tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/02/2012 : APRIL - Sunderlands

APRIL

Sunderlands

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalRock

[85/100]   
19/02/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

April presents "Sunderlands", a real beauty! The magical duo from France: JiBé (man) and Flora (women) are from the start of this cd a major hit. The opener 'Breaking Bones' presents what Nine Inch Nails could present nowadays with vocals. Love the piano and the voices, coming to a first climax and yet reminding me - once it fully breaks open - of the best work from HIM (even with metal worked out drums). You instantly get sucked into the story of Alex, a man in a coma as a result of a car crash. The mix between English and French is nice and doesn't annoy at all.

The second song 'Tess' reveries' is a good example. They claim The Gathering as being one of their influences, but to be honest: this is better than what The Gathering and Anathema did when they worked together on Anathema's last cd (this is what it should have been). A great lovesong that must be played on the radio is 'One Hundred Years With You'. The titletrack 'Sunderlands' is really what The Gathering could bring nowadays, in an improved version. JiBé proves in 'Dans Ce Monde Ou Dans L'autre' that he has a warm voice that can make you melt and crush (the haunting backings from Flora makes it go deeper, just as the violin and the piano). 'Enjoy The Ride' is a powerful tearjerker and perfect as last song at a funeral party or cremation. 'Frame By Frame' presents the more agressive side, the pain, the anger.

JiBé brings in his metal roots and again makes me think of Anathema on 'Judgement'. Followed by 'Goodbye Earth', a heavy metal duet, followed by the magistral love duet 'Un Jour Pour Te Dire'. 'Alex' ends the story without words and is for me the only song you can cut out of this work of art (however it could have been taken out from the score of 'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo'). I really believe in the story and feel the energy, the drive, the love and sadness. It's a remarkable score! Yes, you can count me in from today as a fan and i hope you too?

As they have no record company, please visit their site.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
19/02/2012


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion