tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

26/07/2011 : NOTHING - Suns And Lovers EP

NOTHING

Suns And Lovers EP

MusicVinyl
IndieShoegaze

[80/100]   
26/07/2011, Paul WILLEME

EN

Whoever names his band Nothing must either have a significant portion of self-relativism, or at least a slightly masochistic streak. Whatever it is, the quintet from Philadelphia whose debut EP we would like to recommend highly is on track to become a new star in the shoegaze firmament next to groups like Crocodiles, Ceremony, Weekend or The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart. Since the latter took the road to mainstream pop with their most recent album, there was a vacancy that needed to be filled anyway.

Besides these more recent references, the music of Nothing also reminded us of primal shoegazers like My Bloody Valentine or Ride. The title track "Suns And Lovers" settled in our ears from the first listening session, much like "Sight Of You" by Pale Saints once did. The dreamy guitar and melancholic vocals that sing about a lost love withstand repeated listening sessions flawlessly without compromising its strength or atmosphere. Ditto for 'Carnival'.

The two new tracks were complemented with a new recording of "Last Days In Bouville" that appeared earlier on the download-only EP "Poshlost". The track was rerecorded in the studio of industrial noise label Hospital Productions and produced by Kris Lapke and Cold Cave frontman Wes Eisold. Although it's a nice indie rocksong, it pales in comparison to the new tracks.

A mere 300 copies of the vinyl EP "Suns And Lovers" are being distributed by the Japanese label Big Love, who will donate half of the proceeds to the victims of the recent tsunami over there. If you order too late, or worse, if you don't have a turntable, you can download the EP for free at the group's bandcamp webpage.

Paul WILLEME
26/07/2011


NL

Wie zijn groepje Nothing noemt moet ofwel over een behoorlijke portie zelfrelativering beschikken, of op zijn minst een licht masochistisch trekje hebben. Wat er ook van aan is, het vijftal uit Philadelphia waarvan we de debuut EP wensen aan te prijzen is goed op weg een nieuwe ster te worden aan het shoegaze-firmament naast groepen als Crocodiles, Ceremony, Weekend of The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart. Nu deze laatste met hun meest recente album de afslag naar mainstream pop hebben genomen was er alvast een plekje vrij dat ingevuld diende te worden.

Behalve deze recente referenties deed de muziek van Nothing ons uiteraard ook denken aan oer-shoegazers als My Bloody Valentine of Ride. De titeltrack "Suns And Lovers" nestelde zich vanaf de eerste beluistering in ons gehoor zoals "Sight Of You" van Pale Saints dat ooit deed. Het dromerige gitaarspel en de weemoedige zang over een verloren liefde doorstaan feilloos herhaaldelijke luisterbeurten zonder aan sfeer en kracht in te boeten. Idem dito voor "Carnival".

De twee nieuwe tracks werden aangevuld met een heropname van "Last Days In Bouville" dat eerder al op de download only EP "Poshlost" verscheen. De track werd heropgenomen in de studio van het industrial noise label Hospital Productions en geproduceerd door Kris Lapke en Cold Cave frontman Wes Eisold. Hoewel het een leuk indierock nummertje is, steekt het toch wat bleekjes af tegen de nieuwe tracks.

De vinyl EP "Suns And Lovers" verschijnt op slechts 300 exemplaren op het Japanse label Big Love, dat overigens de helft van de opbrengst zal doneren aan de slachtoffers van de recente tsunami. Wie achter het net zou vissen, of erger nog, niet over een platenspeler beschikt, kan voorlopig de EP ook gratis downloaden via de bandcamp webpagina van de groep.

Paul WILLEME
26/07/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?