tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

NIMON

Fear of Change

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

On his fourth album, Keef Baker makes compositions in which guitar drones evoke a variety of moods: a cross between melancholy and happiness. If you get the chance to change your life, he says in the press release, grab it with both hands and overcome your fear by embracing change. We do not immediately see (or hear) the link with the guitar drone compositions on Fear for Change, but they all sound euphoric.

A New Job in a New Town rolls out of the speakers like an orgasm of organ drones and reverberating chorus chants, while Leaving Your Friends Behind gets the same kind of euphoric sound and Blank Slate sounds much more industrial with whistling synths and electro noise, supplemented with growling drones. Throw it all Away is also an industrial track with drones and field recordings, while Replacements returns to the semi-religious atmosphere, with thick layers of good sounding guitar drones, and a similar approach in Anything is Possible and the emphatic Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On gets high-pitched synths, choir-like sounds and deep drones, while Shining Moon sounds like a reverie after the setting of the sun, semi-religious and full of expectation, whereby Things get in the Way almost seamlessly connects as an impressive orgasmic finale.

Emphatic, often bombastic, but also intimate and subdued, with an atmosphere that hovers between semi-religious and ecstatic.

Tracklist:

1. A New Job in a New Town
2. Leaving your Friends Behind
3. Blank Slate
4. Throw it all Away
5. Replacements
6. The Rough with the Smooth
7. Anything is Possible
8. Blazing Sun
9. No Bed to Sleep on
0. Shining Moon
1. Things Get in the Way

www.facebook.com/pages/nimon/219212371456613
https://mailorder.ant-zen.com/product/id/2655

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


NL

Op z’n vierde album trakteert Keef Baker ons op composities waarin gitaardrones een veelheid van stemmingen oproepen die het midden houden tussen melancholie en gelukzaligheid. Als je de kans krijgt om je leven te veranderen, zegt hij in het persbericht, grijp die dan met beide handen en overwin je angst door voor verandering te kiezen. We hebben zelf niet direct een verband kunnen leggen met de gitaardronecomposities op Fear for Change, maar ze klinken wel stuk voor stuk alsof er sprake is van een euforische stemming.

A New Job in a New Town rolt uit de speakers als een orgasme van orgelachtige drones en galmende koorgezangen, terwijl Leaving Your Friends Behind hetzelfde euforisch geluid krijgt en Blank Slate veel meer de industriële toer opgaat met fluitende synths en elektronoise, later aangevuld met grommende drones. Throw it all Away is ook een industriële track met drones en field recordings, terwijl Replacements weer eerder een semi-religieuze sfeer uitstraalt, met dikke lagen van goed klinkende gitaardrones, en een soortgelijk vervolg krijgt in Anything is Possible en het nadrukkelijke Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On krijgt hoge synths, koorzangachtige geluiden en diepe drones, terwijl Shining Moon een mijmering is na het ondergaan van de zon, semi-religieus en vol verwachting, waarbij Things get in the Way bijna naadloos aansluit als een indrukwekkende orgastische finale.

Nadrukkelijk, vaak bombastisch, maar ook intimistisch en ingetogen met een sfeer die zweeft tussen semi-religieus en extatisch.

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change 06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

 

Next reviews
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015
LA HORDE • Dystopie
MARIANNE FAITHFULL • Gent, Vooruit (04/11/2015)
GEISTFORM • Tension
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
OST+FRONT • Sternenkinder
SAINTSENECA • Such Things

 

Other reviews from NIMON
NIMON • The King Is Dead
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
WOODBENDER / CINEMA PERDU /THE [LAW-RAH] COLLECTIVE • Blue Ruins Under Yellow Skies
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow