tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : MESH - Kill Your Darlings

MESH

Kill Your Darlings

MusicCD single

Dependent
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although I consider myself as a huge synthpop fan, I’m aware that this genre has too many copycats. Often bands sound as an inferior Depeche Mode; fortunately there are exceptions. Without doubt Mesh is the biggest one!

Since 1991, these Brits are at the top of the black scene. What first (oh irony!) was nothing more than a Depeche Mode copy, quickly became one of the best bands in the synthpop genre ever, and one with a very unique sound.

Three years ago, this foursome released the sublime CD Automation Baby. Now a new single is out: the harbringer of the brand new album Looking Skyward.

On this CD single you will find three versions of Kill Your Darlings (one is a remix of Aesthetic Perfection) and Paper Thin. Two songs that perfectly demonstrate what Mesh meant during decades.

Kill Your Darlings is a typical sing-along in pure Mesh style. Short and powerful, the essence of good (synth) pop. And then there's the brilliant Paper Thin with a moving Mark Hocking on vocals, everything perfectly supported by a song that’s full of melancholy.

No, although this release only has two new songs, you immediately notice that the band from Bristol has not forgotten its skill to be brilliant, and Looking Skyward surely will be one of the albums of 2016.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel ik mezelf als een grote synthpopfan beschouw, lijdt dit genre aan een overdaad van copycats. De meeste bands klinken inderdaad net iets te vaak als een inferieure Depeche Mode; gelukkig zijn er uitzonderingen. Mesh is daar zonder twijfel de grootste van!

Als sinds 1991 staan deze Britten aan de top van de zwarte scène. Wat eerst (oh ironie!) eigenlijk niet meer dan een doorslagje van Depeche Mode was, groeide vliegensvlug uit tot één van de beste bands in de synthpopstijl, en vooral eentje met een zeer eigen geluid.

Drie jaar geleden verscheen van dit viertal nog de sublieme Automation Baby, nu is er de nieuwe single die een voorloper is van Looking Skyward, het nieuwe album dat weldra in de winkelrekken ligt.

Je vindt op deze cd-single drie versies van Kill Your Darlings (eentje is een remix van Aesthetic Perfection) en Paper Thin. Twee songs die perfect aantonen wat Mesh decennia lang betekende.

Kill Your Darlings is een typische meezinger in pure Mesh-stijl. Kort en krachtig, de essentie van goede (synth)pop. En dan is er het briljante Paper Thin met een ontroerende Mark Hocking, alles perfect ondersteund door een song vol melancholie.

Neen, ofschoon dit zoethoudertje uiteindelijk maar twee nieuwe songs telt, merk je meteen dat de band uit Bristol het nog lang niet heeft verleerd en dat Looking Skyward wel eens één van de cd’s van 2016 zou kunnen worden. Eigenlijk zijn we daar nu al zeker van...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion