tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NIGHT BEATS - Who Sold My Generation

NIGHT BEATS

Who Sold My Generation

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock n' Roll

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young guns of Night Beats (from Texas) were the opening act for Dinosaur Jr in the Casino (Sint Niklaas) a while ago. They did an excellent job and in addition they have a new album out via PIAS.

An album with a sound which reverberates and mixes rock 'n roll with psychedelica. The opener Celebration # 1 is a bit atypical as it is a pretty psychedelic track in which the guitar wanders in an almost rudderless manner. The next track, Power Child, is representative of the rest of the album: witty and catchy tunes with lots of reverb. Singer Danny Lee Blackwell tries to sing the audience into a trance and then strikes back in the chorus.

Right/Wrong begins as a song by The Raconteurs and then dives into the sixties. Simplicity can be beautiful. On Porque Mañana a Mexican atmosphere is evoked. Sunday Mourning contains some DNA of The Stone Roses and is a patiently constructed song. Bad Love swings nicely and the saxophone does a great job. The chorus grabs you by the throat. Egypt Berry closes the album with a talking guitar on a simple rhythm. It sounds great and the song benefits from a guitar solo to the end. As a result, the album ends a bit like it started.

Who Sold My Generation contains tunes that linger, contains inviting rhythms and songs that you like to hear.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De jonge honden van Night Beats (uit Texas) stonden een tijdje geleden in het voorprogramma van Dinosaur Jr in De Casino (Sint Niklaas). Ze deden het voortreffelijk en daarenboven hebben ze dit jaar ook een album uit dat hier door PIAS wordt verdeeld.

Een album met een sound die galmt en die rock 'n roll en psychedelica mengt. De opener Celebration #1 is een beetje a-typisch aangezien het een vrij psychedelische track is waarin de gitaar haast stuurloos ronddwaalt. De volgende track, Power Child, is representatiever voor de rest van het album: gevatte en catchy tunes met veel galm. Zanger Danny Lee Blackwell probeert iedereen in trance te zingen om dan toe te slaan in het refrein.

Right/Wrong begint als een song van The Raconteurs om dan de sixties in te duiken. Hoe mooi kan eenvoud wel niet zijn? Op Porque Mañana wordt een Mexicaanse sfeer opgeroepen. Sunday Mourning bevat wat DNA van The Stone Roses en is een geduldig opgebouwde song. Bad Love swingt aantrekkelijk en de saxofoon levert goed werk. Het refrein grijpt je bij de keel en snoert ze net voldoende toe. Egypt Berry sluit het album af met een pratende gitaar op een eenvoudig ritme. Het werkt fantastisch en de song zwermt daarna via een gitaarsolo breed uit waardoor het album ongeveer afsluit zoals het begon.

Who Sold My Generation bevat geluiden die blijven hangen, uitnodigende ritmes en songs waar je met plezier naar luistert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)