tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

A LINN THING

Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Concert
Pop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Only seven days after the much appreciated acoustic solo set at the Rijmrock festival, Lien played at Mechelen's Maanrock festival, now with her full band: A Linn Thing. Lien sings and plays most of the keys n the band with both Tom Kestens (Lalalover) and Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) on guitars, Herwig Sheck on bass and Koen Lieckens on drums. Backed by excellent musicians and armed with her own beautiful voice and songs, Lien played a strong set.

Again it was a true joy to listen to Lien's voice and those little gems of songs, now with a full band an thus with a richer overall sound. The chemistry between the musicians was perfect and the sound was formidable. It was a full band performance, but Lien also did some songs all by herself, just the voice and the keys, or for one song the acoustic guitar, with Tom Kestens on piano. So, at Maanock we got the best of both worlds.

It was still early and the bigger acts on the main stage were scheduled for later in the evening but there was a good crowd for this gig, which Lien clearly appreciated. The sing-a-long moment, when playing Your House, now with the band, was just like the previous weekend an absolute succes and worked even better, now with a larger crowd.

Lien explained that the first single Good Day is due for release somewhere in September. Of course the band then played this very catchy tune. The ideal choice for a single.

Other little jewels in the set were Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Worth It and Lift A Stone, my absolute favourite song at this moment.

The songs Lien chose to do all by herself where respectively Commitment Song, Sit Down and Feel Sorry (backed by Tom on keyboards, whilst Lien was playing the acoustic guitar).

I wouldn't want to choose between Lien Schoeters and A Linn Thing, but my reliable sources tell me that the singer will keep on doing both solo shows and gigs with A Lin Thing.

The band concluded the set with a cover of Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. And they did more than just cover the song, they turned it into yet another wonderful atypical A Linn Thing song that perfectly matched with the rest of the set. That's the way to do it of course. Topclass!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo).

Encore :
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vorige weekend pakte Lien Schoeters nog moeiteloos Rijmrock in met een erg geapprecieerde akoestische set; zaterdag 27 augustus stond Lien op Maanrock met haar band: A Linn Thing. Lien op zang en keys, Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) en Tom Kestens (Lalalover) op gitaren, Koen Lieckens op percussie en Herwig Sheck op bas. Uitstekende muzikanten dus, de sterke composities en Liens unieke en prachtige stem deden de rest. Het was weerom genieten van de popparels waarmee Lien ons ook nu volop verwende, nu met een iets stevigere omkadering.

Er was behoorlijk wat volk afgezakt naar de Mechelse Botermarkt en dat deed Lien duidelijk veel plezier. De zangeres straalde. Op een album is het nog even wachten, maar de single komt er dra aan, beloofde Lien en naturlijk zat die single ook in de sterke set. Heel aanstekelijk is Good Day dan ook.

Ik plaats eigenlijk nog het liefst uitroeptekens bij de héle set, maar om er toch een paar songs uit te lichten: Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Sit Down, dat Lien solo bracht, Worth It en Lift A Stone, op dit moment mijn absolute favoriet.

Op Rijmrock lukte de sing-a-long aardig met Your House, nog zo'n topper en met de full band op Maanrock was dat zeker een succes.

Lien breekbaar akoestisch of gesteund door de band met een iets rijker en nog warmer geluid, de songs stáán er in beide formules. Op Maanrock kregen we best of both worlds: Lien had een paar akoestische momentjes in de set gelast; setopener Commitment Song, Sit Down en Feel sorry, met Lien op de akoestische gitaar.

A Linn Thing waagde zich aan een cover. Lien koos voor Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. Lien en band brachten deze parel met verve; Lien had zich het lied perfect eigen gemaakt, waardoor het niet zomaar een cover was, we kregen een typische A Linn Thing-benadering, zodat de song perfect bij de andere liedjes paste. Top!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo)

Encore:
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell