tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH

Image

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Due to recent political statements from Belgian politicians of what racism really means and if someone can abuse it or not, the topic is once again hot. We want to impose no opinion, but any rational person knows the answer. The directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah know that too and the want to show it in their film debut Image, a small Belgian production that suddenly caused commotion in the theatres because Adil won a Flemish quiz that crowned him as the smartest man in the world. After 90 minutes every movie fan concludes that the two men have worked with passion, indeed a film that was directed with full enthusiasm.

Image denounces the stereotyped reporting about young people from other ethnic origins. Even those who never were in a city like Molenbeek (near Brussels) are convinced that it is a dangerous place where you will be robbed within a few minutes. Let us be honest and fair, this Brussels suburb is less secure than the countryside, yet this image is also created by the media as it only shows images of riots or young guys who are dealing. The young journalist Eva (Laura Verlinden) is aware of that and thanks to the help of tough guy Lahbib (Nabil Mallat), she shows her life in a multicultural area as it really is, or at least she is trying too.

Image surely has its merits, but Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah couldn’t avoid the trap of too many clichés. Not only cinematographically (you have seen this kind of movies before), but strangely enough, the duo also uses stereotypical characters and as a result the message has no effect. It adorns them that they didn’t go for a feelgood approach, but the explosive violence at the end will not convince anyone with an extreme right ideology that he is wrong. If you can forget that, then Image (now out on DVD through Dutch Film Works) is indeed quite nice. 

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


NL

Als gevolg van allerlei misplaatste uitspraken, rijst opnieuw de vraag wat racisme betekent en of iemand dat kan misbruiken of niet. We willen geen mening opdringen, maar ieder rationeel mens kent het antwoord daarop. Dat weten ook regisseurs Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah die dat in hun filmdebuut Image willen tonen. Een kleine Belgische productie die in Vlaanderen in een stroomversnelling kwamdoordat Adil een quiz wond die hem tot de slimste mens ter wereld kroonde. Tja, waar hebben we dat verhaal nog al eens gehoord. Na anderhalf uur heb je als filmfan onmiddellijk door dat de twee heren met passie hebben gewerkt, inderdaad een film die met volle goesting is gedraaid.

Image hekelt de stereotiepe verslaggeving over jongeren van allochtone afkomst. Zelfs wie nog nooit een stap in Molenbeek heeft gezet, is ervan overtuigd dat het een gevaarlijke stad is waar je binnen de kortste keren zal worden overvallen. Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen, de Brusselse randgemeente is minder veilig dan pakweg Scherpenheuvel, toch is dat beeld er door de media ingestampt. Zij tonen alleen beelden van rellen of jonge kerels die dealen. De jonge journaliste Eva (Laura Verlinden) is zich daarvan bewust en dankzij de hulp van zware jongen Lahbib (Nabil Mallat) toont zij het leven in een multiculturele wijk zoals het echt is, of ten minste dat probeert ze.

Image heeft zeker zijn verdiensten, alleen lopen Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah in de val door te veel clichés te gebruiken. Dat is niet alleen cinematografisch het geval (dit soort films heb je al eerder gezien), maar vreemd genoeg gebruikt het duo ook stereotiepe karakters waardoor de boodschap de mist in gaat. Het siert ze dat ze voor geen feelgood-gevoel kozen, maar met het explosieve geweld in het slot zal iemand met extreemrechtse sympathieën niet tot nadenken stemmen en dat is jammer. Als je dit laatste kan vergeten dan is Image (nu uit op dvd via Dutch Film Works) inderdaad best een leuk Vlaams filmpje.

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)