tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

08/03/2015 : INTERNAL SUN, CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE + SIMI NAH - Casino St;-Niklaas 28/2/2015

INTERNAL SUN, CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE + SIMI NAH

Casino St;-Niklaas 28/2/2015

Concert
08/03/2015, Benny CALUWE

After the successful passages of Front 242, The Klinik and The Neon Judgement, another new wave and EBM night was organised at the cosy Casino in St.-Niklaas. Internal Sun’s set was almost finished when we arrived. The first thing I noticed while entering was the striking sound quality. Internal Sun played a weird kind of electronics, combined with modern wind-instruments. I am not going to judge.

Crash Course In Science started with a delay of half an hour. Their mix of vintage synths, industrial sounds and modern elements, was well received. Dale and Mallory alternated in the vocals and that was adventageous for the dynamic. Cardboard lamb and especially Flying turns were much applauded.

After CCIS, Simi Nah mounted the podium. She made the successful and critically acclaimed Be My Guest album, on which she covers new wave classics with the help of big names from the Belgian alternative and black music scene. Unfortunately, Dirk Ivens (The Klinik) and Danny Mommens (Vive la Fête) could not make it, and Marcel Van Tilt (Arbeid Adelt !), who did not collaborated on the album, was announced, but did not show up due to illness.

Wim Punk (Wolf Banes) was the first guest on stage. Together with Simi he sang ChérieGhost rider, another Suicide cover, followed. Then Kenny KGB came from behind his keyboard to bring an ode to the recently passed away Steven Strange of Visage. Fade to grey, with nice percussion, was the first highlight of the set. Dirk Da Davo of The Neon Judgement came on for a catching version of Los Ninos de la paque.

Luc Van Acker was also present. Along with Simi he sang Disco rough. A nice version, followed by a noisy climax of Warm Leatherette. I was impressed by Luc Van Acker’s convincing performance. The next guest on stage was Nikkie Van Lierop, aka Jade 4U, the queen of new beat. They played a medley of 2 hits of Nikkie’s former projects. Lords Of Acid’s I sit on acid seamlessly passed on to 101’s Rock to the beat. Although Darling Nikkie is not 21 anymore, she still is a goodlooking woman. She set the place on fire. Both fine women did a sexy version of Follow me, a hit of Amanda Lear, the white queen of disco.

Kenny KGB performed strongly again on Spin me around like a record. Then it was Sayfée’s turn to leave the synths and sing. Behind her black veil, she sang her father Micky Mike’s greatest hit Euroshima (Wardance), the Snowy Red classic. Dirk Da Davo then returned. He played guitar on Leash, a more recent TNJ-track. Then he announced a mean motherf*cker: a wild version of Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag set the place on fire once again. With Icebear, KGB raised the temperature even more!

As an encore Simi Nah played one of her own new songs, a nice electro track called I know what you need (no pain, no gain). Maybe she felt the urge to prove that they are more then a cover band for the people who aren’t familiar with Simi Nah. But fans know that they are able to bring a nice set of their own songs. In the end all guests appeared for a version of Fad Gadget’s Coitus interruptus.

The headliner of the night, A Split-Second, started with a delay of one hour. They immediately started in style with the mesmerizing Colonial Discharge, my personal favourite. With Rigor Mortis and The Colosseum Crash, other major classics followed immediately. The mixture of EBM, synth pop and new beat with some eastern sounds and guitars, made the crowd move enthusiastically. After this awesome kick off, it was difficult to sustain the atmosphere, maybe to much hits to start with. But beside this minor remark, Marc Ickx and his mates (the keyboard player, who is also in Sol 19, and his guitarist whose face was painted like the Joker in The Dark Knight for the occasion), did great once again. Towards the end of the set, the atmosphere raised again with tracks like Scandinavian bellydance, Firewalker, Mambo witch and On Command. After this, I unfortunately had to leave because my driver got hungry. So, I missed the encores and Flesh once again. I hope to have better luck on Eurorock. By leaving, I missed the exciting end of the evening, so I heard. After the encores, the crowd still wanted more and A Split-Second returned with a song from the beginning of the set.

Check out the pictures of Xavier in our photosection. 

Benny CALUWE
08/03/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine