tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/06/2015 : STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET - We Break the Silence

STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET

We Break the Silence

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[80/100]   

Advoxya Records
02/06/2015, Britta Tabrit

Stahlnebel & Black Selket is a German-Dutch project around the three members Ralph (vocals, lyrics, organization), Sander (music, machines, mastering, production) and Branko (keyboard, live programming).

Somewhere between Industrial and Future Pop Stahlnebel & Black Selket is everything but another boring dark music band and I’d like to tell you something about their latest album “We break the silence”, released on 28.11.2014. So, don’t waste any time and start with this interesting sound experience right away:

The album contains 15 tracks and is available e.g. at http://www.poponaut.de/stahlnebel-black-selket-m-1978.html The Intro is non-instrumental, a voice is telling you that this world is a weird one and we fight every single day and the only thing you can count on is blood! With these words the door opens and you enter the world of “We Break the Silence”. It’s not only the theme song of this album, but also the first impression you get. And somehow my first thought was “That’s good but common', but not like “boring common”, more “danceable and with majority appeal common”. The song is a solid and calling up song that is more than sufficient as the opener to an album of this kind!

“Echo” seizes the idea of the first song but is way more interesting as it seems to be kind of a personal style development of Stahlnebel & Black Selket. Stomping beats and only few vocals draw te attention mainly to the music!

The next track, called “Die Zeit”, comes with German vocals for a change. Almost depressing, the song is about the fact that our time here on earth is strictly determined and limited, and before you realize it your time is over! This content is accentuated by a great instrumentalization, almost like an anthem. For me this song is the strongest so far! For sure this one is a dancefloor attraction and definitely promising more great stuff to follow!

“Crown of Thorns” is obviously a hardfloor track. As you all know I’m not afraid of making use of comparisons and I’d compare this track to Grendel. Fast technoid beats, seeming never-ending somehow, no time to take a deep breath. But somehow I miss a bit the individuality here, something that’s surely there with this project. On the other hand, the song is plug compatible for a wide range of people and it’s always hard to find the balance between “own style” and “what people want to hear”.

And on we go with “Coming Home”. It’s a more calm and relaxing song, if that is the right expression here. The main melody flows constantly through the whole song, a voice talking about a perfect past and coming home now. Was the past really that perfect? I got the impression that this one is a very individual song. I enjoyed listening to it a lot, it gave me a save feeling in a way that I can’t explain now. Let’s keep it like that.

“Prism” is about online surveillance. In times we all use the internet and social networks, we may become an easy prey for those waiting for your data. Not only data, they also control your words. Samples about Edward Snowden and the transatlantic and inter-European monitoring reinforce the thesis of being transparent nowadays. Quite an actual problem with lots of different opinions about it.

“Dead Meat” is kind of a disgusting song to me. I guess it’s a strong personal feeling. “Finally you’re lying here like dead meat!' It’s about being tortured by someone. You develop hate and now you are free, standing there watching the dead meat. Maybe one of the oldest human fears and wishes at the same time. For me it’s always hard to identify with vocals like those. I’m not the one who condemns it wholesale, not at all! But in the past I learned that things like these are part of the dark scene, but I’ve never been able to approach this. Instrumentally I like this song a lot, though!

The next track is “Foreign Control”. Puh, this song gives relief to me after the previous song. The melody is easy to catch and it reminds me of SITD and I’m sure that they are one of the main influences of this project!

“Smog” is about a life controlled by others. Big cities drowning in smog and people there going on with their every day lives. Taking pills to forget about the pain, mentally and physically, they kill the truth. Are we all robots already? Humans still? “We are waiting to realize that everything was wrong”, is one phrase of the song “Waiting”. Our whole lives we spend waiting for good things, gentle people, peace and freedom. But what is it that we get at the end? A critical song once again to make you think about us and the things happening around us. But shall we keep waiting?

'Fresh Flowing Blood (The Chessboard Killer)' is the next one on the album. Again influenced by SITD and talking about a killer, it is there to perpetuate a stereotype – the stereotype of a person waiting to kill, going into raptures over his actions, not having a sore conscience at all.

“Fight” (Album Version) catapults you back into the world of hardfloor music. Honestly, I can’t say that much here. Fairly average in my opinion!

The second last track is called “Signal” and quite an ear-catcher again! It can’t be denied that the Mexican band Hocico sets a pattern for Stahlnebel & Black Selket’s music as well. The beats are booming and the vocals are aggressively venting the singer’s spleen! Really a well arranged milestone!

And now we have arrived at the end of the album. “Circle of Life (Be Not Sad)” creates a well-made finish here. Slow, but definite the track reminds us of our own mortality and the ongoing circle of life.

On the whole the album is quite a diversified work and I really enjoyed it. You can clearly feel the addiction to music and Stahlnebel & Black Selket can offer you well-known and approved creations as well as independent ones. Will be interesting to see what’s coming up next!

Here we go with some links to find out more about this venture:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stahlnebel.blackselket?fref=ts

Soundcloud (also contains new songs!): https://soundcloud.com/stahlnebelblackselket

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq3ZZtvw8Um5FWndlJFQH8A

Britta Tabrit
02/06/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego
28
11
Today it's exactly 39 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat
29
11
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela