tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : MESH - Kill Your Darlings

MESH

Kill Your Darlings

MusicCD single

Dependent
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although I consider myself as a huge synthpop fan, I’m aware that this genre has too many copycats. Often bands sound as an inferior Depeche Mode; fortunately there are exceptions. Without doubt Mesh is the biggest one!

Since 1991, these Brits are at the top of the black scene. What first (oh irony!) was nothing more than a Depeche Mode copy, quickly became one of the best bands in the synthpop genre ever, and one with a very unique sound.

Three years ago, this foursome released the sublime CD Automation Baby. Now a new single is out: the harbringer of the brand new album Looking Skyward.

On this CD single you will find three versions of Kill Your Darlings (one is a remix of Aesthetic Perfection) and Paper Thin. Two songs that perfectly demonstrate what Mesh meant during decades.

Kill Your Darlings is a typical sing-along in pure Mesh style. Short and powerful, the essence of good (synth) pop. And then there's the brilliant Paper Thin with a moving Mark Hocking on vocals, everything perfectly supported by a song that’s full of melancholy.

No, although this release only has two new songs, you immediately notice that the band from Bristol has not forgotten its skill to be brilliant, and Looking Skyward surely will be one of the albums of 2016.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel ik mezelf als een grote synthpopfan beschouw, lijdt dit genre aan een overdaad van copycats. De meeste bands klinken inderdaad net iets te vaak als een inferieure Depeche Mode; gelukkig zijn er uitzonderingen. Mesh is daar zonder twijfel de grootste van!

Als sinds 1991 staan deze Britten aan de top van de zwarte scène. Wat eerst (oh ironie!) eigenlijk niet meer dan een doorslagje van Depeche Mode was, groeide vliegensvlug uit tot één van de beste bands in de synthpopstijl, en vooral eentje met een zeer eigen geluid.

Drie jaar geleden verscheen van dit viertal nog de sublieme Automation Baby, nu is er de nieuwe single die een voorloper is van Looking Skyward, het nieuwe album dat weldra in de winkelrekken ligt.

Je vindt op deze cd-single drie versies van Kill Your Darlings (eentje is een remix van Aesthetic Perfection) en Paper Thin. Twee songs die perfect aantonen wat Mesh decennia lang betekende.

Kill Your Darlings is een typische meezinger in pure Mesh-stijl. Kort en krachtig, de essentie van goede (synth)pop. En dan is er het briljante Paper Thin met een ontroerende Mark Hocking, alles perfect ondersteund door een song vol melancholie.

Neen, ofschoon dit zoethoudertje uiteindelijk maar twee nieuwe songs telt, merk je meteen dat de band uit Bristol het nog lang niet heeft verleerd en dat Looking Skyward wel eens één van de cd’s van 2016 zou kunnen worden. Eigenlijk zijn we daar nu al zeker van...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God