tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : MESH - Kill Your Darlings

MESH

Kill Your Darlings

MusicCD single

Dependent
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although I consider myself as a huge synthpop fan, I’m aware that this genre has too many copycats. Often bands sound as an inferior Depeche Mode; fortunately there are exceptions. Without doubt Mesh is the biggest one!

Since 1991, these Brits are at the top of the black scene. What first (oh irony!) was nothing more than a Depeche Mode copy, quickly became one of the best bands in the synthpop genre ever, and one with a very unique sound.

Three years ago, this foursome released the sublime CD Automation Baby. Now a new single is out: the harbringer of the brand new album Looking Skyward.

On this CD single you will find three versions of Kill Your Darlings (one is a remix of Aesthetic Perfection) and Paper Thin. Two songs that perfectly demonstrate what Mesh meant during decades.

Kill Your Darlings is a typical sing-along in pure Mesh style. Short and powerful, the essence of good (synth) pop. And then there's the brilliant Paper Thin with a moving Mark Hocking on vocals, everything perfectly supported by a song that’s full of melancholy.

No, although this release only has two new songs, you immediately notice that the band from Bristol has not forgotten its skill to be brilliant, and Looking Skyward surely will be one of the albums of 2016.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel ik mezelf als een grote synthpopfan beschouw, lijdt dit genre aan een overdaad van copycats. De meeste bands klinken inderdaad net iets te vaak als een inferieure Depeche Mode; gelukkig zijn er uitzonderingen. Mesh is daar zonder twijfel de grootste van!

Als sinds 1991 staan deze Britten aan de top van de zwarte scène. Wat eerst (oh ironie!) eigenlijk niet meer dan een doorslagje van Depeche Mode was, groeide vliegensvlug uit tot één van de beste bands in de synthpopstijl, en vooral eentje met een zeer eigen geluid.

Drie jaar geleden verscheen van dit viertal nog de sublieme Automation Baby, nu is er de nieuwe single die een voorloper is van Looking Skyward, het nieuwe album dat weldra in de winkelrekken ligt.

Je vindt op deze cd-single drie versies van Kill Your Darlings (eentje is een remix van Aesthetic Perfection) en Paper Thin. Twee songs die perfect aantonen wat Mesh decennia lang betekende.

Kill Your Darlings is een typische meezinger in pure Mesh-stijl. Kort en krachtig, de essentie van goede (synth)pop. En dan is er het briljante Paper Thin met een ontroerende Mark Hocking, alles perfect ondersteund door een song vol melancholie.

Neen, ofschoon dit zoethoudertje uiteindelijk maar twee nieuwe songs telt, merk je meteen dat de band uit Bristol het nog lang niet heeft verleerd en dat Looking Skyward wel eens één van de cd’s van 2016 zou kunnen worden. Eigenlijk zijn we daar nu al zeker van...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death