tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/03/2012 : THE OUTSIDERS - Close Up

THE OUTSIDERS

Close Up

MusicCD
Punk

[86/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/03/2012, Didier BECU

After hearing the 2nd album by Wimbledon's finest, I didn't know if I should cry or laugh. I mean, The Outsiders are known by a handful of die-hard Adrian Borland fans who know the band as "the one that was before The Sound", but it is so much more.
With a little bit of luck they could have been one of the punk bands that mattered, if only people gave them a proper chance. It seems like "luck" is the keyword throughout Borlands career, as all in all, The Sound have dedicated devotees but they never got the recognition they deserved. Same can be said about Adrian's solo career as he recorded one of the most heartbreaking tunes ever, but they were just seen as "those songs by that bloke from The Sound".
Well, Borland fans know better, of course, but in a decent world it should have been different and that's exactly how I felt about the 2nd album by The Outsiders.
It's not exactly the same as the previous one, "Calling On Youth" as not only did it sound a bit more polished (in a positive way), it had a more punky feel, but you heard the urge of a young man who was making his own stamp on music history. That first stamp of course was "Jeopardy", that classic debut by The Sound and if you listen very carefully you can even hear some riffs on "Close Up" which later would have been reinvented on "Jeopardy".
So yes, children, this is a classic punk album and it might come out of the mouth of a person who sees Borland as his ultimate hero, but even if he wasn't I'd still say; classy punk this one!

Didier BECU
29/03/2012


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)