tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

15/02/2014 : GARY NUMAN - Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

GARY NUMAN

Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)

Concert
Cold WaveElectro Rock

[100/100]   
15/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Thursday February 13th, Het Depot Leuven, Belgium: Gary Numan. Finally another European main land tour. He has done some festivals in Belgium in the past (Eurorock, Gothic festival, Sinnersday), but his last official tour here in Belgium was in 2000 before his ‘Pure’ album. So that's already 14 years ago!

I was one of the lucky ones who had a private meeting with Gary before the gig, and although his image is cold and detached, none of this appeared during our chat. Gary is friendly, and really made time for us, telling some musical and personal things, making jokes or pictures, and so on. This was really a fantastic experience for all of us.

The concert was completely sold out, and I have to say that Het Depot is since its renovation a very nice venue with a superb acoustic. A small disappointment for me was that Gary didn’t bring his special ‘Splinter’ light panels, which I saw when going to his UK Splinter tour in November 2013. The reason apparently was that there were some very small venues on the tour, and it was impossible to get them on stage.

Then the concert itself was what I expected: fantastic! Opening directly with the powerful track ‘ I am Dust’, and what an energy still this almost 57years old man has! The show was well build up, and a perfect mixture between the ‘Splinter’ tracks, and some classics. With as a result ,one of many highlights of the show was a superb version of ‘Down In The Park’.

A small negative thing about this concert is that some people just came for some 80’s nostalgia, and were just waiting for tracks like ‘Cars’ or ‘AFE’ , and stood, especially during the slower tracks, talking and laughing at each other, I really hate this.

Gary played a brilliant set, the one track even better and more enthusiastically than the other. Ending the regular playlist with his favorite and most personal track ‘ A prayer for the unborn’. Coming back for the ‘encores’, he played the classics ’ I Die : You Die and ‘Are Friends Electric’, both brilliant versions, and the audience really went crazy on this one. The atmosphere in the venue was fantastic. Ending this concert with my favorite ‘Splinter’ track, ‘My Last Day’. I really like this song, how it slowly builds up to a harder electronic finish.

Everyone was enthusiastic and had a high impression of this magnificent concert from the godfather of electro rock. Outside the venue I heard people say things like : ‘great’, ‘brilliant’, and ‘Concert of the year’, though the year is still long, but this was a gig that I will remember for a long time. I made a compilation of the concert, and some more tracks can be found at my youtube.

Playlist :

Resurrection

I Am Dust

Metal

Everything Comes Down to This

Films

Here in the Black

The Fall

The Calling

Down in the Park

Lost

Cars

Pure

Splinter

When the Sky Bleeds, He Will Come

Love Hurt Bleed

A Prayer for the Unborn

Encore:

I Die: You Die

Are 'Friends' Electric?

My Last Day

Peter HESELMANS
15/02/2014


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED