tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/11/2015 : NINA K. - On Ice

NINA K.

On Ice

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[66/100]   

V2
30/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The first thing you think of when hearing On Ice by Nina K. is that she creates fine pop music that is made to whistle along. Music that doesn’t torture you soul, but looks can be deceiving! Nina’s lyrics are not exactly light (for example how you process the death of a child), even though her music never feels as such.

Most of the times, her songs sound quite light, and that is no doubt due to the production of Alex Dromgoole (who previously worked with Björk and Jessie Ware) and Daniel Fagge Fagerstrom, who added a lot of dreamy synths as coproducer.

The new age-like title perfectly matches this album of Nina K. (whose full name is actually Nina Kinert). On Ice is certainly not a classic album. It's fun, but it relies a bit too much on Nina's majestic voice, that can be situated somewhere between Enya and Maia Vidal.

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


NL

Het eerste wat je denkt als je Nina K. hoort, is dat het om leuke popmuziek gaat die gemaakt is om lekker mee te fluiten. Muziek waarvoor je je ziel voor één keer niet moet tormenteren, maar schijn bedriegt! Nina's teksten zijn niet bepaald licht (bijv. het verwerken van het overlijden van een kind), ook al voelt de muziek nooit zo aan.

De tracks klinken bij momenten bijzonder licht, en dat komt zonder twijfel door de productie van Alex Dromgoole (die samenwerkte met Björk en Jessie Ware) en Daniel Fagge Fagerstrom die er als coproducer nog een heleboel zweverige synths bijgooide.

De new age-achtige titel past perfect bij dit album van Nina K. (die eigenlijk voluit Nina Kinert heet). On Ice is zeker geen uitschieter, maar een aangename plaat die net iets te veel puurt uit Ninas magistrale stem en die zich ergens tussen Enya en Maia Vidal bevindt.

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)