tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

A LINN THING

Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Concert
Pop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Only seven days after the much appreciated acoustic solo set at the Rijmrock festival, Lien played at Mechelen's Maanrock festival, now with her full band: A Linn Thing. Lien sings and plays most of the keys n the band with both Tom Kestens (Lalalover) and Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) on guitars, Herwig Sheck on bass and Koen Lieckens on drums. Backed by excellent musicians and armed with her own beautiful voice and songs, Lien played a strong set.

Again it was a true joy to listen to Lien's voice and those little gems of songs, now with a full band an thus with a richer overall sound. The chemistry between the musicians was perfect and the sound was formidable. It was a full band performance, but Lien also did some songs all by herself, just the voice and the keys, or for one song the acoustic guitar, with Tom Kestens on piano. So, at Maanock we got the best of both worlds.

It was still early and the bigger acts on the main stage were scheduled for later in the evening but there was a good crowd for this gig, which Lien clearly appreciated. The sing-a-long moment, when playing Your House, now with the band, was just like the previous weekend an absolute succes and worked even better, now with a larger crowd.

Lien explained that the first single Good Day is due for release somewhere in September. Of course the band then played this very catchy tune. The ideal choice for a single.

Other little jewels in the set were Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Worth It and Lift A Stone, my absolute favourite song at this moment.

The songs Lien chose to do all by herself where respectively Commitment Song, Sit Down and Feel Sorry (backed by Tom on keyboards, whilst Lien was playing the acoustic guitar).

I wouldn't want to choose between Lien Schoeters and A Linn Thing, but my reliable sources tell me that the singer will keep on doing both solo shows and gigs with A Lin Thing.

The band concluded the set with a cover of Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. And they did more than just cover the song, they turned it into yet another wonderful atypical A Linn Thing song that perfectly matched with the rest of the set. That's the way to do it of course. Topclass!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo).

Encore :
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vorige weekend pakte Lien Schoeters nog moeiteloos Rijmrock in met een erg geapprecieerde akoestische set; zaterdag 27 augustus stond Lien op Maanrock met haar band: A Linn Thing. Lien op zang en keys, Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) en Tom Kestens (Lalalover) op gitaren, Koen Lieckens op percussie en Herwig Sheck op bas. Uitstekende muzikanten dus, de sterke composities en Liens unieke en prachtige stem deden de rest. Het was weerom genieten van de popparels waarmee Lien ons ook nu volop verwende, nu met een iets stevigere omkadering.

Er was behoorlijk wat volk afgezakt naar de Mechelse Botermarkt en dat deed Lien duidelijk veel plezier. De zangeres straalde. Op een album is het nog even wachten, maar de single komt er dra aan, beloofde Lien en naturlijk zat die single ook in de sterke set. Heel aanstekelijk is Good Day dan ook.

Ik plaats eigenlijk nog het liefst uitroeptekens bij de héle set, maar om er toch een paar songs uit te lichten: Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Sit Down, dat Lien solo bracht, Worth It en Lift A Stone, op dit moment mijn absolute favoriet.

Op Rijmrock lukte de sing-a-long aardig met Your House, nog zo'n topper en met de full band op Maanrock was dat zeker een succes.

Lien breekbaar akoestisch of gesteund door de band met een iets rijker en nog warmer geluid, de songs stáán er in beide formules. Op Maanrock kregen we best of both worlds: Lien had een paar akoestische momentjes in de set gelast; setopener Commitment Song, Sit Down en Feel sorry, met Lien op de akoestische gitaar.

A Linn Thing waagde zich aan een cover. Lien koos voor Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. Lien en band brachten deze parel met verve; Lien had zich het lied perfect eigen gemaakt, waardoor het niet zomaar een cover was, we kregen een typische A Linn Thing-benadering, zodat de song perfect bij de andere liedjes paste. Top!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo)

Encore:
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017