tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

15/02/2014 : GARY NUMAN - Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

GARY NUMAN

Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

Concert
Cold WaveElectro Rock

[100/100]   
15/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Thursday February 13th, Het Depot Leuven, Belgium: Gary Numan. Finally another European main land tour. He has done some festivals in Belgium in the past (Eurorock, Gothic festival, Sinnersday), but his last official tour here in Belgium was in 2000 before his ‘Pure’ album. So that's already 14 years ago!

I was one of the lucky ones who had a private meeting with Gary before the gig, and although his image is cold and detached, none of this appeared during our chat. Gary is friendly, and really made time for us, telling some musical and personal things, making jokes or pictures, and so on. This was really a fantastic experience for all of us.

The concert was completely sold out, and I have to say that Het Depot is since its renovation a very nice venue with a superb acoustic. A small disappointment for me was that Gary didn’t bring his special ‘Splinter’ light panels, which I saw when going to his UK Splinter tour in November 2013. The reason apparently was that there were some very small venues on the tour, and it was impossible to get them on stage.

Then the concert itself was what I expected: fantastic! Opening directly with the powerful track ‘ I am Dust’, and what an energy still this almost 57years old man has! The show was well build up, and a perfect mixture between the ‘Splinter’ tracks, and some classics. With as a result ,one of many highlights of the show was a superb version of ‘Down In The Park’.

A small negative thing about this concert is that some people just came for some 80’s nostalgia, and were just waiting for tracks like ‘Cars’ or ‘AFE’ , and stood, especially during the slower tracks, talking and laughing at each other, I really hate this.

Gary played a brilliant set, the one track even better and more enthusiastically than the other. Ending the regular playlist with his favorite and most personal track ‘ A prayer for the unborn’. Coming back for the ‘encores’, he played the classics ’ I Die : You Die and ‘Are Friends Electric’, both brilliant versions, and the audience really went crazy on this one. The atmosphere in the venue was fantastic. Ending this concert with my favorite ‘Splinter’ track, ‘My Last Day’. I really like this song, how it slowly builds up to a harder electronic finish.

Everyone was enthusiastic and had a high impression of this magnificent concert from the godfather of electro rock. Outside the venue I heard people say things like : ‘great’, ‘brilliant’, and ‘Concert of the year’, though the year is still long, but this was a gig that I will remember for a long time. I made a compilation of the concert, and some more tracks can be found at my youtube.

Playlist :

Resurrection

I Am Dust

Metal

Everything Comes Down to This

Films

Here in the Black

The Fall

The Calling

Down in the Park

Lost

Cars

Pure

Splinter

When the Sky Bleeds, He Will Come

Love Hurt Bleed

A Prayer for the Unborn

Encore:

I Die: You Die

Are 'Friends' Electric?

My Last Day

Peter HESELMANS
15/02/2014


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion