tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH

Image

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Due to recent political statements from Belgian politicians of what racism really means and if someone can abuse it or not, the topic is once again hot. We want to impose no opinion, but any rational person knows the answer. The directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah know that too and the want to show it in their film debut Image, a small Belgian production that suddenly caused commotion in the theatres because Adil won a Flemish quiz that crowned him as the smartest man in the world. After 90 minutes every movie fan concludes that the two men have worked with passion, indeed a film that was directed with full enthusiasm.

Image denounces the stereotyped reporting about young people from other ethnic origins. Even those who never were in a city like Molenbeek (near Brussels) are convinced that it is a dangerous place where you will be robbed within a few minutes. Let us be honest and fair, this Brussels suburb is less secure than the countryside, yet this image is also created by the media as it only shows images of riots or young guys who are dealing. The young journalist Eva (Laura Verlinden) is aware of that and thanks to the help of tough guy Lahbib (Nabil Mallat), she shows her life in a multicultural area as it really is, or at least she is trying too.

Image surely has its merits, but Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah couldn’t avoid the trap of too many clichés. Not only cinematographically (you have seen this kind of movies before), but strangely enough, the duo also uses stereotypical characters and as a result the message has no effect. It adorns them that they didn’t go for a feelgood approach, but the explosive violence at the end will not convince anyone with an extreme right ideology that he is wrong. If you can forget that, then Image (now out on DVD through Dutch Film Works) is indeed quite nice. 

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


NL

Als gevolg van allerlei misplaatste uitspraken, rijst opnieuw de vraag wat racisme betekent en of iemand dat kan misbruiken of niet. We willen geen mening opdringen, maar ieder rationeel mens kent het antwoord daarop. Dat weten ook regisseurs Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah die dat in hun filmdebuut Image willen tonen. Een kleine Belgische productie die in Vlaanderen in een stroomversnelling kwamdoordat Adil een quiz wond die hem tot de slimste mens ter wereld kroonde. Tja, waar hebben we dat verhaal nog al eens gehoord. Na anderhalf uur heb je als filmfan onmiddellijk door dat de twee heren met passie hebben gewerkt, inderdaad een film die met volle goesting is gedraaid.

Image hekelt de stereotiepe verslaggeving over jongeren van allochtone afkomst. Zelfs wie nog nooit een stap in Molenbeek heeft gezet, is ervan overtuigd dat het een gevaarlijke stad is waar je binnen de kortste keren zal worden overvallen. Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen, de Brusselse randgemeente is minder veilig dan pakweg Scherpenheuvel, toch is dat beeld er door de media ingestampt. Zij tonen alleen beelden van rellen of jonge kerels die dealen. De jonge journaliste Eva (Laura Verlinden) is zich daarvan bewust en dankzij de hulp van zware jongen Lahbib (Nabil Mallat) toont zij het leven in een multiculturele wijk zoals het echt is, of ten minste dat probeert ze.

Image heeft zeker zijn verdiensten, alleen lopen Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah in de val door te veel clichés te gebruiken. Dat is niet alleen cinematografisch het geval (dit soort films heb je al eerder gezien), maar vreemd genoeg gebruikt het duo ook stereotiepe karakters waardoor de boodschap de mist in gaat. Het siert ze dat ze voor geen feelgood-gevoel kozen, maar met het explosieve geweld in het slot zal iemand met extreemrechtse sympathieën niet tot nadenken stemmen en dat is jammer. Als je dit laatste kan vergeten dan is Image (nu uit op dvd via Dutch Film Works) inderdaad best een leuk Vlaams filmpje.

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire