tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SWITCHFOOT - When the Light Shines Through

SWITCHFOOT

When the Light Shines Through

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[78/100]   

Vanguard Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since its existence, Switchfoot is known as a Christian band. The Californians have difficulties with that label. Faith is a religion, not a music genre. That's why they didn't play on Christian festivals for some time. If you like trivia: Switchfoot is a surf term and it means the change of foot position.

Where the Light... is the band’s tenth full-length album and opens with Holy Water, a song that flirts with stadium rock and ditto grand gestures. Float is funky, catchy and has elements of soul, it reminds me of Beck. The title track Where The Light Shines Through includes some gospel elements. Their texts have a Christian influence. It doesn't mean they sound semi-soft. Their songs sound rather cheerful and you can compare them best with bands like The Feeling.

Musically you can describe them as pop / indie music with influences of gospel and pop rock. Sometimes it’s just too light. If you can live with that, the band has twelve decent songs.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Switchfoot bestaat al sinds het einde van vorige eeuw en staat bekend als een christelijke band. De Californische band had het af en toe moeilijk met dit etiket. Ze vinden hun geloof een religie, geen muziekgenre. Daarom speelden ze een tijdlang niet meer op christelijke festivals. Als je van weetjes houdt: Switchfoot is een surfterm en betekent wisseling van voetpositie.

Switchfoot brengt met Where the Light… zijn tiende langspeler uit en opent met Holy Water, een song die naar de grote podia lonkt en dito grote gebaren. Gelukkig bestaat het nummer niet alleen uit gebakken lucht. Float heeft iets funky, catchy en soulachtig in zich. Het doet me wat aan Beck denken. Geen slechte vergelijking.

Het titelnummer Where The Light Shines Through bevat gospelelementen. Aan de teksten en sommige invloeden hoor je duidelijk de christelijke stempel. Wat niet wil zeggen dat ze halfzacht klinken, eerder opgewekt en catchy zoals bijv. The Feeling. Pop/indie muziek met gospel. Als geboren zwartkijker mis ik wat weerhaakjes en is het wat te luchtig. Heb je daar geen last van, dan krijg je met deze release twaalf degelijke tot uitstekende songs die garant staan voor lang luisterplezier.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + POP
THE FEELING • The Feeling
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
FRANKIE & THE HEARTSTRINGS • Decency
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
CHRONOGRAPHS • Flat White
INNER SUN • Arcane Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons: falling

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag