tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHFOOT - When the Light Shines Through

SWITCHFOOT

When the Light Shines Through

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[78/100]   

Vanguard Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since its existence, Switchfoot is known as a Christian band. The Californians have difficulties with that label. Faith is a religion, not a music genre. That's why they didn't play on Christian festivals for some time. If you like trivia: Switchfoot is a surf term and it means the change of foot position.

Where the Light... is the band’s tenth full-length album and opens with Holy Water, a song that flirts with stadium rock and ditto grand gestures. Float is funky, catchy and has elements of soul, it reminds me of Beck. The title track Where The Light Shines Through includes some gospel elements. Their texts have a Christian influence. It doesn't mean they sound semi-soft. Their songs sound rather cheerful and you can compare them best with bands like The Feeling.

Musically you can describe them as pop / indie music with influences of gospel and pop rock. Sometimes it’s just too light. If you can live with that, the band has twelve decent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Switchfoot bestaat al sinds het einde van vorige eeuw en staat bekend als een christelijke band. De Californische band had het af en toe moeilijk met dit etiket. Ze vinden hun geloof een religie, geen muziekgenre. Daarom speelden ze een tijdlang niet meer op christelijke festivals. Als je van weetjes houdt: Switchfoot is een surfterm en betekent wisseling van voetpositie.

Switchfoot brengt met Where the Light… zijn tiende langspeler uit en opent met Holy Water, een song die naar de grote podia lonkt en dito grote gebaren. Gelukkig bestaat het nummer niet alleen uit gebakken lucht. Float heeft iets funky, catchy en soulachtig in zich. Het doet me wat aan Beck denken. Geen slechte vergelijking.

Het titelnummer Where The Light Shines Through bevat gospelelementen. Aan de teksten en sommige invloeden hoor je duidelijk de christelijke stempel. Wat niet wil zeggen dat ze halfzacht klinken, eerder opgewekt en catchy zoals bijv. The Feeling. Pop/indie muziek met gospel. Als geboren zwartkijker mis ik wat weerhaakjes en is het wat te luchtig. Heb je daar geen last van, dan krijg je met deze release twaalf degelijke tot uitstekende songs die garant staan voor lang luisterplezier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP
THE FEELING • The Feeling
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
CHRONOGRAPHS • Flat White
INNER SUN • Arcane Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl