tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

THE HAMSTERS

Salford 31-10-2015

Concert
06/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

I only knew this band from thr name on some old punk posters. They used to play with some of my favorite bands such as Joy Division and The Fall. Yet, it’s not easy to find a lot about their musical historyon the internet, and on YouTube Hamster videos are scarce.

But apparently the singer is a living legend, especially in music city Manchester. He’s a cuddly psychopath called Moet, a man who saw the legendary Sex Pistols gig at the Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. He formed a chaotic band called the Hamsters in 1981, and even had a brilliant book written about his life (2012). Ian Moss is also know from a band called Kill Pretty.

A good friend took us unexpected to their gig in a pub in Salford, MCR, last Saturday, where I also had the opportunity to meet Tony and Stephen from Salford radio station.

All of a sudden I saw a man in pyjama’s and a robe walking along the venue. He was accompanied by his friend, wearing combat shoes under a skirt. A few moments later they went on stage with two other guys. They seemed to be the band. The story goes that the singer was sick, but he still wanted to play and didn’t bother about the pyjama’s.

What followed was a a surprisingly and very strong set. (Post) punk at its best which blew me away by its pure energy. They dragged you out of your chair, you simply couldn’t resist. The fast songs were guitar driven, with a nice bass and aggressive drums. The lyrics were raw and everything what punk music stands for. And the attitude was great. People say that their credo used to be „We don’t care what people think of us”. And it still works, they really made my day! 

Their new EP Branches (recorded at the 6 dB studio’s of another great artist with the name of „Ding”) is released on 6th November 2015.

This article also appeared on Luminous Dash.

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


NL

Ik ken deze band alleen maar van een aantal oude punkposters. Hij speelde destijds met een aantal van mijn favoriete bands zoals Joy Division en The Fall. Toch komt men op het internet niet veel te weten over de muzikale geschiedenis en op YouTube zijn hun video’s schaars.

Maar blijkbaar is de zanger een levende legende, vooral in muziekhoofdstad Manchester. Men vergelijkt hem met een knuffelachtige psychopaat (bijnaam Moet): de man die de legendarische Sex Pistols zag optreden in de Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. Hij vormde de chaotische band The Hamsters in 1981 en er is zelfs een schitterend boek over zijn leven geschreven (2012). Ian Moss is ook bekend van de band Kill Pretty.

Een goede vriend nam ons afgelopen zaterdag onverwachts mee naar een optreden in een pub in Salford, MCR, waar ik ook de kans kreeg om Tony en Stephen van Salford Radiostation te ontmoeten. Opeens zag ik een man in zijn pyjama rondwandelen in de zaal. Hij werd vergezeld door zijn vriend, hij droeg combatschoenen onder een rok. Even later gingen ze op het podium met twee andere jongens. Het leek erop dat zij leden van de band waren.

Het verhaal gaat dat de zanger ziek was, maar hij ging toch naar het optreden en deed niet eens de moeite om zich te verkleden. Hij hield gewoon zijn pyjama aan.

Wat volgde was een verrassende en zeer sterke set. (Post)punk op zijn best, die me van mijn sokken blies door de pure energie. Ze sleepten je uit je stoel op het podium, je kon er gewoon niet aan weerstaan: snelle nummers, gedreven door de gitaar, met een mooie bas en agressieve drums. De teksten zijn rauw en alles waar punkmuziek voor staat. En de houding was geweldig.

Hun nieuwe ep Branches (opgenomen in de 6 dB-studio’s van een ander groot artiest met de naam “Ding”) verschijnt op 6 november 2015. Dus punkliefhebbers, als je een concertje kan meepikken van deze band, doe het en koop de ep (een gelimiteerde release). Je zal niet teleurgesteld zijn!

Dit artikel verscheen tevens op Luminous Dash. Neem gerust een kijkje!

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)