tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : VOODOO BIBLE - Black Tarot

VOODOO BIBLE

Black Tarot

MusicCD
Dark Dystopic Industrial

[78/100]   

Venus Aeon
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

William Westwater has many projects these days: Exit Strategy (the post-punk band), Fear Incorporated (the album Cloak and Dagger will be released in 2016), Infrared and Voodoo Bible with music that can be described as dark industrial with avant-garde influences: a mix of Virgin Prunes, The Prodigy and Killing Joke.

For this project he works again with Berwyn Waddon on guitar. The rest (synth, vocals, programming) is Westwater’s job. The result is a captivating mix of songs that evoke all sorts of feelings: alienation, despair, darkness or doom.

It all starts with the opener Garden of the Meek: an industrial sounding intro in which William recites his lyrics if in a ritual. The song gets some momentum in the chorus due to the added EBM-like synths.

Sacred Monkey has less rhythm breaks than DNA, which makes the track more listenable. The guitars are mixed in a surprising way. It perfectly fits the apocalyptic sound. I already knew Dystopia, because it was released as a single and video: a track with elements of The Prodigy.

Antipode of Heaven has an industrial base. The effect is certainly surprising. Tantalus is even better: a mix of melody and rhythm. Sweet Assassin lacks a bit of consistency, but In the Book of the Dead is better.

In Icarus, we hear Killing Joke, while Hoxorcism and Black Tarot are rather industrial/avant-garde tracks. The album closes with the Voodoo Bible Major Arcana Mix.

Westwater has a very special and dystopian voice (along with some effects) which you have to appreciate to enjoy this album. However, he has an original sound and ditto approach: a unique atmosphere with captivating songs. On some tracks I get the feeling that’s it too much a matter of copy and paste. Anyway, the album sounds a lot better and more consistent than Seven Deadly Sins, the debut of 2014.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

William Westwater is met veel projecten bezig dezer dagen: Exit Strategy (post-punkband van Berwyn Waddon voor wie hij de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt), Fear Incorporated (waarvan dit jaar nog het album Cloak and Dagger verschijnt), Infrared en ten slotte deze Voodoo Bible, waarvan de muziek in de de richting van dark industrial gaat met wat avant-garde invloeden: een mix tussen The Virgin Prunes, The Prodigy en Killing Joke. Voor dit project werkt hij weer samen met Berwyn Waddon die instaat voor de gitaren. De rest (synth, vocals, programming…) doet Westwater zelf.

Het resultaat is een boeiende mix van liedjes die allerlei gevoelens oproepen: vervreemding, wanhoop, duisternis, noodlot… Verwacht je dus aan een in duisternis gehuld album. Het begint al met de opener Garden of the Meek: een industrial aandoende intro waarin William haast op rituele wijze zijn tekst declareert. In het refrein krijgt de track wat meer vaart en hij swing vanwege de EBM-achtige synths die toegevoegd worden. Sacred Monkey heeft wat minder breakritmes dan DNA waardoor de track iets vlotter beluisterbaar is. De gitaren zijn op een verrassende manier gemixt: het lijkt alsof ze van onder een deken komen. Het past prima bij het apocalyptisch geluid dat geproduceerd wordt.

Dystopia kende ik al, want het werd eerder als video en single uitgebracht: een geschikte track (met wat Prodigy-elementen in de bridge) in zoverre dit voor singlemuziek door kan gaan, natuurlijk. Antipode of Heaven heeft een industriële basis waaraan rest is gehangen. De uitwerking kon beslist verrassender. Tantalus doet beter: een mengeling van melodie en ritme. Sweet Assassin gaat zo een beetje alle kanten uit maar mist een beetje samenhang. In Book of The Dead is die samenhang beter geslaagd. In Icarus horen we een geluid dat zowaar in de richting van Killing Joke gaat, terwijl Hoxorcism en Black Tarot eerder industrial/avant-garde tracks zijn. Het album sluit geslaagd af met Voodoo Bible Major Arcana Mix.

Westwater heeft een heel speciaal en dystopisch stemgeluid (samen met wat effecten vermoed ik). Eerste voorwaarde is dat je die weet te appreciëren vooraleer je aan de rest begint. In elk geval kan je hier spreken van een origineel totaalgeluid en een dito aanpak. er wordt een unieke sfeer neergezet in over het algemeen boeiende songs. Bij enkele tracks krijg ik een beetje teveel het gevoel van knip- en plakwerk. Maar de songsdie wel werken, zijn wel heel geslaagd. Het album klinkt ook een stuk beter en consistenter dan het debuut Seven Deadly Sins uit 2014.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine