tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM - Lahar

SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM

Lahar

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialNoise

[93/100]   

Connexion Bizarre
31/08/2011, Ruben DE SOMER

Sylvgheist maelstrom’s Lahar is an excellent release which has been in creation for more than 10 years. This debut album is an evocation of the 1980 Saint Helen volcanic eruption, this was repeated two years later. The project of Julien Sylvgheist aka Sylmalm, Sylvgheist Maelstrom creates lengthy electro-noise constructions from an array of synts and other electronic sources and samples. A lahar (English pronunciation: /ˈlɑːhɑr/) is a type of mudflow or debris flow composed of a slurry of pyroclastic material, rocky debris, and water. The material flows down from a volcano, typically along a river valley. The term is a shortened version of "berlahar" which originated in the Javanese language of Indonesia.*

However when you look at the track listing several other natural disasters have been used as sources of inspiration, most of these related to seismic activity. The CD starts with the opener 'Pompei' followed by 'Katrina', 'Lahar Mont Saint Helens', 'Lisbonne', 'Xynthia', 'Lothar', 'Eyjafjöll Chicxulub' and 'Kobe'. Even the 'Tougouska' disaster site is used for one of the titles on the CD, the later was probably a meteor but many say it was alien vessel crashing it’s way into our atmosphere. Oddly enough, this is also the most outlandish track, mind sweeping drum and base inspired vibes. Another track 'Lahar Mont Saint Helens' sounds like a muffled stream of sounds splashing their way through the listeners ear, an auditive 'Lahar' experience.Thus one could say this is a real disaster CD.

However despite the dreadfull titles, this CD is far from dreadful, it is one of the finest releases I have heard in years. Most of the time CD’s which take that long to make are either over the top or some are excellent, like this one. Despite the fact that the average length of a track is more than 7 minutes, it never bores. The easiest description on the level of a genre would be Electro/Power/Noise/Industrial. If you want to know which artists inspired or have in some way contributed to what it sounds like, I can only say listen to your Ant-Zen releases and related artists like Empusae, Tzolk’in , Flint Glass , Dither, le Diktat and much more. Lovely digipack, well illustrated with some information in the booklet.

On top of it all it was mastered by Belgian industrial legend Herman Klapholz (Ah-kama-zotz)
 

*Information from Wikipedia

Ruben DE SOMER
31/08/2011


 

Next reviews
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Emotion15
HATEMAGICK • Temple Of The Vampire
NADJA & TROUM • Dominium Visurgis
@C • Homem Fantasma
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
LOS VIGILANTES • Los Vigilantes
BICHROM • Zeit-raum EP
VISION TALK • Distances
VENUS FLY TRAP • Nemesis
VOIDWORK • Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

 

Other reviews from SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM
SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM • Pripyat

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS