tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

26/07/2011 : NOTHING - Suns And Lovers EP

NOTHING

Suns And Lovers EP

MusicVinyl
IndieShoegaze

[80/100]   
26/07/2011, Paul WILLEME

EN

Whoever names his band Nothing must either have a significant portion of self-relativism, or at least a slightly masochistic streak. Whatever it is, the quintet from Philadelphia whose debut EP we would like to recommend highly is on track to become a new star in the shoegaze firmament next to groups like Crocodiles, Ceremony, Weekend or The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart. Since the latter took the road to mainstream pop with their most recent album, there was a vacancy that needed to be filled anyway.

Besides these more recent references, the music of Nothing also reminded us of primal shoegazers like My Bloody Valentine or Ride. The title track "Suns And Lovers" settled in our ears from the first listening session, much like "Sight Of You" by Pale Saints once did. The dreamy guitar and melancholic vocals that sing about a lost love withstand repeated listening sessions flawlessly without compromising its strength or atmosphere. Ditto for 'Carnival'.

The two new tracks were complemented with a new recording of "Last Days In Bouville" that appeared earlier on the download-only EP "Poshlost". The track was rerecorded in the studio of industrial noise label Hospital Productions and produced by Kris Lapke and Cold Cave frontman Wes Eisold. Although it's a nice indie rocksong, it pales in comparison to the new tracks.

A mere 300 copies of the vinyl EP "Suns And Lovers" are being distributed by the Japanese label Big Love, who will donate half of the proceeds to the victims of the recent tsunami over there. If you order too late, or worse, if you don't have a turntable, you can download the EP for free at the group's bandcamp webpage.

Paul WILLEME
26/07/2011


NL

Wie zijn groepje Nothing noemt moet ofwel over een behoorlijke portie zelfrelativering beschikken, of op zijn minst een licht masochistisch trekje hebben. Wat er ook van aan is, het vijftal uit Philadelphia waarvan we de debuut EP wensen aan te prijzen is goed op weg een nieuwe ster te worden aan het shoegaze-firmament naast groepen als Crocodiles, Ceremony, Weekend of The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart. Nu deze laatste met hun meest recente album de afslag naar mainstream pop hebben genomen was er alvast een plekje vrij dat ingevuld diende te worden.

Behalve deze recente referenties deed de muziek van Nothing ons uiteraard ook denken aan oer-shoegazers als My Bloody Valentine of Ride. De titeltrack "Suns And Lovers" nestelde zich vanaf de eerste beluistering in ons gehoor zoals "Sight Of You" van Pale Saints dat ooit deed. Het dromerige gitaarspel en de weemoedige zang over een verloren liefde doorstaan feilloos herhaaldelijke luisterbeurten zonder aan sfeer en kracht in te boeten. Idem dito voor "Carnival".

De twee nieuwe tracks werden aangevuld met een heropname van "Last Days In Bouville" dat eerder al op de download only EP "Poshlost" verscheen. De track werd heropgenomen in de studio van het industrial noise label Hospital Productions en geproduceerd door Kris Lapke en Cold Cave frontman Wes Eisold. Hoewel het een leuk indierock nummertje is, steekt het toch wat bleekjes af tegen de nieuwe tracks.

De vinyl EP "Suns And Lovers" verschijnt op slechts 300 exemplaren op het Japanse label Big Love, dat overigens de helft van de opbrengst zal doneren aan de slachtoffers van de recente tsunami. Wie achter het net zou vissen, of erger nog, niet over een platenspeler beschikt, kan voorlopig de EP ook gratis downloaden via de bandcamp webpagina van de groep.

Paul WILLEME
26/07/2011


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life