tempobet yeni adresi

07/03/2012 : JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS - Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012

JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS

Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectronicsNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   
07/03/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Stadsfeestzaal, Aarschot

25th February 2012

John Foxx, pioneer of electronic music (synth-pop/new-wave) first with Ultravox (1977-1979) and then solo, had to cancel his performance at the Sinner's Day festival in Hasselt in October. But every cloud has a silver lining: he has come to Aarschot for a full gig on his own, free for anyone at Sinner's Day (a great initiative!). So there are more than 1,000 people tonight in the "Stadsfeestzaal", a sign of the workings of a powerful new-wave revival.

The support is assured by De Brassers, a band from Limburg who had some success in the early '80s with a music very much inspired by Joy Division. Playing "at home", the band managed to captivate the audience with their slow, dark postpunk songs. But everybody was clearly waiting for the headliners: John Foxx And The Maths.

Throughout this concert, we were rocked by warm, analog music, shaped by "vintage" ARP, Moog and Korg synthesizers. John is accompanied by his new sidekick, Ben "Benge" Edwards, the "wizard of synths", but also by two young female singers/multi-instrumentalists and artists in their own right: Serafina Steer, and Hannah Peel whom we know from Les Nuits Botaniques - she opend for Lisa Germano in May - who makes a stunning impression with her long auburn hair and haunting violin sounds.

Standing behind the keyboard that allows him to control his polyphonic vocoder, John Foxx is focussed and full of a strong energy. His voice is clear and powerful and he has no difficulty in reproducing even the highest notes. Behind him, "Benge" Edwards plays very little synth, which is a shame, but strikes with conviction on a Simmons drum-kit from the 80s. A video backdrop adds to the scene.

The set list is mainly drawn from "Metamatic", John's 1980 masterpiece, but also from "Systems Of Romance", Ultravox's third album, which contains the first synth-pop/new-wave song of rock history: "Hiroshima Mon Amour". The live interpretation of this song is perfect and touching. But when the band plays the songs from the "Interplay", released last year, we measure how modern and rooted in the present John's music is. "Shatterproof" has clear EBM, even techno overtones and "Catwalk" is pure dance track..

John Foxx closes his set with the romantic "Just A Moment", a song to which Ultravox's famous "Vienna" owes much, to put it mildly. The band retires and returns for "The Good Shadow," a ballad from the latest CD and, finally, the piece that most of us were expecting: the sublime "Underpass" (check the live videos below). The famous synth riff resonates powerfully in the venue and the public, captured, is ecstatic. A clear highlight for a gig that held true to all its promises.

Click here to read or listen to the full interview with John Foxx and Ben "Benge" Edwards before the concert.

Set list: 1 - Shatterproof, 2 - He's A Liquid; 3 - No One Driving, 4 - Running Man, 5 - The Shadow Of My Former Self; 6 - Hiroshima Mon Amour; 7 - A New Kind Of Man; 8 - Dislocation; 9 - Interplay; 10 - Catwalk; 11 - Summerland, 12 - Just A Moment, Encore: 13 - The Good Shadow, 14 - Underpass.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
07/03/2012

"Underpass"

"Catwalk"

"Hiroshima Mon Amour"


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista

 

Other reviews from JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Machine
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay

 

Same genre: DARK POP
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading