tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/08/2012 : MARILLION - Best.Live

MARILLION

Best.Live

MusicCD
Prog

[80/100]   
15/08/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Marillion are a British rock band, formed in Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, England, in 1979. The name "Marillion" is inspired by the "Silmarillion collection" from J. R. R. Tolkien. The band's recorded studio output since 1982 is composed of sixteen albums generally regarded in two distinct eras, delineated by the departure of original frontman Fish in late 1988, and the subsequent arrival of Steve Hogarth in early 1989. All four albums released with Fish were commercial successes, and the band released eleven Top 40 hits on the UK Singles Chart, including 1985's "Kayleigh", which reached No. 2 and became their biggest hit single. The "Hogarth avatar" did not collect the same success but managed to maintain and develop a strong and loyal following, especially via Internet and social networks. In total, Marillion have sold more than 14 million records!

This new double CD "Best.Live" is a collection of 20 songs recorded live between 2003 and 2011. Only three songs are taken from the "Fish avatar", from the album "Clutching At Straws" (1987), and you can hear from the audience's reaction that this period is still dear to the fans' hearts. Apart from this, most of the songs are taken from "Afraid Of Sunlight" (1995) and "Marbles" (2004). In comparison with Fish, Steve Hogarth has brought more emotion, more sensitivity and a more intimist, even pop-oriented music. The songs are less bombastic, less extravagant than with Fish and are much more reminiscent of Radiohead, Razorlight or Waterboys than of Genesis, Porcupine Tree and the other "prog" bands. Some songs, like "Neverland" or "The Invisible Man" develop into true masterpieces of 15 minutes, exploding in Steve's screams and in brilliant guitar solo's (much in David Gilmour's style). It's mainly on stage that this band gets its full dimension, creating a real communion with its fans. In a nutshell, this double CD is a nice introduction to the second part of the band's career and icing on the cake, it comes with a very nice booklet!

If you want to see the band on stage, they will play at the Splendid in Lille in on Thursday 15 November.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
15/08/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel