tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/08/2012 : CRUISE [CTRL] - …Are Not What They Seem

CRUISE [CTRL]

…Are Not What They Seem

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialNoise

[85/100]   
28/08/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

CRUISE [CTRL], the duo based in Belgium, is a sort of UFO in the music scene. The first two albums of John and Gore, "I Heard It!" in 2008 and "How’s Annie?" in 2010, were at the frontier between mainstream techno/trance and minimal darkwave electronica. All tracks had to follow clear prerequisites: a 120 beats per minutes rythm and exclusively analog instruments. With this new album, "…Are Not What They Seem", which is due to be released in September 2012 on the Americal label Signifier, they are evolving towards a more drone, industrial oriented electronica, while keeping the same minimalistic approach.

The most striking change is the absence of their quintessential linear 4/4 techno/EBM beats, which are replaced by broken drums patterns and alternating beats. These patterns had already been used on a few tracks before, like, eg, on "Memory Of A Head" in 2007 but here, they have completely replaced the 4/4 techno beats, which means that the tracks are less danceable but on the other hand they have more tension. Like on the two other albums, the lead synth sounds are heavily transformed by all sorts of effects and the atmosphere is utterly hypnotic, even claustrophobic. What is new here, is the much stronger industrial tone, with noises that evoke machines.

The albums starts slowly with "Letters under nails", a drone-ambient track reminiscent of The Soft Moon and Suicide. "A man’s attitude goes someway the way his life will be" has more rythm; an analog synth bass provides a pounding repetitive riff on which you hear nice noise progressions. "P 2 8 9 14 29" features one leading repetitive note on which deafening droning noises echo one another. "In the heart of a circle of 12 sycamores", leads you one step further in the industrial nightmare with distorted sounds of circular saws, which remind us of Einstürzende Neubauten, but also of Militia. After "Animal Kit", which is in the same style as the previous tracks, the band proposes a track with no rythm, "Last motion of the yellow man": it is a cinematic soundscape with swirling overlapping noises. It allows you to rest a bit before the two last tracks, which both feature a guest vocalist. On "Billy’s problem", Sigma, the former (female) singer of Komplex, talks more than she sings, a bit like Anne Clark. The last track features Dirk Ivens and is clearly the most ambitious track on the album. A pounding drum pattern, combined with a huge synth bass riff and droning industrial sounds provide the ideal background for Dirk's distorted vocals and here, of course, we think of Klinik/Dive but also Vomito Negro and Suicide Commando (first period). Impressive song, that is bound to become a club killer, especially if the band releases a remix!

To sum up, on this new album, Cruise [CTRL] provides again unapologetic sounds intended to blast apart genre barriers. Their new rhythm structure marks an evolution away from danseable techno/EBM towards a subtle industrial noisy electronica. Let's hope it will allow them to finally get the success they deserve so much!

Tracklist
1. Letters under nails
2. A man’s attitude goes someway the way his life will be
3. P 2 8 9 14 29
4. In the heart of a circle of 12 sycamores
5. Animal kit
6. Last motion of the yellow man
7. Billy’s problem (feat. Sigma)
8. (In hell) Everything is fine (feat. Dirk Ivens)

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
28/08/2012


 

Next reviews
PROMONIUM JESTERS • EP 2010
IN MY DREAMS • XII Reasons To Remember
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
• The Human Centipede II
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures
MARILLION • Best.Live
• Review of the Amphi festival 2012 in Cologne (Day TWO)
A RAINY DAY IN BERGEN • A Rainy day in Bergen
ELANDOR • Dark Asylum
PARANOID ANDROID • No Way Out

 

Other reviews from CRUISE [CTRL]
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL + NOISE
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
DEFRAG • Drown
SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM • Lahar

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules