tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NIGHT BEATS - Who Sold My Generation

NIGHT BEATS

Who Sold My Generation

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock n' Roll

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young guns of Night Beats (from Texas) were the opening act for Dinosaur Jr in the Casino (Sint Niklaas) a while ago. They did an excellent job and in addition they have a new album out via PIAS.

An album with a sound which reverberates and mixes rock 'n roll with psychedelica. The opener Celebration # 1 is a bit atypical as it is a pretty psychedelic track in which the guitar wanders in an almost rudderless manner. The next track, Power Child, is representative of the rest of the album: witty and catchy tunes with lots of reverb. Singer Danny Lee Blackwell tries to sing the audience into a trance and then strikes back in the chorus.

Right/Wrong begins as a song by The Raconteurs and then dives into the sixties. Simplicity can be beautiful. On Porque Mañana a Mexican atmosphere is evoked. Sunday Mourning contains some DNA of The Stone Roses and is a patiently constructed song. Bad Love swings nicely and the saxophone does a great job. The chorus grabs you by the throat. Egypt Berry closes the album with a talking guitar on a simple rhythm. It sounds great and the song benefits from a guitar solo to the end. As a result, the album ends a bit like it started.

Who Sold My Generation contains tunes that linger, contains inviting rhythms and songs that you like to hear.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De jonge honden van Night Beats (uit Texas) stonden een tijdje geleden in het voorprogramma van Dinosaur Jr in De Casino (Sint Niklaas). Ze deden het voortreffelijk en daarenboven hebben ze dit jaar ook een album uit dat hier door PIAS wordt verdeeld.

Een album met een sound die galmt en die rock 'n roll en psychedelica mengt. De opener Celebration #1 is een beetje a-typisch aangezien het een vrij psychedelische track is waarin de gitaar haast stuurloos ronddwaalt. De volgende track, Power Child, is representatiever voor de rest van het album: gevatte en catchy tunes met veel galm. Zanger Danny Lee Blackwell probeert iedereen in trance te zingen om dan toe te slaan in het refrein.

Right/Wrong begint als een song van The Raconteurs om dan de sixties in te duiken. Hoe mooi kan eenvoud wel niet zijn? Op Porque Mañana wordt een Mexicaanse sfeer opgeroepen. Sunday Mourning bevat wat DNA van The Stone Roses en is een geduldig opgebouwde song. Bad Love swingt aantrekkelijk en de saxofoon levert goed werk. Het refrein grijpt je bij de keel en snoert ze net voldoende toe. Egypt Berry sluit het album af met een pratende gitaar op een eenvoudig ritme. Het werkt fantastisch en de song zwermt daarna via een gitaarsolo breed uit waardoor het album ongeveer afsluit zoals het begon.

Who Sold My Generation bevat geluiden die blijven hangen, uitnodigende ritmes en songs waar je met plezier naar luistert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela