tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE

Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rudy Trouvé as a support act? No, such things should not happen in a normal world, nor is it normal that we need to introduce this artistic centipede on our pages. But then again, let us conclude that the world is not normal, and we assume that Rudy agrees with such a sarcastic conclusion.

During the 90s, Rudy played in bands like Gore Slut, Kiss My Jazz, Dead Man Ray and of course he was part of dEUS for three years (most of the album covers are his paintings). In recent years, Rudy was more involved in his artistic work, so it was a unique opportunity to see what this Antwerp musician has to offer these days.

Before he started his idiosyncratic (but brilliant) set, Rudy told us he was quite nervous. All alone, and he even had forgotten his set list. Nonchalant, as we know him, but what a performance!

In just half an hour he showed to what experimentation can lead. However, you saw big parts of his inner (almost broken) soul. A fragile song about drunkenness and its effects made your heart bleed. Some tracks were a tribute to the instruments Rudy loves. He did not think too long about the titles. Violin is about (well) a violin, and Electric Guitar is a tribute to the many guitarists Trouvé adores, while he himself sounds as Robert Fripp. In Thin Cat, he sings about what you can do with a Chinese luck doll. Simple beauty that breaks your heart, and as he himself described it: after each performed song we are closer to the inevitable death. Trouvé is a little God in Flanders, it is a shame that most people don’t realize it.

It was a special day for Few Bits, not only because of the birthday of guitarist and keyboardist Nico Jacobs (including a cocktail on stage), it was also the first time (if you do not count the support act of Sophia in Brussels) that Karolien Van Ransbeeck and her band presented the new album Big Sparks in Belgium. In the past months, the band played with big acts like The Lemonheads and Sebadoh, bands from the 90s that perfectly match with the sound of Big Sparks. The intimate atmosphere of the debut is gone, Few Bits has become an indie pop band, and how!

Outside the sun was shining, Karolien was dressed like that, and the music sounded sunny as well. The band started with one of the best songs from the new album: Sweet Warrior. Excellent dreampop that is made to dance to (yes, you can dream away on it too). After Chasing Rainbows, Set Your Free and Starry Eyed, Few Bits took a track out of its first record. During Shell she asked her companion Matthias Bastiaens to join them as he played on the debut. Suddenly we saw four guitarists on stage!

From acoustic to playing the electric guitar is just a small step for Few Bits, the title track Big Sparks sounded very powerful, just as the irresistible Summer Sun and the valve Do Your Best. In between a friend was invited on stage. We really do not know who Danny is, but his nice voice was good enough to make One Night Friend outstanding.

According to Karolien Do Your Best was the last official song, but she returned to do an acoustic solo version of Pick You Up and later the other five came back as well (actually six, because Matthias joined as well) for People and Souvenir.

Few Bits played a flawless concert in Antwerp. Reportedly Alex Callier of Hooverphonic was in the venue. If so, he knows who he has to fear.

Photography: Danny Quintelier

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Rudy Trouvé in een voorprogramma? Neen, in een normale wereld zou zoiets niet mogen kunnen. En het kan al helemaal niet dat we deze artistieke duizendpoot op onze pagina’s hoeven voor te stellen. Laten we ons erbij neerleggen dat deze wereld nu eenmaal niet normaal is, en we durven er heel veel bier op verwedden dat Rudy zelf om zo’n sarcastisch besluit zou kunnen lachen.

In de jaren 90 zat Rudy bij bands als Gore Slut, Kiss My Jazz, Dead Man Ray en natuurlijk ook drie jaar bij dEUS (de meeste hoezen zijn trouwens schilderijen van hem). De laatste jaren was hij echter meer en meer als kunstenaar bezig. Een bijna unieke gelegenheid dus om na te gaan wat deze Antwerpse kunstenaar vandaag muzikaal te bieden heeft.

Alvorens hij aan zijn eigenzinnige (weliswaar briljante) set begon, vertelde Rudy middenin de zaal op een losse manier dat hij best wat zenuwachtig was. Helemaal alleen, en op de koop toe was hij zelfs zijn setlist vergeten. Nonchalanter kon niet, Rudy Trouvé ten voeten uit, maar wat een optreden!

In amper een half uurtje tijd toonde Rudy waartoe experimenteren kan leiden, toch zag je vooral veel van zijn innerlijke (bijna gebroken) ziel. Een fragiel liedje over dronkenschap en de gevolgen ervan, het deed je hart bloeden. Sommige tracks waren niet meer dan een ode aan de instrumenten die hij koestert. Over de keuze van de titels werd niet al te lang nagedacht. Violin gaat gewoon over (tja) een viool, Electric Guitar dan weer over de vele gitaristen naar wie Trouvé opkijkt, en dat terwijl hijzelf als een volleerde Robert Fripp klinkt. In Thin Cat bezingt hij wat je met een Chinees gelukspopje kan doen. Simpele eenvoud die je hart breekt, en zoals Rudy zelf omschreef: na iedere song zijn we ook weer wat dichter bij de onafwendbare dood. Trouvé is een kleine God in Vlaanderen, alleen moeten de meesten dat nog beseffen.

Het optreden van Few Bits was voor de band een speciale dag. Niet alleen was het de verjaardag van gitarist en keyboardspeler Nico Jacobs (inclusief een cocktail op het podium), ook was het de allereerste keer (als je de support act van Sophia in de Botanique niet meerekent) dat Karolien Van Ransbeeck en haar band de nieuwe cd Big Sparks in België voorstelden. De band had daar alle redenen toe, want de voorbije maanden speelde hij in het buitenland met knallende namen als The Lemonheads en Sebadoh. Bands uit de jaren 90 die perfect aansluiten bij het geluid van Big Sparks. Van de intieme sfeer op het debuut is er nauwelijks iets overgebleven, Few Bits is inderdaad een indiepopband geworden, en hoe!

Buiten scheen de zon, Karolien was erop gekleed en zo klonk ook de muziek. De band startte met één van de beste liedjes uit de cd: Sweet Warrior. Excellente dreampop waarvan een mens na afloop alleen maar vrolijk wordt, liedjes die gemaakt zijn om op te dansen (en ja, ook om op weg te dromen). Na Chasing Rainbows, Set Your Free en greep Karolien naar haar eerste plaat terug. Voor Shell werd kompaan Matthias Bastiaens op het podium geroepen omdat hij aan het debuut meewerkte. Plotseling zagen we vier gitaristen op de bühne!

Van akoestisch naar een elektrische gitaar is voor Few Bits maar een kleine stap, de titeltrack Big Sparks klonk enorm krachtig, net zoals het onweerstaanbare Summer Sun en de afsluiter Do Your Best. Tussendoor was er nog tijd om een vriend op het podium te roepen. We weten in de verste verte niet wie Danny is, maar door zijn aangename stem klonk One Night Friend wel prachtig.

Officieel was Do Your Best het laatste nummer, aldus Karolien, maar ze kwam nog eens solo terug voor Pick You Up en daarna kwamen ook de andere vijf er nog eens bij (eigenlijk zes, want ook Matthias was van de partij) voor People en Souvenir.

Few Bits speelde in Antwerpen een vlekkeloos concert. Naar verluidt liep Alex Callier ergens rond in de Trix, hij weet meteen wie hij te vrezen heeft.

Foto's: Danny Quintelier

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE - Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles