tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : MESH - Kill Your Darlings

MESH

Kill Your Darlings

MusicCD single

Dependent
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although I consider myself as a huge synthpop fan, I’m aware that this genre has too many copycats. Often bands sound as an inferior Depeche Mode; fortunately there are exceptions. Without doubt Mesh is the biggest one!

Since 1991, these Brits are at the top of the black scene. What first (oh irony!) was nothing more than a Depeche Mode copy, quickly became one of the best bands in the synthpop genre ever, and one with a very unique sound.

Three years ago, this foursome released the sublime CD Automation Baby. Now a new single is out: the harbringer of the brand new album Looking Skyward.

On this CD single you will find three versions of Kill Your Darlings (one is a remix of Aesthetic Perfection) and Paper Thin. Two songs that perfectly demonstrate what Mesh meant during decades.

Kill Your Darlings is a typical sing-along in pure Mesh style. Short and powerful, the essence of good (synth) pop. And then there's the brilliant Paper Thin with a moving Mark Hocking on vocals, everything perfectly supported by a song that’s full of melancholy.

No, although this release only has two new songs, you immediately notice that the band from Bristol has not forgotten its skill to be brilliant, and Looking Skyward surely will be one of the albums of 2016.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel ik mezelf als een grote synthpopfan beschouw, lijdt dit genre aan een overdaad van copycats. De meeste bands klinken inderdaad net iets te vaak als een inferieure Depeche Mode; gelukkig zijn er uitzonderingen. Mesh is daar zonder twijfel de grootste van!

Als sinds 1991 staan deze Britten aan de top van de zwarte scène. Wat eerst (oh ironie!) eigenlijk niet meer dan een doorslagje van Depeche Mode was, groeide vliegensvlug uit tot één van de beste bands in de synthpopstijl, en vooral eentje met een zeer eigen geluid.

Drie jaar geleden verscheen van dit viertal nog de sublieme Automation Baby, nu is er de nieuwe single die een voorloper is van Looking Skyward, het nieuwe album dat weldra in de winkelrekken ligt.

Je vindt op deze cd-single drie versies van Kill Your Darlings (eentje is een remix van Aesthetic Perfection) en Paper Thin. Twee songs die perfect aantonen wat Mesh decennia lang betekende.

Kill Your Darlings is een typische meezinger in pure Mesh-stijl. Kort en krachtig, de essentie van goede (synth)pop. En dan is er het briljante Paper Thin met een ontroerende Mark Hocking, alles perfect ondersteund door een song vol melancholie.

Neen, ofschoon dit zoethoudertje uiteindelijk maar twee nieuwe songs telt, merk je meteen dat de band uit Bristol het nog lang niet heeft verleerd en dat Looking Skyward wel eens één van de cd’s van 2016 zou kunnen worden. Eigenlijk zijn we daar nu al zeker van...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide