tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

14/10/2019 : MOONLIGHT MEADOW - Moonlight Meadow

MOONLIGHT MEADOW

Moonlight Meadow

MusicCD / Digital
Cold WavePost Punk

[89/100]   

Wave Records
14/10/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

You can get goosebumps from cold weather. From emotions. From scare. But also from adoration, and that's what happened when I listened to the debut album of the Polish band Moonlight Meadow, which was founded in 2015. The band is composed of Maciej Miroński (guitar, vocals), Jakub Kozłowski (bass) and Damian Stec (drums). Moonlight Meadow signed with Wave Records in early summer 2019. Masterful dark coldwave with a touch of postpunk.

"Old wine in new barrels?" you might think. Why not. And why could it not be? And what makes it stick to your ribs? Well: it's dark, painfully slow, mysterious and it creates an atmosphere that reminds me of the good old days (as if they were over? not!). Let this be the beginning of much more, please!?

This is absolutely great coldwave. The opening song Temptation has a lovely bass line and sophisticated guitar parts. The vocals are definitely a great added value. The voice is neither grand nor superior nor majestic. What then: the perfect match to enhance their nice music. It is wine with a very nice long aftertaste. Not old but new wine...
The songs sound similar, but some of them excel in depth... Like Empty Waters which has a very hypnotic effect and a mysterious atmosphere. Distant Memories is likewise an onyx that sparkles and shines. And it has the same effect as the gem itself: grounding...because you are close to the place where you will disappear to once again: 1.6 meters underground between 6 boards.

City Of Nights sounds a bit more poppy, but with a very dark focus. The same goes for the titlesong Moonlight Meadow, which sounds a bit more streamlined but still fascinates.

Dance invites you to shuffle on a dark foggy dancefloor, where you want to stay forever, even if your body and mind are not working properly anymore. Whatever... You can grab those four minutes away from reality.

Whatever, this debut is one to charish. The threesome has listened closely to the greats in this genre and has chosen to take the right elements and do their thing. In order to deliver such a great, musically strong debut you do need to know what you are doing. 11 Great songs, a few real stars, but in total more that strong.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/10/2019


NL

Kippenvel kan je krijgen van de koude. Van de emoties. Van het schrikken. Van adoratie ook, en dat is wat gebeurde bij het beluisteren van de debuutplaat van de Poolse band Moonlight Meadow, die in 2015 werd opgericht. Maciej Miroński hanteert de gitaar en verzorgt de zang, Jakub Kozłowski op bass en Damian Stec op drums. Op Wave Records verscheen begin zomer 2019 Moonlight Meadow. Magistraal donkere coldwave met een toets van postpunk.

“Oude wijn in nieuwe vaten?”, denk je misschien. Dat kan. En waarom zou dat niet mogen? En wat maakt dan dat deze zo aan de ribben blijft kleven? Wel: omdat het donker is, tergend traag, mysterieus, een sfeer creëert die doet mijmeren over the good old days (alsof die over zouden zijn? Not!). Laat dit het begin zijn van veel méér, please!?

Dit is echt geweldige coldwave. Het openingsnummer Temptation laat zich meevoeren op een zalige bass en verfijnd aandoend gitaarspel. Het vocale geeft zeker een geweldige meerwaarde. De stem is niet groots of superieur noch magistraal. Wat dan wel: de perfecte match om het fijne muzikale te versterken. Dit is wijn met een heel fijne, lang in de mond blijvende afdronk. Met andere woorden: een aantal klassen hoger dan doorsnee. En dan nog geen oude, maar niéuwe wijn…
De nummers zijn gelijkend, maar een aantal blinken voor mij persoonlijk echt wel uit in diepte.. Zoals Empty Waters, welk een heel hypnotiserend effect heeft. Een heel mysterieuze sfeer hangt in wolken nevel rond deze song. Distant Memories is evenzeer een gitzwarte onyx die schittert en schijnt. Én dan nog dezelfde werking heeft als de edelsteen zelf: aarden.. want je bent heel dichtbij die plaats waar je ooit terug in zult verdwijnen: 1.6 meter onder de grond tussen 6 planken.

City Of Nights is dan iets meer poppy klinkend, maar met een heel donkere zoom dan wel. Zo ook de titelsong Moonlight Meadow. Het klinkt wat meer gestroomlijnd, maar wat dan nog. Het blijft boeien.

Zalige verwijlen is het ook bij Dance. Het nodigt ook uit tot schuifelend voortschrijden over een in mist versierde donkere dansvloer. Waar je eindeloos wil toeven, ook al zijn lichaam en geest niet meer zo scherp. Whatever… Deze vier minuten weg van de realiteit mogen er zijn.

Hoe dan ook, dit debuut is er één om de vingers bij af te likken. Het drietal heeft goed geluisterd naar de groten in het genre en koos ervoor om er de juiste elementen uit te pikken en er hun ding mee te doen. Als je er in slaagt een meeslepend, muzikaal sterk debuut als dit af te leveren, dan moet je wel weten waar je mee bezig bent. 11 goede songs, een paar echte uitschieters, maar in zijn geheel meer dan sterk.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
14/10/2019


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque