tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHFOOT - When the Light Shines Through

SWITCHFOOT

When the Light Shines Through

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[78/100]   

Vanguard Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since its existence, Switchfoot is known as a Christian band. The Californians have difficulties with that label. Faith is a religion, not a music genre. That's why they didn't play on Christian festivals for some time. If you like trivia: Switchfoot is a surf term and it means the change of foot position.

Where the Light... is the band’s tenth full-length album and opens with Holy Water, a song that flirts with stadium rock and ditto grand gestures. Float is funky, catchy and has elements of soul, it reminds me of Beck. The title track Where The Light Shines Through includes some gospel elements. Their texts have a Christian influence. It doesn't mean they sound semi-soft. Their songs sound rather cheerful and you can compare them best with bands like The Feeling.

Musically you can describe them as pop / indie music with influences of gospel and pop rock. Sometimes it’s just too light. If you can live with that, the band has twelve decent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Switchfoot bestaat al sinds het einde van vorige eeuw en staat bekend als een christelijke band. De Californische band had het af en toe moeilijk met dit etiket. Ze vinden hun geloof een religie, geen muziekgenre. Daarom speelden ze een tijdlang niet meer op christelijke festivals. Als je van weetjes houdt: Switchfoot is een surfterm en betekent wisseling van voetpositie.

Switchfoot brengt met Where the Light… zijn tiende langspeler uit en opent met Holy Water, een song die naar de grote podia lonkt en dito grote gebaren. Gelukkig bestaat het nummer niet alleen uit gebakken lucht. Float heeft iets funky, catchy en soulachtig in zich. Het doet me wat aan Beck denken. Geen slechte vergelijking.

Het titelnummer Where The Light Shines Through bevat gospelelementen. Aan de teksten en sommige invloeden hoor je duidelijk de christelijke stempel. Wat niet wil zeggen dat ze halfzacht klinken, eerder opgewekt en catchy zoals bijv. The Feeling. Pop/indie muziek met gospel. Als geboren zwartkijker mis ik wat weerhaakjes en is het wat te luchtig. Heb je daar geen last van, dan krijg je met deze release twaalf degelijke tot uitstekende songs die garant staan voor lang luisterplezier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP
THE FEELING • The Feeling
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
CHRONOGRAPHS • Flat White
INNER SUN • Arcane Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination