tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : TOMY LOBO - Golden Birds

TOMY LOBO

Golden Birds

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroIndie

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Financially, it is easy to produce music at home nowadays. There is a lot of electro that refers to the 80s or to the modern Tomorrowland style, etc. Moreover, there is a more alternative electro style: Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille...

Tomy Lobo belongs to the latter category. Its music sounds modern, it has some depth and it is catchy without inciting the right to brainless hands clapping on. Golden Birds contains six songs. Listen to Night Prism that has a chorus which lingers in your head after one listening. Erase It All has a slightly darker base but is equally accessible. The chorus sounds familiar, put I can not place it... It Starts With Fire contains sounds that give the song an exotic touch. Sometimes think of Bastille when you listen to this EP.

Golden Birds contains music that invites to a party but offers listening pleasure too. It will certainly appeal to a young audience.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Financieel is het nu voor velen gemakkelijk om thuis zelf muziek te producen. Er is veel elektro tegenwoordig die refereert aan de jaren 80; moderne elektro die thuishoort op Tomorrowland, etc. Daarnaast is er ook meer alternatieve elektro zoals die van Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille…

Tomy Lobo behoort tot die laatste categorie. Z'n muziek klinkt modern, heeft wat diepgang en is catchy zonder dat ze meteen tot hersenloos handjesgeklap aanzet. Voilà daarmee is het belangrijkste gezegd. Golden Birds reikt ons zes songs aan die vlot blijven hangen. Luister naar Night Prism dat een refrein heeft dat al in je hoofd blijft hangen na één beluistering. Erase It All heeft een iets donkere basis maar is toch even toegankelijk. Het refrein komt mij heel bekend voor, maar ik kan het niet thuisbrengen. It Starts With Fire bevat dezelfde klanken die hun songs een exotisch tintje geven. Soms denk je aan Bastille als je hun ep’tje beluistert.

Golden Birds bevat muziek die aanzet tot een feestje, maar die evengoed luisterplezier biedt. Ze kan beslist een jong publiek aanspreken want dat lijkt mij een beetje de doelpubliek te zijn. Een spraakmakende clip of een track onder de juiste reclamespot, ze kunnen de wereld voor deze band openen.Tomy Lobo heeft er alvast de muziek voor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On