tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : TOMY LOBO - Golden Birds

TOMY LOBO

Golden Birds

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroIndie

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Financially, it is easy to produce music at home nowadays. There is a lot of electro that refers to the 80s or to the modern Tomorrowland style, etc. Moreover, there is a more alternative electro style: Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille...

Tomy Lobo belongs to the latter category. Its music sounds modern, it has some depth and it is catchy without inciting the right to brainless hands clapping on. Golden Birds contains six songs. Listen to Night Prism that has a chorus which lingers in your head after one listening. Erase It All has a slightly darker base but is equally accessible. The chorus sounds familiar, put I can not place it... It Starts With Fire contains sounds that give the song an exotic touch. Sometimes think of Bastille when you listen to this EP.

Golden Birds contains music that invites to a party but offers listening pleasure too. It will certainly appeal to a young audience.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Financieel is het nu voor velen gemakkelijk om thuis zelf muziek te producen. Er is veel elektro tegenwoordig die refereert aan de jaren 80; moderne elektro die thuishoort op Tomorrowland, etc. Daarnaast is er ook meer alternatieve elektro zoals die van Goose, Hydrogen Sea, Bastille…

Tomy Lobo behoort tot die laatste categorie. Z'n muziek klinkt modern, heeft wat diepgang en is catchy zonder dat ze meteen tot hersenloos handjesgeklap aanzet. Voilà daarmee is het belangrijkste gezegd. Golden Birds reikt ons zes songs aan die vlot blijven hangen. Luister naar Night Prism dat een refrein heeft dat al in je hoofd blijft hangen na één beluistering. Erase It All heeft een iets donkere basis maar is toch even toegankelijk. Het refrein komt mij heel bekend voor, maar ik kan het niet thuisbrengen. It Starts With Fire bevat dezelfde klanken die hun songs een exotisch tintje geven. Soms denk je aan Bastille als je hun ep’tje beluistert.

Golden Birds bevat muziek die aanzet tot een feestje, maar die evengoed luisterplezier biedt. Ze kan beslist een jong publiek aanspreken want dat lijkt mij een beetje de doelpubliek te zijn. Een spraakmakende clip of een track onder de juiste reclamespot, ze kunnen de wereld voor deze band openen.Tomy Lobo heeft er alvast de muziek voor.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless