tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

15/02/2014 : GARY NUMAN - Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

GARY NUMAN

Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

Concert
Cold WaveElectro Rock

[100/100]   
15/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Thursday February 13th, Het Depot Leuven, Belgium: Gary Numan. Finally another European main land tour. He has done some festivals in Belgium in the past (Eurorock, Gothic festival, Sinnersday), but his last official tour here in Belgium was in 2000 before his ‘Pure’ album. So that's already 14 years ago!

I was one of the lucky ones who had a private meeting with Gary before the gig, and although his image is cold and detached, none of this appeared during our chat. Gary is friendly, and really made time for us, telling some musical and personal things, making jokes or pictures, and so on. This was really a fantastic experience for all of us.

The concert was completely sold out, and I have to say that Het Depot is since its renovation a very nice venue with a superb acoustic. A small disappointment for me was that Gary didn’t bring his special ‘Splinter’ light panels, which I saw when going to his UK Splinter tour in November 2013. The reason apparently was that there were some very small venues on the tour, and it was impossible to get them on stage.

Then the concert itself was what I expected: fantastic! Opening directly with the powerful track ‘ I am Dust’, and what an energy still this almost 57years old man has! The show was well build up, and a perfect mixture between the ‘Splinter’ tracks, and some classics. With as a result ,one of many highlights of the show was a superb version of ‘Down In The Park’.

A small negative thing about this concert is that some people just came for some 80’s nostalgia, and were just waiting for tracks like ‘Cars’ or ‘AFE’ , and stood, especially during the slower tracks, talking and laughing at each other, I really hate this.

Gary played a brilliant set, the one track even better and more enthusiastically than the other. Ending the regular playlist with his favorite and most personal track ‘ A prayer for the unborn’. Coming back for the ‘encores’, he played the classics ’ I Die : You Die and ‘Are Friends Electric’, both brilliant versions, and the audience really went crazy on this one. The atmosphere in the venue was fantastic. Ending this concert with my favorite ‘Splinter’ track, ‘My Last Day’. I really like this song, how it slowly builds up to a harder electronic finish.

Everyone was enthusiastic and had a high impression of this magnificent concert from the godfather of electro rock. Outside the venue I heard people say things like : ‘great’, ‘brilliant’, and ‘Concert of the year’, though the year is still long, but this was a gig that I will remember for a long time. I made a compilation of the concert, and some more tracks can be found at my youtube.

Playlist :

Resurrection

I Am Dust

Metal

Everything Comes Down to This

Films

Here in the Black

The Fall

The Calling

Down in the Park

Lost

Cars

Pure

Splinter

When the Sky Bleeds, He Will Come

Love Hurt Bleed

A Prayer for the Unborn

Encore:

I Die: You Die

Are 'Friends' Electric?

My Last Day

Peter HESELMANS
15/02/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice
12
02
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight