tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT - I declare: treason

DOCTOR MIDNIGHT AND THE MERCY CULT

I declare: treason

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[73/100]   
06/06/2011, Didier BECU

There seem to be some curse on so called super groups as most of the times, it are only the artist themselves who think they’re dealing with a band fronted of stars.

Anyone remembers The Metal Gurus, for instance? Well, if you don’t, then bear with us that you don’t have yourself to blame.

The newest arrival in that type of bands is Doctor Midnight And The Mercy Cult and even if you might think that you’re dealing with some glam band, the band behind the mask is something else.

They are the creators of some industrial metal in where it’s more metal as Indus.

Not that much of a surprise if you see which gentlemen are forming this band: Hans Erik Dyvik Husby aka Hank von Hell (Turbonegro),Tim Skold(bassist of both Marilyn Manson and KMFDM), Anders Odden (guitarist from Satyricon and Celtic Frost), Audun Stengel (Apoptygma Berzerk) and drummer David Husvik.

The truth is that the result looks better on paper then it sounds on cd, not that we dislike the songs presented on here but despite the glorious entry we expect a bit more from this.

Acceptable, even at times more than acceptable but they should never have named themselves a superstar band as therefore the result is quite too bland. Mediocre indus-metal with a bald fist is okay for us but we just heard it too much!

Now, where’s my Metal Gurus-record?

Didier BECU
06/06/2011


 

Next reviews
COMBAT VOICE • The last flow
SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER • It means nothing so it means nothing
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Umsturz Jetzt!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Das Bunker, choice of a new generation
GIFTS FROM ENOLA • Gifts from Enola
VENDEMMIAN • One in a million
CUBS • The Whispering Woods
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego
ANDREAS GROSS • Autumn inventors
LOLITA KOMPLEX • Le cabaret des marionettes

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
KMFDM • Kunst
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
ALTER RED • Mind-forged manacles
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
INERTIA • Deworlded

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm