tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHFOOT - When the Light Shines Through

SWITCHFOOT

When the Light Shines Through

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[78/100]   

Vanguard Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since its existence, Switchfoot is known as a Christian band. The Californians have difficulties with that label. Faith is a religion, not a music genre. That's why they didn't play on Christian festivals for some time. If you like trivia: Switchfoot is a surf term and it means the change of foot position.

Where the Light... is the band’s tenth full-length album and opens with Holy Water, a song that flirts with stadium rock and ditto grand gestures. Float is funky, catchy and has elements of soul, it reminds me of Beck. The title track Where The Light Shines Through includes some gospel elements. Their texts have a Christian influence. It doesn't mean they sound semi-soft. Their songs sound rather cheerful and you can compare them best with bands like The Feeling.

Musically you can describe them as pop / indie music with influences of gospel and pop rock. Sometimes it’s just too light. If you can live with that, the band has twelve decent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Switchfoot bestaat al sinds het einde van vorige eeuw en staat bekend als een christelijke band. De Californische band had het af en toe moeilijk met dit etiket. Ze vinden hun geloof een religie, geen muziekgenre. Daarom speelden ze een tijdlang niet meer op christelijke festivals. Als je van weetjes houdt: Switchfoot is een surfterm en betekent wisseling van voetpositie.

Switchfoot brengt met Where the Light… zijn tiende langspeler uit en opent met Holy Water, een song die naar de grote podia lonkt en dito grote gebaren. Gelukkig bestaat het nummer niet alleen uit gebakken lucht. Float heeft iets funky, catchy en soulachtig in zich. Het doet me wat aan Beck denken. Geen slechte vergelijking.

Het titelnummer Where The Light Shines Through bevat gospelelementen. Aan de teksten en sommige invloeden hoor je duidelijk de christelijke stempel. Wat niet wil zeggen dat ze halfzacht klinken, eerder opgewekt en catchy zoals bijv. The Feeling. Pop/indie muziek met gospel. Als geboren zwartkijker mis ik wat weerhaakjes en is het wat te luchtig. Heb je daar geen last van, dan krijg je met deze release twaalf degelijke tot uitstekende songs die garant staan voor lang luisterplezier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP
THE FEELING • The Feeling
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
CHRONOGRAPHS • Flat White
INNER SUN • Arcane Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass