tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BOX AND THE TWINS - Everywhere I Go Is Silence

BOX AND THE TWINS

Everywhere I Go Is Silence

MusicCD
Dark PopSynth Wave

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The Cologne based band Box and the Twins is indeed an odd thing - together with her ex-lover Marc, and her fiancé Mike, artist and trained psychologist Box creates sublime, fallen out of time Music - equally enchanting, disturbing, sparkling songs, a wistful search for meaning and significance of patterns in this universal voidness.

After two EPs, the band releases its debut album Everywhere I go is Silence on Manic Depression Records & Synth Religion. Produced by Hélène de Thoury (Hante), the composition of melancholic guitars and dark electronics complements the vision of an eternal autumn, creating the perfect soundtrack for the season.

First song (and at the same time first single outtake) on the album is Pale Bleu Dot. A dark and strange atmosphere is created. Dark synths get the help of some gentle guitars and deep female voices. You can almost feel the hand of Hélène de Thoury. Gravity has more guitars in it. This Place Called Nowhere has some shoegaze-sounding guitars and a typical synth-drum-sound. The vocals sound dark and deep.

In Perfume Well we hear male and female vocals dancing with each other. The vocals sound happy, allthough the song remains very dark. Hundred Flowers is a lingering song. It feels as if the words are crawling. And the guitars create tension. And that same tension stays with us in Birds.A lament of guitars screaming for help, as if it is the last sound they will produce. Guilty Red has a higher pace. Beautiful guitars and vocals blend perfectly together. Ice cold synths are the prelude of Ice Machine. Freezing cold shoegaze it is. Sometimes The Wave could have be the soundtrack of a good old western movie. When I was listening, I saw two clans, with guns drawn, in an old American village in the dessert. Curtains is a very sensitive song. A kind of ballad. With Western Horizon and Notes To The Spiders, we get another two great songs, both intimate, with enough tension.

Everywhere I Go Is Silence is a great debut album: twelve songs and very different styles. We hear synthwave, shoegaze, even some post-punk influences here and there. This band has gained at least one new fan... And I think that many will follow....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough