tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH

Image

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Due to recent political statements from Belgian politicians of what racism really means and if someone can abuse it or not, the topic is once again hot. We want to impose no opinion, but any rational person knows the answer. The directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah know that too and the want to show it in their film debut Image, a small Belgian production that suddenly caused commotion in the theatres because Adil won a Flemish quiz that crowned him as the smartest man in the world. After 90 minutes every movie fan concludes that the two men have worked with passion, indeed a film that was directed with full enthusiasm.

Image denounces the stereotyped reporting about young people from other ethnic origins. Even those who never were in a city like Molenbeek (near Brussels) are convinced that it is a dangerous place where you will be robbed within a few minutes. Let us be honest and fair, this Brussels suburb is less secure than the countryside, yet this image is also created by the media as it only shows images of riots or young guys who are dealing. The young journalist Eva (Laura Verlinden) is aware of that and thanks to the help of tough guy Lahbib (Nabil Mallat), she shows her life in a multicultural area as it really is, or at least she is trying too.

Image surely has its merits, but Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah couldn’t avoid the trap of too many clichés. Not only cinematographically (you have seen this kind of movies before), but strangely enough, the duo also uses stereotypical characters and as a result the message has no effect. It adorns them that they didn’t go for a feelgood approach, but the explosive violence at the end will not convince anyone with an extreme right ideology that he is wrong. If you can forget that, then Image (now out on DVD through Dutch Film Works) is indeed quite nice. 

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


NL

Als gevolg van allerlei misplaatste uitspraken, rijst opnieuw de vraag wat racisme betekent en of iemand dat kan misbruiken of niet. We willen geen mening opdringen, maar ieder rationeel mens kent het antwoord daarop. Dat weten ook regisseurs Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah die dat in hun filmdebuut Image willen tonen. Een kleine Belgische productie die in Vlaanderen in een stroomversnelling kwamdoordat Adil een quiz wond die hem tot de slimste mens ter wereld kroonde. Tja, waar hebben we dat verhaal nog al eens gehoord. Na anderhalf uur heb je als filmfan onmiddellijk door dat de twee heren met passie hebben gewerkt, inderdaad een film die met volle goesting is gedraaid.

Image hekelt de stereotiepe verslaggeving over jongeren van allochtone afkomst. Zelfs wie nog nooit een stap in Molenbeek heeft gezet, is ervan overtuigd dat het een gevaarlijke stad is waar je binnen de kortste keren zal worden overvallen. Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen, de Brusselse randgemeente is minder veilig dan pakweg Scherpenheuvel, toch is dat beeld er door de media ingestampt. Zij tonen alleen beelden van rellen of jonge kerels die dealen. De jonge journaliste Eva (Laura Verlinden) is zich daarvan bewust en dankzij de hulp van zware jongen Lahbib (Nabil Mallat) toont zij het leven in een multiculturele wijk zoals het echt is, of ten minste dat probeert ze.

Image heeft zeker zijn verdiensten, alleen lopen Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah in de val door te veel clichés te gebruiken. Dat is niet alleen cinematografisch het geval (dit soort films heb je al eerder gezien), maar vreemd genoeg gebruikt het duo ook stereotiepe karakters waardoor de boodschap de mist in gaat. Het siert ze dat ze voor geen feelgood-gevoel kozen, maar met het explosieve geweld in het slot zal iemand met extreemrechtse sympathieën niet tot nadenken stemmen en dat is jammer. Als je dit laatste kan vergeten dan is Image (nu uit op dvd via Dutch Film Works) inderdaad best een leuk Vlaams filmpje.

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline