tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/06/2011 : SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER - It means nothing so it means nothing

SCUMBAG PHILOSOPHER

It means nothing so it means nothing

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[91/100]   

Words on music
05/06/2011, Didier BECU

In some way I think I’m a post-punk man. I know, it’s a pretty silly term but having said that, I think it’s more silly how these days manufactured boys steal some guitar riff from Joy Division and let us believe they’re the new reincarnation of Manchester’ finest.

Post-punk was what happened after punk and it meant that nothing has to be perfect, it just had to come straight out of the heart and that makes bands like Wire or Gang Of Four timeless.

A long introduction to tell you that we received the debut album by a British band named Scumbag Philosopher which gave us the same feeling.

Some will say that these nine songs on here have an indie-appeal and that’s kind of true as the interaction between the male vocals from Grant and the female ones from drumster Anne give you some feel that reminds us of The Pixies.

But it’s the directness and the lyrics that make them so similar to (forgotten) Peel heroes like Half Man Half Biscuit or I, Ludicrous. Just listen to songs like “Your heroes at home” or “God is dead So I listen to Radiohead” (and no it doesn’t sound Thom Yorke at all!) and you know enough! For those who still don’t get it: this is the same bitter cynic stuff that could have come out of the head by monsieur Mark E. Smith!

According to the band’s label they wrote some classics which equals Gang Of Four’s “Entertainment!” and such words can be debatable but still, we think that this band delivered a great album that captures the essence of post-punk and that is a merit.

Didier BECU
05/06/2011


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted