tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : TOMY LOBO - Golden Birds

TOMY LOBO

Golden Birds

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroIndie

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Financially, it is easy to produce music at home nowadays. There is a lot of electro that refers to the 80s or to the modern Tomorrowland style, etc. Moreover, there is a more alternative electro style: Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille...

Tomy Lobo belongs to the latter category. Its music sounds modern, it has some depth and it is catchy without inciting the right to brainless hands clapping on. Golden Birds contains six songs. Listen to Night Prism that has a chorus which lingers in your head after one listening. Erase It All has a slightly darker base but is equally accessible. The chorus sounds familiar, put I can not place it... It Starts With Fire contains sounds that give the song an exotic touch. Sometimes think of Bastille when you listen to this EP.

Golden Birds contains music that invites to a party but offers listening pleasure too. It will certainly appeal to a young audience.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Financieel is het nu voor velen gemakkelijk om thuis zelf muziek te producen. Er is veel elektro tegenwoordig die refereert aan de jaren 80; moderne elektro die thuishoort op Tomorrowland, etc. Daarnaast is er ook meer alternatieve elektro zoals die van Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille…

Tomy Lobo behoort tot die laatste categorie. Z'n muziek klinkt modern, heeft wat diepgang en is catchy zonder dat ze meteen tot hersenloos handjesgeklap aanzet. Voilà daarmee is het belangrijkste gezegd. Golden Birds reikt ons zes songs aan die vlot blijven hangen. Luister naar Night Prism dat een refrein heeft dat al in je hoofd blijft hangen na één beluistering. Erase It All heeft een iets donkere basis maar is toch even toegankelijk. Het refrein komt mij heel bekend voor, maar ik kan het niet thuisbrengen. It Starts With Fire bevat dezelfde klanken die hun songs een exotisch tintje geven. Soms denk je aan Bastille als je hun ep’tje beluistert.

Golden Birds bevat muziek die aanzet tot een feestje, maar die evengoed luisterplezier biedt. Ze kan beslist een jong publiek aanspreken want dat lijkt mij een beetje de doelpubliek te zijn. Een spraakmakende clip of een track onder de juiste reclamespot, ze kunnen de wereld voor deze band openen.Tomy Lobo heeft er alvast de muziek voor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten