tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHFOOT - When the Light Shines Through

SWITCHFOOT

When the Light Shines Through

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[78/100]   

Vanguard Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since its existence, Switchfoot is known as a Christian band. The Californians have difficulties with that label. Faith is a religion, not a music genre. That's why they didn't play on Christian festivals for some time. If you like trivia: Switchfoot is a surf term and it means the change of foot position.

Where the Light... is the band’s tenth full-length album and opens with Holy Water, a song that flirts with stadium rock and ditto grand gestures. Float is funky, catchy and has elements of soul, it reminds me of Beck. The title track Where The Light Shines Through includes some gospel elements. Their texts have a Christian influence. It doesn't mean they sound semi-soft. Their songs sound rather cheerful and you can compare them best with bands like The Feeling.

Musically you can describe them as pop / indie music with influences of gospel and pop rock. Sometimes it’s just too light. If you can live with that, the band has twelve decent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Switchfoot bestaat al sinds het einde van vorige eeuw en staat bekend als een christelijke band. De Californische band had het af en toe moeilijk met dit etiket. Ze vinden hun geloof een religie, geen muziekgenre. Daarom speelden ze een tijdlang niet meer op christelijke festivals. Als je van weetjes houdt: Switchfoot is een surfterm en betekent wisseling van voetpositie.

Switchfoot brengt met Where the Light… zijn tiende langspeler uit en opent met Holy Water, een song die naar de grote podia lonkt en dito grote gebaren. Gelukkig bestaat het nummer niet alleen uit gebakken lucht. Float heeft iets funky, catchy en soulachtig in zich. Het doet me wat aan Beck denken. Geen slechte vergelijking.

Het titelnummer Where The Light Shines Through bevat gospelelementen. Aan de teksten en sommige invloeden hoor je duidelijk de christelijke stempel. Wat niet wil zeggen dat ze halfzacht klinken, eerder opgewekt en catchy zoals bijv. The Feeling. Pop/indie muziek met gospel. Als geboren zwartkijker mis ik wat weerhaakjes en is het wat te luchtig. Heb je daar geen last van, dan krijg je met deze release twaalf degelijke tot uitstekende songs die garant staan voor lang luisterplezier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP
THE FEELING • The Feeling
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
CHRONOGRAPHS • Flat White
INNER SUN • Arcane Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly XXXYEARSXX years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction