tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NIGHT BEATS - Who Sold My Generation

NIGHT BEATS

Who Sold My Generation

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock n' Roll

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young guns of Night Beats (from Texas) were the opening act for Dinosaur Jr in the Casino (Sint Niklaas) a while ago. They did an excellent job and in addition they have a new album out via PIAS.

An album with a sound which reverberates and mixes rock 'n roll with psychedelica. The opener Celebration # 1 is a bit atypical as it is a pretty psychedelic track in which the guitar wanders in an almost rudderless manner. The next track, Power Child, is representative of the rest of the album: witty and catchy tunes with lots of reverb. Singer Danny Lee Blackwell tries to sing the audience into a trance and then strikes back in the chorus.

Right/Wrong begins as a song by The Raconteurs and then dives into the sixties. Simplicity can be beautiful. On Porque Mañana a Mexican atmosphere is evoked. Sunday Mourning contains some DNA of The Stone Roses and is a patiently constructed song. Bad Love swings nicely and the saxophone does a great job. The chorus grabs you by the throat. Egypt Berry closes the album with a talking guitar on a simple rhythm. It sounds great and the song benefits from a guitar solo to the end. As a result, the album ends a bit like it started.

Who Sold My Generation contains tunes that linger, contains inviting rhythms and songs that you like to hear.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De jonge honden van Night Beats (uit Texas) stonden een tijdje geleden in het voorprogramma van Dinosaur Jr in De Casino (Sint Niklaas). Ze deden het voortreffelijk en daarenboven hebben ze dit jaar ook een album uit dat hier door PIAS wordt verdeeld.

Een album met een sound die galmt en die rock 'n roll en psychedelica mengt. De opener Celebration #1 is een beetje a-typisch aangezien het een vrij psychedelische track is waarin de gitaar haast stuurloos ronddwaalt. De volgende track, Power Child, is representatiever voor de rest van het album: gevatte en catchy tunes met veel galm. Zanger Danny Lee Blackwell probeert iedereen in trance te zingen om dan toe te slaan in het refrein.

Right/Wrong begint als een song van The Raconteurs om dan de sixties in te duiken. Hoe mooi kan eenvoud wel niet zijn? Op Porque Mañana wordt een Mexicaanse sfeer opgeroepen. Sunday Mourning bevat wat DNA van The Stone Roses en is een geduldig opgebouwde song. Bad Love swingt aantrekkelijk en de saxofoon levert goed werk. Het refrein grijpt je bij de keel en snoert ze net voldoende toe. Egypt Berry sluit het album af met een pratende gitaar op een eenvoudig ritme. Het werkt fantastisch en de song zwermt daarna via een gitaarsolo breed uit waardoor het album ongeveer afsluit zoals het begon.

Who Sold My Generation bevat geluiden die blijven hangen, uitnodigende ritmes en songs waar je met plezier naar luistert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass