tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NEW ZERO GOD - Short Tales & Tall Shadows

NEW ZERO GOD

Short Tales & Tall Shadows

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[59/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Economically, Greece went through very hard time. Fortunately, the suffocation methods of the EU have little or no impact on the Greek music scene, on the contrary! The number of Greek releases rises every day, and this last release of New Zero God is the proof.

Not that this quintet from Athens is a newcomer, as Short & Tall Tales Shadows is the third album in ten years. The group wa founded with members who previously played in other Greek goth rock bands such as Nexus and The Flowers Of Romance.

The band is infatuated with bands like The Mission, The Sisters and Mercy of New Model Army, which you hear in the music. If you are looking for something new, you better look out, because even though the opener King Pest The First is pitch black Nick Cave-like guitar rock, the rest is pure goth rock.

The songs are okay, but unfortunately the production isn’t, and as a result a large part of the fun is lost, which is a shame. If that is no problem, you can buy this CD, at least if you do not get bored by Eldritch-oriented goth rock.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Griekenland heeft economisch meer dan ooit hard te verduren. Gelukkig heeft de verstikkingsmethode van de EU weinig of geen invloed op de Griekse muziekscène, integendeel! Het aantal Griekse releases is nauwelijks bij te houden, en daar is de nieuwste release van New Zero God een bewijs van.

Niet dat dit vijftal uit Athene nieuw is, want Short Tales & Tall Shadows is het derde plaat in tien jaar. De groep werd opgericht met leden die vroeger bij andere Griekse gothrockbands zaten zoals Nexus en The Flowers Of Romance.

De band dweept met namen als The Mission, The Sisters of Mercy en New Model Army, en dat hoor je in de muziek. Wie wat nieuws in z'n lader wil stoppen is meteen gewaarschuwd, want ook al is opener King Pest The First gitzwarte gitaarrock met een hoog Nick Cave-gehalte, horen we voor de rest gothrock.

De songs zijn best wel OK, maar jammer genoeg schort en iets aan de productie waardoor er toch een groot deel van de pret verloren gaat en dat is jammer. Wie dat allemaal niet zo erg vindt, weet meteen wat hem te doen staat, ten minste indien hij niet genoeg kan krijgen van Eldritch-georiënteerde gothrock.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo