tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BOX AND THE TWINS - Everywhere I Go Is Silence

BOX AND THE TWINS

Everywhere I Go Is Silence

MusicCD
Dark PopSynth Wave

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The Cologne based band Box and the Twins is indeed an odd thing - together with her ex-lover Marc, and her fiancé Mike, artist and trained psychologist Box creates sublime, fallen out of time Music - equally enchanting, disturbing, sparkling songs, a wistful search for meaning and significance of patterns in this universal voidness.

After two EPs, the band releases its debut album Everywhere I go is Silence on Manic Depression Records & Synth Religion. Produced by Hélène de Thoury (Hante), the composition of melancholic guitars and dark electronics complements the vision of an eternal autumn, creating the perfect soundtrack for the season.

First song (and at the same time first single outtake) on the album is Pale Bleu Dot. A dark and strange atmosphere is created. Dark synths get the help of some gentle guitars and deep female voices. You can almost feel the hand of Hélène de Thoury. Gravity has more guitars in it. This Place Called Nowhere has some shoegaze-sounding guitars and a typical synth-drum-sound. The vocals sound dark and deep.

In Perfume Well we hear male and female vocals dancing with each other. The vocals sound happy, allthough the song remains very dark. Hundred Flowers is a lingering song. It feels as if the words are crawling. And the guitars create tension. And that same tension stays with us in Birds.A lament of guitars screaming for help, as if it is the last sound they will produce. Guilty Red has a higher pace. Beautiful guitars and vocals blend perfectly together. Ice cold synths are the prelude of Ice Machine. Freezing cold shoegaze it is. Sometimes The Wave could have be the soundtrack of a good old western movie. When I was listening, I saw two clans, with guns drawn, in an old American village in the dessert. Curtains is a very sensitive song. A kind of ballad. With Western Horizon and Notes To The Spiders, we get another two great songs, both intimate, with enough tension.

Everywhere I Go Is Silence is a great debut album: twelve songs and very different styles. We hear synthwave, shoegaze, even some post-punk influences here and there. This band has gained at least one new fan... And I think that many will follow....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis