tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

THE HAMSTERS

Salford 31-10-2015

Concert
06/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

I only knew this band from thr name on some old punk posters. They used to play with some of my favorite bands such as Joy Division and The Fall. Yet, it’s not easy to find a lot about their musical historyon the internet, and on YouTube Hamster videos are scarce.

But apparently the singer is a living legend, especially in music city Manchester. He’s a cuddly psychopath called Moet, a man who saw the legendary Sex Pistols gig at the Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. He formed a chaotic band called the Hamsters in 1981, and even had a brilliant book written about his life (2012). Ian Moss is also know from a band called Kill Pretty.

A good friend took us unexpected to their gig in a pub in Salford, MCR, last Saturday, where I also had the opportunity to meet Tony and Stephen from Salford radio station.

All of a sudden I saw a man in pyjama’s and a robe walking along the venue. He was accompanied by his friend, wearing combat shoes under a skirt. A few moments later they went on stage with two other guys. They seemed to be the band. The story goes that the singer was sick, but he still wanted to play and didn’t bother about the pyjama’s.

What followed was a a surprisingly and very strong set. (Post) punk at its best which blew me away by its pure energy. They dragged you out of your chair, you simply couldn’t resist. The fast songs were guitar driven, with a nice bass and aggressive drums. The lyrics were raw and everything what punk music stands for. And the attitude was great. People say that their credo used to be „We don’t care what people think of us”. And it still works, they really made my day! 

Their new EP Branches (recorded at the 6 dB studio’s of another great artist with the name of „Ding”) is released on 6th November 2015.

This article also appeared on Luminous Dash.

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


NL

Ik ken deze band alleen maar van een aantal oude punkposters. Hij speelde destijds met een aantal van mijn favoriete bands zoals Joy Division en The Fall. Toch komt men op het internet niet veel te weten over de muzikale geschiedenis en op YouTube zijn hun video’s schaars.

Maar blijkbaar is de zanger een levende legende, vooral in muziekhoofdstad Manchester. Men vergelijkt hem met een knuffelachtige psychopaat (bijnaam Moet): de man die de legendarische Sex Pistols zag optreden in de Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. Hij vormde de chaotische band The Hamsters in 1981 en er is zelfs een schitterend boek over zijn leven geschreven (2012). Ian Moss is ook bekend van de band Kill Pretty.

Een goede vriend nam ons afgelopen zaterdag onverwachts mee naar een optreden in een pub in Salford, MCR, waar ik ook de kans kreeg om Tony en Stephen van Salford Radiostation te ontmoeten. Opeens zag ik een man in zijn pyjama rondwandelen in de zaal. Hij werd vergezeld door zijn vriend, hij droeg combatschoenen onder een rok. Even later gingen ze op het podium met twee andere jongens. Het leek erop dat zij leden van de band waren.

Het verhaal gaat dat de zanger ziek was, maar hij ging toch naar het optreden en deed niet eens de moeite om zich te verkleden. Hij hield gewoon zijn pyjama aan.

Wat volgde was een verrassende en zeer sterke set. (Post)punk op zijn best, die me van mijn sokken blies door de pure energie. Ze sleepten je uit je stoel op het podium, je kon er gewoon niet aan weerstaan: snelle nummers, gedreven door de gitaar, met een mooie bas en agressieve drums. De teksten zijn rauw en alles waar punkmuziek voor staat. En de houding was geweldig.

Hun nieuwe ep Branches (opgenomen in de 6 dB-studio’s van een ander groot artiest met de naam “Ding”) verschijnt op 6 november 2015. Dus punkliefhebbers, als je een concertje kan meepikken van deze band, doe het en koop de ep (een gelimiteerde release). Je zal niet teleurgesteld zijn!

Dit artikel verscheen tevens op Luminous Dash. Neem gerust een kijkje!

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence