tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NIGHT BEATS - Who Sold My Generation

NIGHT BEATS

Who Sold My Generation

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock n' Roll

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young guns of Night Beats (from Texas) were the opening act for Dinosaur Jr in the Casino (Sint Niklaas) a while ago. They did an excellent job and in addition they have a new album out via PIAS.

An album with a sound which reverberates and mixes rock 'n roll with psychedelica. The opener Celebration # 1 is a bit atypical as it is a pretty psychedelic track in which the guitar wanders in an almost rudderless manner. The next track, Power Child, is representative of the rest of the album: witty and catchy tunes with lots of reverb. Singer Danny Lee Blackwell tries to sing the audience into a trance and then strikes back in the chorus.

Right/Wrong begins as a song by The Raconteurs and then dives into the sixties. Simplicity can be beautiful. On Porque Mañana a Mexican atmosphere is evoked. Sunday Mourning contains some DNA of The Stone Roses and is a patiently constructed song. Bad Love swings nicely and the saxophone does a great job. The chorus grabs you by the throat. Egypt Berry closes the album with a talking guitar on a simple rhythm. It sounds great and the song benefits from a guitar solo to the end. As a result, the album ends a bit like it started.

Who Sold My Generation contains tunes that linger, contains inviting rhythms and songs that you like to hear.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De jonge honden van Night Beats (uit Texas) stonden een tijdje geleden in het voorprogramma van Dinosaur Jr in De Casino (Sint Niklaas). Ze deden het voortreffelijk en daarenboven hebben ze dit jaar ook een album uit dat hier door PIAS wordt verdeeld.

Een album met een sound die galmt en die rock 'n roll en psychedelica mengt. De opener Celebration #1 is een beetje a-typisch aangezien het een vrij psychedelische track is waarin de gitaar haast stuurloos ronddwaalt. De volgende track, Power Child, is representatiever voor de rest van het album: gevatte en catchy tunes met veel galm. Zanger Danny Lee Blackwell probeert iedereen in trance te zingen om dan toe te slaan in het refrein.

Right/Wrong begint als een song van The Raconteurs om dan de sixties in te duiken. Hoe mooi kan eenvoud wel niet zijn? Op Porque Mañana wordt een Mexicaanse sfeer opgeroepen. Sunday Mourning bevat wat DNA van The Stone Roses en is een geduldig opgebouwde song. Bad Love swingt aantrekkelijk en de saxofoon levert goed werk. Het refrein grijpt je bij de keel en snoert ze net voldoende toe. Egypt Berry sluit het album af met een pratende gitaar op een eenvoudig ritme. Het werkt fantastisch en de song zwermt daarna via een gitaarsolo breed uit waardoor het album ongeveer afsluit zoals het begon.

Who Sold My Generation bevat geluiden die blijven hangen, uitnodigende ritmes en songs waar je met plezier naar luistert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)