tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THE WEYERS - Beep Beep Beep

THE WEYERS

Beep Beep Beep

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockFunrockPost Punk

[80/100]   

Odyssey Music Network
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Switzerland has more to offer than cheese, mountains and banks. The two brothers of The Weyers are a good example as they make rock with some post-punk and wave influences. They describe their music as desert rock from the mountains. The Weyers sounds like some mixture of The B 52's and The Presidents of the USA.

On stage they are a duo: guitar, vocals and drum complemented with music on tape. In 2014 their debut album Within was released; followed in 2015 by this EP which includes six songs, produced by Roli Mosimann (ex- Swans). The EP starts with the title song Beep Beep Beep and sounds as you would expect: funny guitars which reminds us of Radio 4.

A Show To Die For floats on a nice bass and vocals. Rock ‘n Roll (did save his live) has a higher pace and a catchy chorus. Mean My Mind sounds more melancholic. The Changeling is a cover of The Doors. A real challenge, if you ask me. But the classic gets a Weyers-treatment: not those typical organs, but straight guitars and vocals. Wires has some blues rock elements which make it sound more serious.

The Weyers is rock ‘n roll, fun and energy. Not innovative, but contagious.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Zwitserland heeft meer te bieden dan Gruyèrekaas, bergen en banken. De twee broers van The Weyers zijn daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Ze maken rock met wat postpunk- en wave-invloeden. Zelf noemen ze het woestijnrock uit de bergen.

Hoe je het ook noemt, muzikaal zijn ze het kruispunt tussen The B 52’s en The Presidents Of The USA, met dezelfde branie en knipogen. Live zijn ze met twee: gitaar, zang en drum, ondersteund door nog wat muziek op tape.

In 2014 kwam hun debuut Within uit en verleden jaar deze EP met daarop zes songs, geproduceerd door Roli Mosimann (ex-Swans). De ep start met de titelsong Beep Beep Beep en klinkt zoals je het misschien al kan raden: speels en met gitaarwerk dat wat aan Radio 4 doet denken.

A Show To Die For drijft op leuke bastonen en samenzang. Rock’n’Roll (did save his live) trekt het tempo op en heeft een catchy refrein. My Mean Mind klinkt eerder melancholisch en is een sterke song. The Changeling is een cover van The Doors. Dat is durven, moet ik zeggen, maar het is een geslaagde adaptatie. Ze hebben er eigen gezicht aan gegeven: dus geen typische orgels, maar effectief gitaarwerk. Wires heeft wat bluesrockelementen waardoor het geheel iets ernstiger klinkt.

The Weyers stralen rock ‘n rolll, plezier en energie uit. Niet vernieuwend, wel aanstekelijk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design