tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/03/2012 : JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS - Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012

JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS

Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012

Concert
Dark PopElectronicsNew waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   
07/03/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Stadsfeestzaal, Aarschot

25th February 2012

John Foxx, pioneer of electronic music (synth-pop/new-wave) first with Ultravox (1977-1979) and then solo, had to cancel his performance at the Sinner's Day festival in Hasselt in October. But every cloud has a silver lining: he has come to Aarschot for a full gig on his own, free for anyone at Sinner's Day (a great initiative!). So there are more than 1,000 people tonight in the "Stadsfeestzaal", a sign of the workings of a powerful new-wave revival.

The support is assured by De Brassers, a band from Limburg who had some success in the early '80s with a music very much inspired by Joy Division. Playing "at home", the band managed to captivate the audience with their slow, dark postpunk songs. But everybody was clearly waiting for the headliners: John Foxx And The Maths.

Throughout this concert, we were rocked by warm, analog music, shaped by "vintage" ARP, Moog and Korg synthesizers. John is accompanied by his new sidekick, Ben "Benge" Edwards, the "wizard of synths", but also by two young female singers/multi-instrumentalists and artists in their own right: Serafina Steer, and Hannah Peel whom we know from Les Nuits Botaniques - she opend for Lisa Germano in May - who makes a stunning impression with her long auburn hair and haunting violin sounds.

Standing behind the keyboard that allows him to control his polyphonic vocoder, John Foxx is focussed and full of a strong energy. His voice is clear and powerful and he has no difficulty in reproducing even the highest notes. Behind him, "Benge" Edwards plays very little synth, which is a shame, but strikes with conviction on a Simmons drum-kit from the 80s. A video backdrop adds to the scene.

The set list is mainly drawn from "Metamatic", John's 1980 masterpiece, but also from "Systems Of Romance", Ultravox's third album, which contains the first synth-pop/new-wave song of rock history: "Hiroshima Mon Amour". The live interpretation of this song is perfect and touching. But when the band plays the songs from the "Interplay", released last year, we measure how modern and rooted in the present John's music is. "Shatterproof" has clear EBM, even techno overtones and "Catwalk" is pure dance track..

John Foxx closes his set with the romantic "Just A Moment", a song to which Ultravox's famous "Vienna" owes much, to put it mildly. The band retires and returns for "The Good Shadow," a ballad from the latest CD and, finally, the piece that most of us were expecting: the sublime "Underpass" (check the live videos below). The famous synth riff resonates powerfully in the venue and the public, captured, is ecstatic. A clear highlight for a gig that held true to all its promises.

Click here to read or listen to the full interview with John Foxx and Ben "Benge" Edwards before the concert.

Set list: 1 - Shatterproof, 2 - He's A Liquid; 3 - No One Driving, 4 - Running Man, 5 - The Shadow Of My Former Self; 6 - Hiroshima Mon Amour; 7 - A New Kind Of Man; 8 - Dislocation; 9 - Interplay; 10 - Catwalk; 11 - Summerland, 12 - Just A Moment, Encore: 13 - The Good Shadow, 14 - Underpass.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
07/03/2012

"Underpass"

"Catwalk"

"Hiroshima Mon Amour"


 

Next reviews
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista

 

Other reviews from JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Machine
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You