tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/05/2015 : POPUL VUH - Kailash

POPUL VUH

Kailash

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Soul Jazz Records
11/05/2015, Paul PLEDGER

The late-departed frontman of Popol Vuh might have been disregarded as a dream-state hippy by some but Florian Fricke's stylised instrumental work really does, respectfully-speaking, have its head-in-the-clouds.

Inspired by Fricke's spiritual voyage to the Tibetan mountains, Kailash pulls together some frankly gorgeous blissed-out piano works, some unreleased improv work discovered by the Fricke estate and the soundtrack to the film of his own personal pilgrimage to the Tibetan roof of the world, the Throne of the Gods.

Close your eyes and you too can be transported to the 22,000ft Kailash mountain, a formidable spiritual behemoth of stone in the Transhimalayan outcrop with a 30-mile long path traversing it. The documentary follows the journey of its makers Fricke and co-founder of Popol Vuh Frank Fiedler and visualises what both experienced during their fulfilling ascendency many years ago.

The CDs are split into Piano Recordings, which incorporates three-piece suite Spirit Of Peace plus various attractive ambient improvisations that recall Cornelius Cardew, Wim Mertens or the more recent works by Nils Frahm, plus the Kailash soundtrack which is a far more rewarding prospect. Fricke's admiration of religious ethnic music was no secret but availability of his compositions has previously been rather scant. On Kailash, he captures the serenity and isolation of the landscape around them, fusing found sound with traditional wind instruments, voice and blissed-out keyboards. Last Village isn't far removed from David Sylvian's solo instrumental work, or Aphex Twin's SAW series, while Valley Of Gods and Buddha's Footprint hint at Bill Nelson, Brian Eno, Dead Can Dance or Edgar Froese.

Popol Vuh's influence across musical spectrums is often under-rated and over looked with preference often given to Tangerine Dream, Eno & Cluster and Kraftwerk. However without them, Germany's so-called Krautrock scene might well have appeared far less three-dimensional. Fricke's contribution remains priceless with Kailash a fitting legacy.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
11/05/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
SCHATTENMANN
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
CHROM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
QANTAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
AMBASSADOR 21
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles