tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NEW ZERO GOD - Short Tales & Tall Shadows

NEW ZERO GOD

Short Tales & Tall Shadows

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[59/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Economically, Greece went through very hard time. Fortunately, the suffocation methods of the EU have little or no impact on the Greek music scene, on the contrary! The number of Greek releases rises every day, and this last release of New Zero God is the proof.

Not that this quintet from Athens is a newcomer, as Short & Tall Tales Shadows is the third album in ten years. The group wa founded with members who previously played in other Greek goth rock bands such as Nexus and The Flowers Of Romance.

The band is infatuated with bands like The Mission, The Sisters and Mercy of New Model Army, which you hear in the music. If you are looking for something new, you better look out, because even though the opener King Pest The First is pitch black Nick Cave-like guitar rock, the rest is pure goth rock.

The songs are okay, but unfortunately the production isn’t, and as a result a large part of the fun is lost, which is a shame. If that is no problem, you can buy this CD, at least if you do not get bored by Eldritch-oriented goth rock.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Griekenland heeft economisch meer dan ooit hard te verduren. Gelukkig heeft de verstikkingsmethode van de EU weinig of geen invloed op de Griekse muziekscène, integendeel! Het aantal Griekse releases is nauwelijks bij te houden, en daar is de nieuwste release van New Zero God een bewijs van.

Niet dat dit vijftal uit Athene nieuw is, want Short Tales & Tall Shadows is het derde plaat in tien jaar. De groep werd opgericht met leden die vroeger bij andere Griekse gothrockbands zaten zoals Nexus en The Flowers Of Romance.

De band dweept met namen als The Mission, The Sisters of Mercy en New Model Army, en dat hoor je in de muziek. Wie wat nieuws in z'n lader wil stoppen is meteen gewaarschuwd, want ook al is opener King Pest The First gitzwarte gitaarrock met een hoog Nick Cave-gehalte, horen we voor de rest gothrock.

De songs zijn best wel OK, maar jammer genoeg schort en iets aan de productie waardoor er toch een groot deel van de pret verloren gaat en dat is jammer. Wie dat allemaal niet zo erg vindt, weet meteen wat hem te doen staat, ten minste indien hij niet genoeg kan krijgen van Eldritch-georiënteerde gothrock.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis