tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PENFIELD - Parallaxi5

PENFIELD

Parallaxi5

MusicCD
Neo Prog

[82/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Swiss quintet Penfield makes cinematic prog. New Prog they call it. The instrumentation consists of guitar, bass, moog, rhodes, sax, double bass. Musically it is quite spacious: music which somtimes sounds like Pink Floyd, lounge and jazz. Still, everything sounds as a whole.

Three tracks contain vocals: Walther Gallay on Apax 34 002 and he sounds a little like Serge Gainsbourg. The instrumental versions don't need vocals, but they give the songs a different atmosphere/vibe. The collaboration with MC Xela on Fashioned in Wonderland is a success too. Tracks with the nervous and jumpy sounding Capitaine Etc (L'Anonyme) are less successful. But seven of the eight tracks are fine and that is certainly not bad. Highlights: La Physique Anarchique, Apax 34 002, ADN and Rosen.

Parallax5 is prog, but different prog than what we have heard in recent years. It sounds cinematic and has a vibe refers to the seventie, with much variation without sounding forced. Penfield consists of great musicians who have made a very fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het vijfkoppige Zwiterse Penfield maakt filmische prog. Newprog noemen ze het. Het instrumentarium bestaat o.a. uit gitaar, bas, moog, rhodes, sax, contrabas. Muzikaal is het project vrij ruim opgezet: van muziek die wat naar Pink Floyd lonkt tot bijna lounge en jazzy muziek. Toch klinkt alles als één geheel mede doordat het styllistisch in een flow is gegoten.

Op drie tracks wordt er samengewerkt met een vocalist: op Apax 34 002 met Walther Gallay die met zijn stem Serge Gainsbourg wat achterna gaat. Niet dat de instrumentals vocals vragen maar ze geven de songs wel een andere dimensie/vibe. De samenwerking met MC Xela in Fashioned Wonderland vind ik ook geslaagd. Die met de nerveus en springerig klinkende Capitaine Etc (L’ Anonyme) vind ik minder passend tussen de rest. Maar zeven van de acht songs zijn fijne tracks en dat is wel degelijk niet slecht. Hoogtepunten: La Physique Anarchique, Apax 34 002, ADN en Rosen.

Parallax5 is prog maar dan net iets andere dan we de laatste jaren gewoon zijn. Het resultaat klinkt filmisch en heeft een vibe die wat naar de jaren zeventig neigt, met veel variatie in zonder dat het geheel geforceerd klinkt. Penfield bestaat uit fantastische muzikanten die een heel fijn album hebben gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House