tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

NIMON

Fear of Change

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

On his fourth album, Keef Baker makes compositions in which guitar drones evoke a variety of moods: a cross between melancholy and happiness. If you get the chance to change your life, he says in the press release, grab it with both hands and overcome your fear by embracing change. We do not immediately see (or hear) the link with the guitar drone compositions on Fear for Change, but they all sound euphoric.

A New Job in a New Town rolls out of the speakers like an orgasm of organ drones and reverberating chorus chants, while Leaving Your Friends Behind gets the same kind of euphoric sound and Blank Slate sounds much more industrial with whistling synths and electro noise, supplemented with growling drones. Throw it all Away is also an industrial track with drones and field recordings, while Replacements returns to the semi-religious atmosphere, with thick layers of good sounding guitar drones, and a similar approach in Anything is Possible and the emphatic Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On gets high-pitched synths, choir-like sounds and deep drones, while Shining Moon sounds like a reverie after the setting of the sun, semi-religious and full of expectation, whereby Things get in the Way almost seamlessly connects as an impressive orgasmic finale.

Emphatic, often bombastic, but also intimate and subdued, with an atmosphere that hovers between semi-religious and ecstatic.

Tracklist:

1. A New Job in a New Town
2. Leaving your Friends Behind
3. Blank Slate
4. Throw it all Away
5. Replacements
6. The Rough with the Smooth
7. Anything is Possible
8. Blazing Sun
9. No Bed to Sleep on
0. Shining Moon
1. Things Get in the Way

www.facebook.com/pages/nimon/219212371456613
https://mailorder.ant-zen.com/product/id/2655

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


NL

Op z’n vierde album trakteert Keef Baker ons op composities waarin gitaardrones een veelheid van stemmingen oproepen die het midden houden tussen melancholie en gelukzaligheid. Als je de kans krijgt om je leven te veranderen, zegt hij in het persbericht, grijp die dan met beide handen en overwin je angst door voor verandering te kiezen. We hebben zelf niet direct een verband kunnen leggen met de gitaardronecomposities op Fear for Change, maar ze klinken wel stuk voor stuk alsof er sprake is van een euforische stemming.

A New Job in a New Town rolt uit de speakers als een orgasme van orgelachtige drones en galmende koorgezangen, terwijl Leaving Your Friends Behind hetzelfde euforisch geluid krijgt en Blank Slate veel meer de industriële toer opgaat met fluitende synths en elektronoise, later aangevuld met grommende drones. Throw it all Away is ook een industriële track met drones en field recordings, terwijl Replacements weer eerder een semi-religieuze sfeer uitstraalt, met dikke lagen van goed klinkende gitaardrones, en een soortgelijk vervolg krijgt in Anything is Possible en het nadrukkelijke Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On krijgt hoge synths, koorzangachtige geluiden en diepe drones, terwijl Shining Moon een mijmering is na het ondergaan van de zon, semi-religieus en vol verwachting, waarbij Things get in the Way bijna naadloos aansluit als een indrukwekkende orgastische finale.

Nadrukkelijk, vaak bombastisch, maar ook intimistisch en ingetogen met een sfeer die zweeft tussen semi-religieus en extatisch.

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change 06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

 

Next reviews
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015
LA HORDE • Dystopie
MARIANNE FAITHFULL • Gent, Vooruit (04/11/2015)
GEISTFORM • Tension
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
OST+FRONT • Sternenkinder
SAINTSENECA • Such Things

 

Other reviews from NIMON
NIMON • The King Is Dead
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
WOODBENDER / CINEMA PERDU /THE [LAW-RAH] COLLECTIVE • Blue Ruins Under Yellow Skies
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain