear sounds beautiful and sweet,with all sorts of bells and strong vocals. Bad Girl is again a Nashville-style song about whiskey and highways, with blaring banjos and drums, like a runaway herd of quadrupeds. The stunning Rockland closes the album. It is a wonderful tribute to the Beat Generation poet Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997).

William LIÉNARD
19/03/2015


NL

De Noorse formatie Katzenjammer is met Rockland aan z’n derde langspeler toe en deed een beroep op Victor Van Vugt (Nick Cave) om het materiaal de gepaste sfeer en toon te geven. Ter voorbereiding van het album trokken de vier dames in verschillende richtingen (o.a. Nashville) en het resultaat is een verzameling van 11 nieuwe sprankelende popsongs, waarin de inspiratie wel voor verruiming, maar niet noodzakelijk voor een totale omslag qua stijl en aanpak heeft gezorgd, waardoor het unieke geluid van de band ongehavend uit het proces te voorschijn komt.

De eerste song is Old De Spain, dat wordt ingeleid door een banjo en een koortje als achtergrond voor een nadrukkelijk verhaal waarin Nashvillegeluiden gepaard zijn aan het ritme van de zuidelijke plantages. De akoestische gitaar neemt een diepe duik halfweg de compositie en je hoort de paardenhoeven over de zanderige paden naar een andere stad draven, misschien zelfs naar de vrijheid. Een stevige song, zondermeer. Curvaceous Needs gaat door in hetzelfde tempo, met een jengelende banjo en stevig drumwerk onder prachtige polyfone vocalen. Muziek voor nachtelijke drinkpartijen van cowboys en stevige meiden bij een smeulend kampvuur. In Oh My God gaat het tempo een flink stuk lager. De song heeft iets van de rap-stijl van Kate Nash op haar eerste album, met opnieuw prachtig oplaaiende stemmen en bonkende drums. Anders en tegelijk onverwoestbaar sterk.

Lady Grey begint met een prachtige zanglijn, tintelende akoestische gitaren en precies de juiste hoeveelheid elektrisch geweld. “Take me away, right back to the days when you were crazy for living”, klinkt het, een song over ouder worden en nog één keer terugkeren naar vroeger. My Own Tune, is een snoeiharde meezinger waarin de dames hun vocale kracht bundelen: Katzenjammer ten voeten uit met halfweg een flinke Noorse rap. Een tingeltangelpiano leidt het aanstekelijke Shine Like Neon Rays in, gevolgd door flink rockende gitaren en drums en nadrukkelijk vocaalwerk, een song die niet zou misstaan op een Lily Allen-album: melodisch, ritmisch en stuwend. De katten janken, en hoe!

Driving You heeft een bluesy feel, rustig, maar gedreven; een song waarin de vier dames hun vocale kwaliteiten ten volle kunnen tentoonspreiden, terwijl de piano nadrukkelijke accenten legt voor solostem en koortjes. Flash in the Dark is opnieuw een vrij klassieke popsong, maar het prachtige refrein wordt door hemelse stemmen gedragen. Dit hoort in heel Europa een top 5-hit te zijn! Mooi en lief klinkt de up-temposong My Dear, met belletjes allerhande in de instrumentale partij en stevige samenzang. Bad Girl went de steven opnieuw in de richting van Nashville, een songs over whisky en highways, met blèrende banjo’s en bronstige drums als van een op hol geslagen kudde viervoeters. Het bloedmooie Rockland sluit het album af, het is een ode aan Beat Generation-dichter Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997).

William LIÉNARD
19/03/2015


 

Next reviews
JOE CARNAHAN • Stretch
• VEEP SEASON 3
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
ERIN BERRY • Living Death
HENRY HATHAWAY • True Grit
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ANNE FONTAINE • Gemma Bovery
VESSELS • Dilate
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
• DOMINION SEASON 1

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK + POP + ROCK
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design