tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : AEON SABLE - Hypaerion

AEON SABLE

Hypaerion

MusicCD
Gothic RockMetal

[84/100]   

Solar Lodge/Alive!
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Except a few quality bands such as Merciful Nuns and Angels Of Liberty, the gothic rock genre suffers from anemia (in my opinion). The mentioned bands stand out above the rest. The are plenty of The Sisters Of Mercy clones, but recent gothick rock bands that succeed in captivating me are rather rare. Aeon Sable is one of these rare bands. In the music of the Essen based band you hear influence of The Sisters Of Mercy and The Fields Of The Nephilim as well, but by binding them with other influences, they come to a compelling result.

I still remember my first acquaintance with Aeon Sable. On the road to a Bodybeats event somewhere in 2014, a friend of mine played his copy of Visionaers in the car. After a nice opening track (... Dawn Of An Era), with a terrific bass line as the binding factor and female guest vocals that provided the track with a mysterious touch, Visions followed, a true dark rock hymn that struck me immediately, and still, after all this time, it makes me feel euphoric and excited. A very strong opening of a strong album. Star Casualties was another song with a fantastic vibe.

When reviewing Visionaers, I called it a relieve to finally have discovered a fresh sounding gothic rock band with a vocalist who actually has got a great voice (so not those monotonous vocals we usually hear). So, I really looked forward to Hypaerion, an album I expected a lot from.

Opening track Hypaerion starts with droning synths. Doomy guitars are added and the atmosphere grows dense. The lyrics and vocals give the song an occult touch. The Titan Hyperion leads Nino Sable's dark dreams into the daylight.

The next track, Elysion (a term coming from Greek mythologie as well), is constructed around a delightfull melodic guitar line. Nino Sable demonstrates his vocal abilities by sounding alternately bleak and emotive. A brilliant and catchy track. You can check out the music video below.

Laylah start with sursprisingly poppy guitars, but evolves to a rather melancholic song. The playful bass contrasts with Nino Sable's sad voice. At first I didn't know what to think about this song, but after a while the meldody got me hooked.

Garden Of Light is a hybrid track that sounds like a cooperation between Wayne Hussey, Sven Friedrich (Dreadful Shadows) and Johan Edlund (Tiamat), a gothic rock song with a gothic metal chorus. The lyrics during the bridge show the band's interest for esoteric topics.

In Of Cats And Mice you hear the female guest vocals of Aeleth Kaven (La Scaltra). It's a melodic, melancholic song with a chunky bridge. Aeleth's contribution adds value. Aeon Sable seem to have a nose for enriching cooperations.

White Snow is a bleak and slow song. The delightfully harmonic guitar play of Din-Tah Aeon is supported by synths and Nino Sable demonstrates his versatile voice.

Procession... is the epic closing piece of this strong album. A slow, carefully constructed track with doom metal orientated guitars and an ominous atmosphere. It reminds me of a haunting black metal sphere, altough they dont't play black metal at all.

As on their previous records, we are treated on a hidden ghost track. Compared to its predecessor Visionaers, Hypaerion​ sounds more moody. It doesn't contain a track with an extatic vibe like Visions, but the highlights Elysion and Garden Of Light are vivacious. With Hypaerion the Germans delivered a strong album once again. I only can confirm all the positive things I wrote about Aeon Sable in the past.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Op enkele kwalitatieve bands zoals Merciful Nuns en Angels Of Liberty na, leidt het gothicrockgenre (volgens mij toch) aan bloedarmoede. Genoemde groepen steken immers duidelijk boven de rest uit. Aan doorslagjes van The Sisters Of Mercy geen gebrek, maar recente gothicrockbands die me werkelijk weten te boeien zijn eerder schaars. Aeon Sable kan me echter wel bekoren. Ook bij de band uit Essen hoort men invloeden van The Sisters Of Mercy en The Fields Of The Nephilim (zij het gaandeweg steeds minder), maar Aeon Sable slaagt erin om ze te verweven tussen andere invloeden en aldus tot een beklijvend geheel te komen.

Ik herinner me mijn eerste kennismaking met Aeon Sable nog goed. Onderweg naar een Bodybeats-event in St.-Niklaas, ergens in 2014, toen een vriend zijn exemplaar van Visionaers in de autoradio schoof. Na een leuke openingstrack (... Dawn Of An Era), met een heerlijke baslijn als bindende factor en vrouwelijke gastvocalen die het nummer een mysterieuze toets verlenen, volgde Visions, een darkrockhymne die me meteen bij de keel greep en die nu, na al die tijd, nog steeds een gevoel van euforie en opwinding oproept. Een zéér sterk begin van een sterk album. Star Casualties was nog zo een song met een fantastische vibe.

Tijdens het recenseren van Visionaers schuwde ik dan ook de superlatieven niet. Ik noemde het album zelfs een verademing. Eindelijk een frisse gothicrockband met een zanger die echt kan zingen (en niet dat monotone gewauwel dat ons te vaak in de maag wordt gesplitst). Om aan te geven dat ik uitkeek naar Hypaerion en er tevens veel van verwachtte.

... Hypaerion, de openingstrack, start met langerekte synthtonen en wordt met doomy gitaren langzaam en logge drums opgebouwd tot een atmosferische track. De lyrics en de vocalen verlenen het nummer een occult tintje. De Titaan Hyperion leidt Nino Sables donkere dromen naar het daglicht.

De volgende track, Elysion (eveneens een term uit de Griekse mythologie), is geconstrueerd rond een heerlijk melodisch gitaarloopje. Nino Sable demonstreert zijn vocale kwaliteiten en klinkt afwisselend somber en gevoelig. Een briljant en catchy nummer. Onderaan deze recensie kun je de video bekijken.

Laylah start met een verrassende poppy gitaren, om vervolgens te evolueren tot een eerder melancholische song. De speelse bas contrasteert met Nino's trieste stem. Aanvankelijk wist ik me geen raad met dit nummer, maar na verloop van tijd eist ook deze melodie zijn plaats op onder je hersenpan.

Garden Of Light is een hybride track die klinkt als een kruisbestuiving tussen Wayne Hussey, Sven Friedrich (Dreadful Shadows) en Johan Edlund (Tiamat). Een gothicrocksong met een metalrefrein. Uit de tekst tijdens de brug blijkt de bands interesse voor esoterie.

Of Cats And Mice wordt "opgevrolijkt" door de gastvocalen van Aeleth Kaven (La Scaltra). Opnieuw een melodieuze, melancholische song, als is de brug best wel stevig. Aeleths bijdrage in het duet is een meerwaarde. Aeon Sable schijnt een neusje te hebben voor verrijkende samenwerkingen.

White Snow is een trage weemoedige song. Het harmonieuze gitaarspel van Din-Tah Aeon wordt ondersteund door synths en Nino Sable demonstreert opnieuw zijn veelzijdige vocalen.

Procession... is het epische sluitstuk van dit sterke album. Een trage, zorgvuldig opgebouwde track met doommetal georiënteerde gitaren en een dreigende atmosfeer. Een dreigende black metalsfeer als het ware, hoewel erop geen enkel ogenblik black metal wordt gespeeld.

Net als op de vorige albums, worden we nog vergast op een ghosttrack. Ten opzichte van zijn voorganger Visionaers klinkt Hypaerion weemoediger. Een hymne met een extatische vibe als Visions staat er dan wel niet op, hoogtepunten Elysion en Garden Of Light zijn ook meeslepende nummers. Met Hypaerion leveren de Duitsers opnieuw een sterk album af. Ik kan niet anders dan al het goede wat ik voorheen over Aeon Sable schreef bevestigen.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
ROUGGE • Monochrome
• Black Easter Day 1: an impression
ARQUETTES • Yiss Yiss
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + METAL
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MOONSPELL • Extinct
LOVELORN DOLLS • Japanese Robot Invasion
PARADISE LOST • CLASSICS: Draconian times
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun
MADNESS OF THE NIGHT • ASGARDA
CLOUDS BY NIGHT • Just Buried

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang