tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/03/2012 : JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS - The Shape Of Things

JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS

The Shape Of Things

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark PopElectronicsExperimentalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   
29/03/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

One year after the CD "Interplay", which marked John Foxx's successful return to synth-pop, "The Shape Of Things" seems to be a perfect continuation, as if both albums were part of a diptych. The cover design is in the same style, also a creation by typography demi-god Jonathan Barnbrook. We find here again Foxx' signature of vintage synth sounds, soulful vocoder-enhanced vocals and magnificent atmospheres. Here again, Ben 'Benje' Edwards plays the role of the synth wizard and soundscape architect. Far from being nostalgic, John and Benje consider those vintage analog sounds as the future, the "post-digital" era.

First of all, you get beautiful worked-on tracks like "September Town", "Vapor Trails" and "The Shadow Of His Former Self", the three dominating tracks of the album. But besides, there is also an important experimental side here with tracks that are reminiscent of Foxx's more introspective period, especially "Invisible Ray", that sounds like "Cathedral Oceans" and other tracks that show new developments for the future. "Falling Away" shows again John's interest in the Beatles of the period "Tomorrow Never Knows". The last track, "Where You End And I Begin", features Tara Busch on vocals, an American artist close to Johan and Benje. The other members of the 'Foxx gang' also collaborated on the album, especially Hannah Peel (her violin melodies in "The Shadow") and Serafina Steer. In a nutshell, an album that looks a bit like the little brother of "Interplay" but also sets a new brilliant milestone in the career of this unique artist.
 

Listen to "The Shadow Of His Former Self" here.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
29/03/2012


 

Next reviews
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought
THE OUTSIDERS • Calling On Youth
FRONT242 • At Coliseum in Charleroi with Texas Trauma and Fouck Brothers
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Clubbers die younger
RABIA SORDA • The Art Of Killing Silence
THE FALL • Ersatz GB
HUSSEY/REGAN • Hussey/Regan
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

 

Other reviews from JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Machine
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)