tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT - I declare: treason

DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT

I declare: treason

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[73/100]   
06/06/2011, Didier BECU

There seem to be some curse on so called super groups as most of the times, it are only the artist themselves who think they’re dealing with a band fronted of stars.

Anyone remembers The Metal Gurus, for instance? Well, if you don’t, then bear with us that you don’t have yourself to blame.

The newest arrival in that type of bands is Doctor Midnight And The Mercy Cult and even if you might think that you’re dealing with some glam band, the band behind the mask is something else.

They are the creators of some industrial metal in where it’s more metal as Indus.

Not that much of a surprise if you see which gentlemen are forming this band: Hans Erik Dyvik Husby aka Hank von Hell (Turbonegro),Tim Skold(bassist of both Marilyn Manson and KMFDM), Anders Odden (guitarist from Satyricon and Celtic Frost), Audun Stengel (Apoptygma Berzerk) and drummer David Husvik.

The truth is that the result looks better on paper then it sounds on cd, not that we dislike the songs presented on here but despite the glorious entry we expect a bit more from this.

Acceptable, even at times more than acceptable but they should never have named themselves a superstar band as therefore the result is quite too bland. Mediocre indus-metal with a bald fist is okay for us but we just heard it too much!

Now, where’s my Metal Gurus-record?

Didier BECU
06/06/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela