tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/03/2012 : THE OUTSIDERS - Close Up

THE OUTSIDERS

Close Up

MusicCD
Punk

[86/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/03/2012, Didier BECU

After hearing the 2nd album by Wimbledon's finest, I didn't know if I should cry or laugh. I mean, The Outsiders are known by a handful of die-hard Adrian Borland fans who know the band as "the one that was before The Sound", but it is so much more.
With a little bit of luck they could have been one of the punk bands that mattered, if only people gave them a proper chance. It seems like "luck" is the keyword throughout Borlands career, as all in all, The Sound have dedicated devotees but they never got the recognition they deserved. Same can be said about Adrian's solo career as he recorded one of the most heartbreaking tunes ever, but they were just seen as "those songs by that bloke from The Sound".
Well, Borland fans know better, of course, but in a decent world it should have been different and that's exactly how I felt about the 2nd album by The Outsiders.
It's not exactly the same as the previous one, "Calling On Youth" as not only did it sound a bit more polished (in a positive way), it had a more punky feel, but you heard the urge of a young man who was making his own stamp on music history. That first stamp of course was "Jeopardy", that classic debut by The Sound and if you listen very carefully you can even hear some riffs on "Close Up" which later would have been reinvented on "Jeopardy".
So yes, children, this is a classic punk album and it might come out of the mouth of a person who sees Borland as his ultimate hero, but even if he wasn't I'd still say; classy punk this one!

Didier BECU
29/03/2012


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)