tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

28/05/2015 : ISOLATION/DIVISION - 7th Magpie

ISOLATION/DIVISION

7th Magpie

MusicCD (EP)
DreampopPost PunkShoegaze

[79/100]   

Self-released
28/05/2015, Benny CALUWE

Isolation/Division was the solo project of Mat Thorpe. In 2011 the debut album Sotto Voce was released to favourable reviews. In 2013 Mat found the right musicians to realise the sound of Sotto Voce in a live environment. Drummer Steve Drowbridge and Natasha Donald (guitar/vocals), who also play together with Mat Thorpe in Distorted Pictures, joined the project. So did bass player Warren Pasquill. Through 2014 the quartet began writing new tracks together and so the mini album 7th Magpie came into being. It was released at the end of 2014 and contains 6 songs and a ghost track. Go to the bandcamp site and sit down for a nice 30 minutes break.

Opening track Shadows with its memorable chorus, starts with sparkling guitars that remind me of The Mission. Other bands that come to mind while listening to Isolation/Division are The Chameleons, The Church and Echo & The Bunnymen.

Star of the Sea takes us on a dreamlike journey. Hold sounds gloomier and so do the lyrics. The bittersweet Xmyheart is followed by the excellent Secret Sister (check out the video below). The final track 7th Minor is nicely atmospheric. Musically it would fit perfectly in The Cure's Dissintegration, with its similar melancholic and slightly psychedellic atmosphere.

I like Natasha's voice, it's a great addition, allowing the band to alternate vocal lines or choose for dual singing and play layered guitar lines.

7th Magpie is recommanded for folks who are fond of poppy, dreamy guitar wave. The band announced that through 2015 they will be working on the next full length album. My expectations are high.

Benny CALUWE
28/05/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination