tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

RICHARD J AARDEN

Stolid & Bruised (EP)

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[90/100]   

Prismopaco Records.
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden has Dutch and Italian roots, but his concert calendar shows that he has working mainly in Italy until until now. His first EP dates from 2012 and now Prismopaco Records releases his Stolid & Bruised EP which contains five songs.

According to the press release, Richard J Aarden learned to play guitar and piano all by himself and he is a fan of electronic music, but in Afloat we hear a singer-songwriter at work. The guitar is prominent and supported by electric guitars and synths, interspersed with rumbling percussion: a smooth, quiet and dreamy composition which can tempt us immediately. The atmospheric guitars in the intro of Vagabond suggest a Nashville influence, but it is mainly a composition that floats on an acoustic guitar in the style of Afloat, although the soundscape is more spacious with violin-like synth in the background and an attractive melody. Little Sparrow, with careful whining guitars, bell-like synths and reverberating vocals, is absolutely wonderful. Richard J Aarden may be a self-taught musician, what he does in this song is of very high standard.

Barefoot on Shards is also an unmissable experience: fragile and brittle, but then intense and passionate, with sizzling and atmospheric guitars in the style of Rayland Baxter on his recent album. Aardens voice is silky, yet convincing, with an attractive vocal in the chorus. The last track is called All That it Takes, which sounds louder than the other compositions, though it is clearly a composition by the same hand. Synths and electric guitars serve as a backdrop, sometimes accompanied by remarkable percussion, and the voice is alternately soft and slightly more emphatic. In our opinion: five in a row.

We want to hear more of this singer-songwriter!

Tracklist:
1 Afloat
2 Vagabond
3 Little Sparrow
4 Barefoot On Shards
5 All That It Takes

"Vagabond” video
“Afloat” video

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden heeft Nederlandse en Italiaanse roots, maar uit z’n concertkalender blijkt dat hij hoofdzakelijk in Italië werkzaam is. Z’n eerste ep stamt uit 2012 en nu is Stolid & Bruised door Prismopaco Records uitgebracht. De ep bevat 5 composities.

Volgens het persbericht leerde Richard J Aarden op z’n eentje gitaar en piano spelen en is hij een fan van elektronische muziek. In Afloat horen we vooral de singer-songwriter aan het werk. De gitaar is prominent aanwezig en wordt gesteund door elektrische gitaren en eerder onopvallende synths met tussendoor galmend slagwerk: een soepele, rustige en dromerige compositie die ons meteen kan bekoren. De atmosferische gitaren in het intro van Vagabond verraden een Nashville-invloed, maar het is in eerste instantie een op akoestische gitaar drijvende compositie die in het verlengde ligt van Afloat, zij het dat het soundscape ruimer opgezet is met vioolachtige synths op de achtergrond en een aantrekkelijke zanglijn. Little Sparrow, met voorzichtig jengelende gitaren, belachtige synths en galmende vocalen, is zonder meer wondermooi. Richard J Aarden mag dan een autodidact zijn, wat hij in deze song doet is van zeer hoog niveau.

En ook Barefoot on Shards is een niet te missen ervaring: fragiel en breekbaar, maar even later ook heftig en hartstochtelijk, met zinderende en atmosferische gitaren, die we eerder tegen het lijf liepen op het recente album van Rayland Baxter. Aardens stem klinkt zijïg en toch overtuigend, met een aantrekkelijk koortje voor het refrein. De laatste track heet All That it Takes en klinkt luider dan de ander composities, al is het duidelijk een compositie van dezelfde hand. Synths en elektrische gitaren dienen als achtergrond, soms vergezeld door opvallend slagwerk, en de stem is afwisselend zacht en ietsjes nadrukkelijker. Wat ons betreft: vijf op een rij.

Van deze singer-songwriter willen we meer horen!

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP) 25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)