tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

10/12/2016 : MESH - Kill Your Darlings

MESH

Kill Your Darlings

MusicCD single

Dependent
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Although I consider myself as a huge synthpop fan, I’m aware that this genre has too many copycats. Often bands sound as an inferior Depeche Mode; fortunately there are exceptions. Without doubt Mesh is the biggest one!

Since 1991, these Brits are at the top of the black scene. What first (oh irony!) was nothing more than a Depeche Mode copy, quickly became one of the best bands in the synthpop genre ever, and one with a very unique sound.

Three years ago, this foursome released the sublime CD Automation Baby. Now a new single is out: the harbringer of the brand new album Looking Skyward.

On this CD single you will find three versions of Kill Your Darlings (one is a remix of Aesthetic Perfection) and Paper Thin. Two songs that perfectly demonstrate what Mesh meant during decades.

Kill Your Darlings is a typical sing-along in pure Mesh style. Short and powerful, the essence of good (synth) pop. And then there's the brilliant Paper Thin with a moving Mark Hocking on vocals, everything perfectly supported by a song that’s full of melancholy.

No, although this release only has two new songs, you immediately notice that the band from Bristol has not forgotten its skill to be brilliant, and Looking Skyward surely will be one of the albums of 2016.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Hoewel ik mezelf als een grote synthpopfan beschouw, lijdt dit genre aan een overdaad van copycats. De meeste bands klinken inderdaad net iets te vaak als een inferieure Depeche Mode; gelukkig zijn er uitzonderingen. Mesh is daar zonder twijfel de grootste van!

Als sinds 1991 staan deze Britten aan de top van de zwarte scène. Wat eerst (oh ironie!) eigenlijk niet meer dan een doorslagje van Depeche Mode was, groeide vliegensvlug uit tot één van de beste bands in de synthpopstijl, en vooral eentje met een zeer eigen geluid.

Drie jaar geleden verscheen van dit viertal nog de sublieme Automation Baby, nu is er de nieuwe single die een voorloper is van Looking Skyward, het nieuwe album dat weldra in de winkelrekken ligt.

Je vindt op deze cd-single drie versies van Kill Your Darlings (eentje is een remix van Aesthetic Perfection) en Paper Thin. Twee songs die perfect aantonen wat Mesh decennia lang betekende.

Kill Your Darlings is een typische meezinger in pure Mesh-stijl. Kort en krachtig, de essentie van goede (synth)pop. En dan is er het briljante Paper Thin met een ontroerende Mark Hocking, alles perfect ondersteund door een song vol melancholie.

Neen, ofschoon dit zoethoudertje uiteindelijk maar twee nieuwe songs telt, merk je meteen dat de band uit Bristol het nog lang niet heeft verleerd en dat Looking Skyward wel eens één van de cd’s van 2016 zou kunnen worden. Eigenlijk zijn we daar nu al zeker van...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom