tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

A LINN THING

Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Concert
Pop 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Only seven days after the much appreciated acoustic solo set at the Rijmrock festival, Lien played at Mechelen's Maanrock festival, now with her full band: A Linn Thing. Lien sings and plays most of the keys n the band with both Tom Kestens (Lalalover) and Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) on guitars, Herwig Sheck on bass and Koen Lieckens on drums. Backed by excellent musicians and armed with her own beautiful voice and songs, Lien played a strong set.

Again it was a true joy to listen to Lien's voice and those little gems of songs, now with a full band an thus with a richer overall sound. The chemistry between the musicians was perfect and the sound was formidable. It was a full band performance, but Lien also did some songs all by herself, just the voice and the keys, or for one song the acoustic guitar, with Tom Kestens on piano. So, at Maanock we got the best of both worlds.

It was still early and the bigger acts on the main stage were scheduled for later in the evening but there was a good crowd for this gig, which Lien clearly appreciated. The sing-a-long moment, when playing Your House, now with the band, was just like the previous weekend an absolute succes and worked even better, now with a larger crowd.

Lien explained that the first single Good Day is due for release somewhere in September. Of course the band then played this very catchy tune. The ideal choice for a single.

Other little jewels in the set were Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Worth It and Lift A Stone, my absolute favourite song at this moment.

The songs Lien chose to do all by herself where respectively Commitment Song, Sit Down and Feel Sorry (backed by Tom on keyboards, whilst Lien was playing the acoustic guitar).

I wouldn't want to choose between Lien Schoeters and A Linn Thing, but my reliable sources tell me that the singer will keep on doing both solo shows and gigs with A Lin Thing.

The band concluded the set with a cover of Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. And they did more than just cover the song, they turned it into yet another wonderful atypical A Linn Thing song that perfectly matched with the rest of the set. That's the way to do it of course. Topclass!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo).

Encore :
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Vorige weekend pakte Lien Schoeters nog moeiteloos Rijmrock in met een erg geapprecieerde akoestische set; zaterdag 27 augustus stond Lien op Maanrock met haar band: A Linn Thing. Lien op zang en keys, Patrick Steenaerts (Yevgueni) en Tom Kestens (Lalalover) op gitaren, Koen Lieckens op percussie en Herwig Sheck op bas. Uitstekende muzikanten dus, de sterke composities en Liens unieke en prachtige stem deden de rest. Het was weerom genieten van de popparels waarmee Lien ons ook nu volop verwende, nu met een iets stevigere omkadering.

Er was behoorlijk wat volk afgezakt naar de Mechelse Botermarkt en dat deed Lien duidelijk veel plezier. De zangeres straalde. Op een album is het nog even wachten, maar de single komt er dra aan, beloofde Lien en naturlijk zat die single ook in de sterke set. Heel aanstekelijk is Good Day dan ook.

Ik plaats eigenlijk nog het liefst uitroeptekens bij de héle set, maar om er toch een paar songs uit te lichten: Day By Day, A Little Bit More, Sit Down, dat Lien solo bracht, Worth It en Lift A Stone, op dit moment mijn absolute favoriet.

Op Rijmrock lukte de sing-a-long aardig met Your House, nog zo'n topper en met de full band op Maanrock was dat zeker een succes.

Lien breekbaar akoestisch of gesteund door de band met een iets rijker en nog warmer geluid, de songs stáán er in beide formules. Op Maanrock kregen we best of both worlds: Lien had een paar akoestische momentjes in de set gelast; setopener Commitment Song, Sit Down en Feel sorry, met Lien op de akoestische gitaar.

A Linn Thing waagde zich aan een cover. Lien koos voor Sheryll Crow's Are You Strong Enough To Be My Man. Lien en band brachten deze parel met verve; Lien had zich het lied perfect eigen gemaakt, waardoor het niet zomaar een cover was, we kregen een typische A Linn Thing-benadering, zodat de song perfect bij de andere liedjes paste. Top!

Setlist:
Commitment Song (solo) / Day by Day / It 'll be what it is / Keeping up / Good day / A Little bit more / Sing / Sit down (solo) / worth it / Your house / Meet at home / Lift a stone / Feel sorry (solo)

Encore:
(Are You) Strong enough (to be my man) (Sheryll Crow).

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016) 11/12/2016 : A LINN THING - Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless