tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : TOMY LOBO - Golden Birds

TOMY LOBO

Golden Birds

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroIndie

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Financially, it is easy to produce music at home nowadays. There is a lot of electro that refers to the 80s or to the modern Tomorrowland style, etc. Moreover, there is a more alternative electro style: Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille...

Tomy Lobo belongs to the latter category. Its music sounds modern, it has some depth and it is catchy without inciting the right to brainless hands clapping on. Golden Birds contains six songs. Listen to Night Prism that has a chorus which lingers in your head after one listening. Erase It All has a slightly darker base but is equally accessible. The chorus sounds familiar, put I can not place it... It Starts With Fire contains sounds that give the song an exotic touch. Sometimes think of Bastille when you listen to this EP.

Golden Birds contains music that invites to a party but offers listening pleasure too. It will certainly appeal to a young audience.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Financieel is het nu voor velen gemakkelijk om thuis zelf muziek te producen. Er is veel elektro tegenwoordig die refereert aan de jaren 80; moderne elektro die thuishoort op Tomorrowland, etc. Daarnaast is er ook meer alternatieve elektro zoals die van Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille…

Tomy Lobo behoort tot die laatste categorie. Z'n muziek klinkt modern, heeft wat diepgang en is catchy zonder dat ze meteen tot hersenloos handjesgeklap aanzet. Voilà daarmee is het belangrijkste gezegd. Golden Birds reikt ons zes songs aan die vlot blijven hangen. Luister naar Night Prism dat een refrein heeft dat al in je hoofd blijft hangen na één beluistering. Erase It All heeft een iets donkere basis maar is toch even toegankelijk. Het refrein komt mij heel bekend voor, maar ik kan het niet thuisbrengen. It Starts With Fire bevat dezelfde klanken die hun songs een exotisch tintje geven. Soms denk je aan Bastille als je hun ep’tje beluistert.

Golden Birds bevat muziek die aanzet tot een feestje, maar die evengoed luisterplezier biedt. Ze kan beslist een jong publiek aanspreken want dat lijkt mij een beetje de doelpubliek te zijn. Een spraakmakende clip of een track onder de juiste reclamespot, ze kunnen de wereld voor deze band openen.Tomy Lobo heeft er alvast de muziek voor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)