tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NIGHT BEATS - Who Sold My Generation

NIGHT BEATS

Who Sold My Generation

MusicCD
PsychedelicRock n' Roll

[82/100]   

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young guns of Night Beats (from Texas) were the opening act for Dinosaur Jr in the Casino (Sint Niklaas) a while ago. They did an excellent job and in addition they have a new album out via PIAS.

An album with a sound which reverberates and mixes rock 'n roll with psychedelica. The opener Celebration # 1 is a bit atypical as it is a pretty psychedelic track in which the guitar wanders in an almost rudderless manner. The next track, Power Child, is representative of the rest of the album: witty and catchy tunes with lots of reverb. Singer Danny Lee Blackwell tries to sing the audience into a trance and then strikes back in the chorus.

Right/Wrong begins as a song by The Raconteurs and then dives into the sixties. Simplicity can be beautiful. On Porque Mañana a Mexican atmosphere is evoked. Sunday Mourning contains some DNA of The Stone Roses and is a patiently constructed song. Bad Love swings nicely and the saxophone does a great job. The chorus grabs you by the throat. Egypt Berry closes the album with a talking guitar on a simple rhythm. It sounds great and the song benefits from a guitar solo to the end. As a result, the album ends a bit like it started.

Who Sold My Generation contains tunes that linger, contains inviting rhythms and songs that you like to hear.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De jonge honden van Night Beats (uit Texas) stonden een tijdje geleden in het voorprogramma van Dinosaur Jr in De Casino (Sint Niklaas). Ze deden het voortreffelijk en daarenboven hebben ze dit jaar ook een album uit dat hier door PIAS wordt verdeeld.

Een album met een sound die galmt en die rock 'n roll en psychedelica mengt. De opener Celebration #1 is een beetje a-typisch aangezien het een vrij psychedelische track is waarin de gitaar haast stuurloos ronddwaalt. De volgende track, Power Child, is representatiever voor de rest van het album: gevatte en catchy tunes met veel galm. Zanger Danny Lee Blackwell probeert iedereen in trance te zingen om dan toe te slaan in het refrein.

Right/Wrong begint als een song van The Raconteurs om dan de sixties in te duiken. Hoe mooi kan eenvoud wel niet zijn? Op Porque Mañana wordt een Mexicaanse sfeer opgeroepen. Sunday Mourning bevat wat DNA van The Stone Roses en is een geduldig opgebouwde song. Bad Love swingt aantrekkelijk en de saxofoon levert goed werk. Het refrein grijpt je bij de keel en snoert ze net voldoende toe. Egypt Berry sluit het album af met een pratende gitaar op een eenvoudig ritme. Het werkt fantastisch en de song zwermt daarna via een gitaarsolo breed uit waardoor het album ongeveer afsluit zoals het begon.

Who Sold My Generation bevat geluiden die blijven hangen, uitnodigende ritmes en songs waar je met plezier naar luistert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten