tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : AEON SABLE - Hypaerion

AEON SABLE

Hypaerion

MusicCD
Gothic RockMetal

[84/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Except a few quality bands such as Merciful Nuns and Angels Of Liberty, the gothic rock genre suffers from anemia (in my opinion). The mentioned bands stand out above the rest. The are plenty of The Sisters Of Mercy clones, but recent gothick rock bands that succeed in captivating me are rather rare. Aeon Sable is one of these rare bands. In the music of the Essen based band you hear influence of The Sisters Of Mercy and The Fields Of The Nephilim as well, but by binding them with other influences, they come to a compelling result.

I still remember my first acquaintance with Aeon Sable. On the road to a Bodybeats event somewhere in 2014, a friend of mine played his copy of Visionaers in the car. After a nice opening track (... Dawn Of An Era), with a terrific bass line as the binding factor and female guest vocals that provided the track with a mysterious touch, Visions followed, a true dark rock hymn that struck me immediately, and still, after all this time, it makes me feel euphoric and excited. A very strong opening of a strong album. Star Casualties was another song with a fantastic vibe.

When reviewing Visionaers, I called it a relieve to finally have discovered a fresh sounding gothic rock band with a vocalist who actually has got a great voice (so not those monotonous vocals we usually hear). So, I really looked forward to Hypaerion, an album I expected a lot from.

Opening track Hypaerion starts with droning synths. Doomy guitars are added and the atmosphere grows dense. The lyrics and vocals give the song an occult touch. The Titan Hyperion leads Nino Sable's dark dreams into the daylight.

The next track, Elysion (a term coming from Greek mythologie as well), is constructed around a delightfull melodic guitar line. Nino Sable demonstrates his vocal abilities by sounding alternately bleak and emotive. A brilliant and catchy track. You can check out the music video below.

Laylah start with sursprisingly poppy guitars, but evolves to a rather melancholic song. The playful bass contrasts with Nino Sable's sad voice. At first I didn't know what to think about this song, but after a while the meldody got me hooked.

Garden Of Light is a hybrid track that sounds like a cooperation between Wayne Hussey, Sven Friedrich (Dreadful Shadows) and Johan Edlund (Tiamat), a gothic rock song with a gothic metal chorus. The lyrics during the bridge show the band's interest for esoteric topics.

In Of Cats And Mice you hear the female guest vocals of Aeleth Kaven (La Scaltra). It's a melodic, melancholic song with a chunky bridge. Aeleth's contribution adds value. Aeon Sable seem to have a nose for enriching cooperations.

White Snow is a bleak and slow song. The delightfully harmonic guitar play of Din-Tah Aeon is supported by synths and Nino Sable demonstrates his versatile voice.

Procession... is the epic closing piece of this strong album. A slow, carefully constructed track with doom metal orientated guitars and an ominous atmosphere. It reminds me of a haunting black metal sphere, altough they dont't play black metal at all.

As on their previous records, we are treated on a hidden ghost track. Compared to its predecessor Visionaers, Hypaerion​ sounds more moody. It doesn't contain a track with an extatic vibe like Visions, but the highlights Elysion and Garden Of Light are vivacious. With Hypaerion the Germans delivered a strong album once again. I only can confirm all the positive things I wrote about Aeon Sable in the past.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Op enkele kwalitatieve bands zoals Merciful Nuns en Angels Of Liberty na, leidt het gothicrockgenre (volgens mij toch) aan bloedarmoede. Genoemde groepen steken immers duidelijk boven de rest uit. Aan doorslagjes van The Sisters Of Mercy geen gebrek, maar recente gothicrockbands die me werkelijk weten te boeien zijn eerder schaars. Aeon Sable kan me echter wel bekoren. Ook bij de band uit Essen hoort men invloeden van The Sisters Of Mercy en The Fields Of The Nephilim (zij het gaandeweg steeds minder), maar Aeon Sable slaagt erin om ze te verweven tussen andere invloeden en aldus tot een beklijvend geheel te komen.

Ik herinner me mijn eerste kennismaking met Aeon Sable nog goed. Onderweg naar een Bodybeats-event in St.-Niklaas, ergens in 2014, toen een vriend zijn exemplaar van Visionaers in de autoradio schoof. Na een leuke openingstrack (... Dawn Of An Era), met een heerlijke baslijn als bindende factor en vrouwelijke gastvocalen die het nummer een mysterieuze toets verlenen, volgde Visions, een darkrockhymne die me meteen bij de keel greep en die nu, na al die tijd, nog steeds een gevoel van euforie en opwinding oproept. Een zéér sterk begin van een sterk album. Star Casualties was nog zo een song met een fantastische vibe.

Tijdens het recenseren van Visionaers schuwde ik dan ook de superlatieven niet. Ik noemde het album zelfs een verademing. Eindelijk een frisse gothicrockband met een zanger die echt kan zingen (en niet dat monotone gewauwel dat ons te vaak in de maag wordt gesplitst). Om aan te geven dat ik uitkeek naar Hypaerion en er tevens veel van verwachtte.

... Hypaerion, de openingstrack, start met langerekte synthtonen en wordt met doomy gitaren langzaam en logge drums opgebouwd tot een atmosferische track. De lyrics en de vocalen verlenen het nummer een occult tintje. De Titaan Hyperion leidt Nino Sables donkere dromen naar het daglicht.

De volgende track, Elysion (eveneens een term uit de Griekse mythologie), is geconstrueerd rond een heerlijk melodisch gitaarloopje. Nino Sable demonstreert zijn vocale kwaliteiten en klinkt afwisselend somber en gevoelig. Een briljant en catchy nummer. Onderaan deze recensie kun je de video bekijken.

Laylah start met een verrassende poppy gitaren, om vervolgens te evolueren tot een eerder melancholische song. De speelse bas contrasteert met Nino's trieste stem. Aanvankelijk wist ik me geen raad met dit nummer, maar na verloop van tijd eist ook deze melodie zijn plaats op onder je hersenpan.

Garden Of Light is een hybride track die klinkt als een kruisbestuiving tussen Wayne Hussey, Sven Friedrich (Dreadful Shadows) en Johan Edlund (Tiamat). Een gothicrocksong met een metalrefrein. Uit de tekst tijdens de brug blijkt de bands interesse voor esoterie.

Of Cats And Mice wordt "opgevrolijkt" door de gastvocalen van Aeleth Kaven (La Scaltra). Opnieuw een melodieuze, melancholische song, als is de brug best wel stevig. Aeleths bijdrage in het duet is een meerwaarde. Aeon Sable schijnt een neusje te hebben voor verrijkende samenwerkingen.

White Snow is een trage weemoedige song. Het harmonieuze gitaarspel van Din-Tah Aeon wordt ondersteund door synths en Nino Sable demonstreert opnieuw zijn veelzijdige vocalen.

Procession... is het epische sluitstuk van dit sterke album. Een trage, zorgvuldig opgebouwde track met doommetal georiënteerde gitaren en een dreigende atmosfeer. Een dreigende black metalsfeer als het ware, hoewel erop geen enkel ogenblik black metal wordt gespeeld.

Net als op de vorige albums, worden we nog vergast op een ghosttrack. Ten opzichte van zijn voorganger Visionaers klinkt Hypaerion weemoediger. Een hymne met een extatische vibe als Visions staat er dan wel niet op, hoogtepunten Elysion en Garden Of Light zijn ook meeslepende nummers. Met Hypaerion leveren de Duitsers opnieuw een sterk album af. Ik kan niet anders dan al het goede wat ik voorheen over Aeon Sable schreef bevestigen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
ROUGGE • Monochrome
• Black Easter Day 1: an impression
ARQUETTES • Yiss Yiss
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + METAL
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOONSPELL • Extinct
LOVELORN DOLLS • Japanese Robot Invasion
PARADISE LOST • CLASSICS: Draconian times
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun
MADNESS OF THE NIGHT • ASGARDA
CLOUDS BY NIGHT • Just Buried

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016

 

Same genre: METAL
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
EPHYRA • Along The Path

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading