tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BOX AND THE TWINS - Everywhere I Go Is Silence

BOX AND THE TWINS

Everywhere I Go Is Silence

MusicCD
Dark PopSynth Wave

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The Cologne based band Box and the Twins is indeed an odd thing - together with her ex-lover Marc, and her fiancé Mike, artist and trained psychologist Box creates sublime, fallen out of time Music - equally enchanting, disturbing, sparkling songs, a wistful search for meaning and significance of patterns in this universal voidness.

After two EPs, the band releases its debut album Everywhere I go is Silence on Manic Depression Records & Synth Religion. Produced by Hélène de Thoury (Hante), the composition of melancholic guitars and dark electronics complements the vision of an eternal autumn, creating the perfect soundtrack for the season.

First song (and at the same time first single outtake) on the album is Pale Bleu Dot. A dark and strange atmosphere is created. Dark synths get the help of some gentle guitars and deep female voices. You can almost feel the hand of Hélène de Thoury. Gravity has more guitars in it. This Place Called Nowhere has some shoegaze-sounding guitars and a typical synth-drum-sound. The vocals sound dark and deep.

In Perfume Well we hear male and female vocals dancing with each other. The vocals sound happy, allthough the song remains very dark. Hundred Flowers is a lingering song. It feels as if the words are crawling. And the guitars create tension. And that same tension stays with us in Birds.A lament of guitars screaming for help, as if it is the last sound they will produce. Guilty Red has a higher pace. Beautiful guitars and vocals blend perfectly together. Ice cold synths are the prelude of Ice Machine. Freezing cold shoegaze it is. Sometimes The Wave could have be the soundtrack of a good old western movie. When I was listening, I saw two clans, with guns drawn, in an old American village in the dessert. Curtains is a very sensitive song. A kind of ballad. With Western Horizon and Notes To The Spiders, we get another two great songs, both intimate, with enough tension.

Everywhere I Go Is Silence is a great debut album: twelve songs and very different styles. We hear synthwave, shoegaze, even some post-punk influences here and there. This band has gained at least one new fan... And I think that many will follow....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love