tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH

Image

Movie
Drama

[60/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
29/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Due to recent political statements from Belgian politicians of what racism really means and if someone can abuse it or not, the topic is once again hot. We want to impose no opinion, but any rational person knows the answer. The directors Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah know that too and the want to show it in their film debut Image, a small Belgian production that suddenly caused commotion in the theatres because Adil won a Flemish quiz that crowned him as the smartest man in the world. After 90 minutes every movie fan concludes that the two men have worked with passion, indeed a film that was directed with full enthusiasm.

Image denounces the stereotyped reporting about young people from other ethnic origins. Even those who never were in a city like Molenbeek (near Brussels) are convinced that it is a dangerous place where you will be robbed within a few minutes. Let us be honest and fair, this Brussels suburb is less secure than the countryside, yet this image is also created by the media as it only shows images of riots or young guys who are dealing. The young journalist Eva (Laura Verlinden) is aware of that and thanks to the help of tough guy Lahbib (Nabil Mallat), she shows her life in a multicultural area as it really is, or at least she is trying too.

Image surely has its merits, but Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah couldn’t avoid the trap of too many clichés. Not only cinematographically (you have seen this kind of movies before), but strangely enough, the duo also uses stereotypical characters and as a result the message has no effect. It adorns them that they didn’t go for a feelgood approach, but the explosive violence at the end will not convince anyone with an extreme right ideology that he is wrong. If you can forget that, then Image (now out on DVD through Dutch Film Works) is indeed quite nice. 

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


NL

Als gevolg van allerlei misplaatste uitspraken, rijst opnieuw de vraag wat racisme betekent en of iemand dat kan misbruiken of niet. We willen geen mening opdringen, maar ieder rationeel mens kent het antwoord daarop. Dat weten ook regisseurs Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah die dat in hun filmdebuut Image willen tonen. Een kleine Belgische productie die in Vlaanderen in een stroomversnelling kwamdoordat Adil een quiz wond die hem tot de slimste mens ter wereld kroonde. Tja, waar hebben we dat verhaal nog al eens gehoord. Na anderhalf uur heb je als filmfan onmiddellijk door dat de twee heren met passie hebben gewerkt, inderdaad een film die met volle goesting is gedraaid.

Image hekelt de stereotiepe verslaggeving over jongeren van allochtone afkomst. Zelfs wie nog nooit een stap in Molenbeek heeft gezet, is ervan overtuigd dat het een gevaarlijke stad is waar je binnen de kortste keren zal worden overvallen. Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen, de Brusselse randgemeente is minder veilig dan pakweg Scherpenheuvel, toch is dat beeld er door de media ingestampt. Zij tonen alleen beelden van rellen of jonge kerels die dealen. De jonge journaliste Eva (Laura Verlinden) is zich daarvan bewust en dankzij de hulp van zware jongen Lahbib (Nabil Mallat) toont zij het leven in een multiculturele wijk zoals het echt is, of ten minste dat probeert ze.

Image heeft zeker zijn verdiensten, alleen lopen Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah in de val door te veel clichés te gebruiken. Dat is niet alleen cinematografisch het geval (dit soort films heb je al eerder gezien), maar vreemd genoeg gebruikt het duo ook stereotiepe karakters waardoor de boodschap de mist in gaat. Het siert ze dat ze voor geen feelgood-gevoel kozen, maar met het explosieve geweld in het slot zal iemand met extreemrechtse sympathieën niet tot nadenken stemmen en dat is jammer. Als je dit laatste kan vergeten dan is Image (nu uit op dvd via Dutch Film Works) inderdaad best een leuk Vlaams filmpje.

Didier BECU
29/03/2015


29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image 29/03/2015 : ADIL EL ARBI & BILALL FALLAH - Image

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell