tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

THE HAMSTERS

Salford 31-10-2015

Concert
06/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

I only knew this band from thr name on some old punk posters. They used to play with some of my favorite bands such as Joy Division and The Fall. Yet, it’s not easy to find a lot about their musical historyon the internet, and on YouTube Hamster videos are scarce.

But apparently the singer is a living legend, especially in music city Manchester. He’s a cuddly psychopath called Moet, a man who saw the legendary Sex Pistols gig at the Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. He formed a chaotic band called the Hamsters in 1981, and even had a brilliant book written about his life (2012). Ian Moss is also know from a band called Kill Pretty.

A good friend took us unexpected to their gig in a pub in Salford, MCR, last Saturday, where I also had the opportunity to meet Tony and Stephen from Salford radio station.

All of a sudden I saw a man in pyjama’s and a robe walking along the venue. He was accompanied by his friend, wearing combat shoes under a skirt. A few moments later they went on stage with two other guys. They seemed to be the band. The story goes that the singer was sick, but he still wanted to play and didn’t bother about the pyjama’s.

What followed was a a surprisingly and very strong set. (Post) punk at its best which blew me away by its pure energy. They dragged you out of your chair, you simply couldn’t resist. The fast songs were guitar driven, with a nice bass and aggressive drums. The lyrics were raw and everything what punk music stands for. And the attitude was great. People say that their credo used to be „We don’t care what people think of us”. And it still works, they really made my day! 

Their new EP Branches (recorded at the 6 dB studio’s of another great artist with the name of „Ding”) is released on 6th November 2015.

This article also appeared on Luminous Dash.

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


NL

Ik ken deze band alleen maar van een aantal oude punkposters. Hij speelde destijds met een aantal van mijn favoriete bands zoals Joy Division en The Fall. Toch komt men op het internet niet veel te weten over de muzikale geschiedenis en op YouTube zijn hun video’s schaars.

Maar blijkbaar is de zanger een levende legende, vooral in muziekhoofdstad Manchester. Men vergelijkt hem met een knuffelachtige psychopaat (bijnaam Moet): de man die de legendarische Sex Pistols zag optreden in de Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. Hij vormde de chaotische band The Hamsters in 1981 en er is zelfs een schitterend boek over zijn leven geschreven (2012). Ian Moss is ook bekend van de band Kill Pretty.

Een goede vriend nam ons afgelopen zaterdag onverwachts mee naar een optreden in een pub in Salford, MCR, waar ik ook de kans kreeg om Tony en Stephen van Salford Radiostation te ontmoeten. Opeens zag ik een man in zijn pyjama rondwandelen in de zaal. Hij werd vergezeld door zijn vriend, hij droeg combatschoenen onder een rok. Even later gingen ze op het podium met twee andere jongens. Het leek erop dat zij leden van de band waren.

Het verhaal gaat dat de zanger ziek was, maar hij ging toch naar het optreden en deed niet eens de moeite om zich te verkleden. Hij hield gewoon zijn pyjama aan.

Wat volgde was een verrassende en zeer sterke set. (Post)punk op zijn best, die me van mijn sokken blies door de pure energie. Ze sleepten je uit je stoel op het podium, je kon er gewoon niet aan weerstaan: snelle nummers, gedreven door de gitaar, met een mooie bas en agressieve drums. De teksten zijn rauw en alles waar punkmuziek voor staat. En de houding was geweldig.

Hun nieuwe ep Branches (opgenomen in de 6 dB-studio’s van een ander groot artiest met de naam “Ding”) verschijnt op 6 november 2015. Dus punkliefhebbers, als je een concertje kan meepikken van deze band, doe het en koop de ep (een gelimiteerde release). Je zal niet teleurgesteld zijn!

Dit artikel verscheen tevens op Luminous Dash. Neem gerust een kijkje!

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)