tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : DAVID CARRETTA - Two Decades: A Retrospective

DAVID CARRETTA

Two Decades: A Retrospective

MusicCD
DanceElectroElectronics

[84/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Besides superb dark wave, the French label Unknown Pleasure Records also offers dance stuff of the better kind. Founder Pedro always was keen on the electro clash genre and it was kind of written in the stars that one day he would release a compilation by David Carretta. This artist, who started his career in Marseille in the 80s, is not only one of the many techno pioneers, he's also a bit the godfather of electro clash. As the title suggests, Two Decades: A Retrospective is a compilation that offers a nice overview of 20 years David Carretta: an artist who was influenced by both the disco gods (Giorgio Moroder) and EBM monsters (Front 242).

This CD contains fifteen songs, and although they are all meant for the dance floor, they sound very diverse. Goodbye Honeymoon is an ideal opener, a quiet track that could have been on a Klaus Schulze or Tangerine Dream album. Do not worry if you want some uplifting beats, because you get them in Cosmos 70. The strange effects make you dance. Even your living room can serve as a dance floor. Station To Station is not a Bowie cover, but just like Kraftwerk, Carretta brings you the same beats from one station to another. Escape From You sound a little darker and it shows where contemporary artists like Popsimonova take their inspiration from.

Perhaps it’s the title, but in Moskow Reise you discover some Neue Deutsche Welle and it seems like Carretta is playing a game with Codo by DOF. Of course Carretta also made a lot of songs that are solely intended for the dance floor, for example Extreme Body (that title alone!), a (delicious) assault on your eardrums, though he goes much faster in Machine Invasion!

Two Decades: A Retrospective is an ideal compilation of (or even for some an introduction to) a versatile artist who left his mark on all fronts of the music scene!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

Het Franse Unknown Pleasure Records biedt naast een flinke dosis darkwave, ook heel wat beter danswerk. Oprichter Pedro heeft een grote voorliefde voor het elektroclashgenre en het stond dan ook bijna in de sterren geschreven dat ooit hij een compilatie van David Carretta zou uitbrengen. Deze artiest, die in de jaren 80 in Marseille begon, is niet alleen één van de vele technopioniers, hij is ook een beetje de peetvader van de elektroclash. Deze verzameling biedt een overzicht van zijn twintigjarige carrière. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden is Two Decades: A Retrospective een compilatie die een mooi overzicht biedt van 20 jaar David Carretta, een artiest die zowel werd beïnvloed door de discogoden (Giorgio Moroder) als EBM-kanjers (Front 242).

Op deze cd staan vijftien nummers en alhoewel ze allemaal voor de dansvloer bedoeld zijn, klinken ze zeer divers. Goodbye Honeymoon is een ideale opener, een rustige track die evengoed op een Klaus Schulze of een Tangerine Dream-plaat kon staan. Geen nood echter als je de nodige beats wil, want die krijg je meteen daarna op Cosmos 70. De vreemde effecten doen je dansen. Zelfs je huiskamer kan dienst doen als dansvloer. Station To Station is geen Bowie-cover, maar net zoals Kraftwerk brengt Carretta je met dezelfde beats van het ene station naar het andere. Escape From You klinkt wat donkerder en legt meteen bloot waar hedendaagse artiesten zoals Popsimonova door zijn beïnvloed.

Misschien is het titel, maar in Moskow Reise hoor je wat Neue Deutsche Welle en lijkt het wel alsof Carretta een spelletje speelt met Codo van DOF. Natuurlijk heeft Carretta ook heel wat nummers gemaakt die louter voor de dansvloer zijn bestemd, zo is Extreme Body (de titel alleen al!) een (heerlijke) aanval op je trommelvliezen, alhoewel hij in Machine Invasion nog een versnelling hoger gaat!

Two Decades: A Retrospective is een ideale compilatie van (of wellicht voor sommigen een kennismaking met) een veelzijdig artiest, die op allerlei fronten zijn stempel op de muziekscène heeft gedrukt!

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia
GOLDEN EARRING • Five Zero (Antwerpen, De Roma, 09/12/2015)
ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABRAXAS • Totem
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection