tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PENFIELD - Parallaxi5

PENFIELD

Parallaxi5

MusicCD
Neo Prog

[82/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Swiss quintet Penfield makes cinematic prog. New Prog they call it. The instrumentation consists of guitar, bass, moog, rhodes, sax, double bass. Musically it is quite spacious: music which somtimes sounds like Pink Floyd, lounge and jazz. Still, everything sounds as a whole.

Three tracks contain vocals: Walther Gallay on Apax 34 002 and he sounds a little like Serge Gainsbourg. The instrumental versions don't need vocals, but they give the songs a different atmosphere/vibe. The collaboration with MC Xela on Fashioned in Wonderland is a success too. Tracks with the nervous and jumpy sounding Capitaine Etc (L'Anonyme) are less successful. But seven of the eight tracks are fine and that is certainly not bad. Highlights: La Physique Anarchique, Apax 34 002, ADN and Rosen.

Parallax5 is prog, but different prog than what we have heard in recent years. It sounds cinematic and has a vibe refers to the seventie, with much variation without sounding forced. Penfield consists of great musicians who have made a very fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het vijfkoppige Zwiterse Penfield maakt filmische prog. Newprog noemen ze het. Het instrumentarium bestaat o.a. uit gitaar, bas, moog, rhodes, sax, contrabas. Muzikaal is het project vrij ruim opgezet: van muziek die wat naar Pink Floyd lonkt tot bijna lounge en jazzy muziek. Toch klinkt alles als één geheel mede doordat het styllistisch in een flow is gegoten.

Op drie tracks wordt er samengewerkt met een vocalist: op Apax 34 002 met Walther Gallay die met zijn stem Serge Gainsbourg wat achterna gaat. Niet dat de instrumentals vocals vragen maar ze geven de songs wel een andere dimensie/vibe. De samenwerking met MC Xela in Fashioned Wonderland vind ik ook geslaagd. Die met de nerveus en springerig klinkende Capitaine Etc (L’ Anonyme) vind ik minder passend tussen de rest. Maar zeven van de acht songs zijn fijne tracks en dat is wel degelijk niet slecht. Hoogtepunten: La Physique Anarchique, Apax 34 002, ADN en Rosen.

Parallax5 is prog maar dan net iets andere dan we de laatste jaren gewoon zijn. Het resultaat klinkt filmisch en heeft een vibe die wat naar de jaren zeventig neigt, met veel variatie in zonder dat het geheel geforceerd klinkt. Penfield bestaat uit fantastische muzikanten die een heel fijn album hebben gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane