tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BOX AND THE TWINS - Everywhere I Go Is Silence

BOX AND THE TWINS

Everywhere I Go Is Silence

MusicCD
Dark PopSynth Wave

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The Cologne based band Box and the Twins is indeed an odd thing - together with her ex-lover Marc, and her fiancé Mike, artist and trained psychologist Box creates sublime, fallen out of time Music - equally enchanting, disturbing, sparkling songs, a wistful search for meaning and significance of patterns in this universal voidness.

After two EPs, the band releases its debut album Everywhere I go is Silence on Manic Depression Records & Synth Religion. Produced by Hélène de Thoury (Hante), the composition of melancholic guitars and dark electronics complements the vision of an eternal autumn, creating the perfect soundtrack for the season.

First song (and at the same time first single outtake) on the album is Pale Bleu Dot. A dark and strange atmosphere is created. Dark synths get the help of some gentle guitars and deep female voices. You can almost feel the hand of Hélène de Thoury. Gravity has more guitars in it. This Place Called Nowhere has some shoegaze-sounding guitars and a typical synth-drum-sound. The vocals sound dark and deep.

In Perfume Well we hear male and female vocals dancing with each other. The vocals sound happy, allthough the song remains very dark. Hundred Flowers is a lingering song. It feels as if the words are crawling. And the guitars create tension. And that same tension stays with us in Birds.A lament of guitars screaming for help, as if it is the last sound they will produce. Guilty Red has a higher pace. Beautiful guitars and vocals blend perfectly together. Ice cold synths are the prelude of Ice Machine. Freezing cold shoegaze it is. Sometimes The Wave could have be the soundtrack of a good old western movie. When I was listening, I saw two clans, with guns drawn, in an old American village in the dessert. Curtains is a very sensitive song. A kind of ballad. With Western Horizon and Notes To The Spiders, we get another two great songs, both intimate, with enough tension.

Everywhere I Go Is Silence is a great debut album: twelve songs and very different styles. We hear synthwave, shoegaze, even some post-punk influences here and there. This band has gained at least one new fan... And I think that many will follow....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams