tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

09/12/2016 : E - The Levitation Syndrome

E

The Levitation Syndrome

MusicCassette
ElectroElectro Wave

[84/100]   

Artoffact
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The new album by The Levitation Syndrome has a classy and stylized cover in the style of Duran Duran's Rio. Not surprising, because it is a release from the same decade. Musically, the album has little in common with Duran Duran, just electro/wave music from the early 80s.

This release is a collection of all singles and EPs of the band, so not a re-release of the eponymous EP of 1981. Available on pale pink vinyl (Artofact Records) and on a limited cassette (Domestica Records). This collection contains 10 songs including the opener Idol Time which perhaps is the best known. This single is a typical product of its time (the synths, the vocals reminiscent of cold wave), but still quite pleasant to listen to.

The four songs from the EP Levitation Syndrome from 1981 are among the most accessible and most melodic the band released. Listen to a song like The Fall: pretty guitar hooks and fine synth work.

E925 is experimental. Prime Cuts, the single from 1980, is a bit more experimental than Idol Time and reminiscent of Kraftwerk or early Human League. Excerpt and Kunstkopf are similar songs. All three atmospheric and instrumental and taken from the single Prime Cuts.

On Reaction, produced by Bob Rock, the band is still searching. The vocals are not very good, but the song has some great synth work. Coincidence is better.

This release is a beautiful time document that shows the roots of electro and wave. A must for those who love electro and early wave.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Het nieuwe album van The Levitation Syndrome heeft een klassevolle en gestyleerde hoes in de stijl van Duran Duran's Rio. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is een release uit hetzelfde decennium. Muzikaal heeft het album niet meteen overeenkomsten met Duran Duran. Het betreft hier electro/wavemuziek uit het begin van de jaren 80.

Deze release is een verzameling van alle singles en ep’s van de band en dus niet een heruitgave van de gelijknamige ep uit 1981. Verkrijgbaar in licht roze vinyl (Artofact Records) en via Domestica Records op gelimiteerde cassette. Deze collectie bevat 10 songs waarvan opener Idol Time misschien het beste bekend is. Deze single is een typisch product van zijn tijd (de synths, de zang die wat aan cold wave doet denken), maar nog best aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

De vier songs van de ep Levitation Syndrome uit 1981 behoren tot hun toegankelijkste en meest melodieuze werk. Luister eens naar een song zoals The Fall: mooie hooks en overgangen en fijn synthwerk.

E925 is een experimenteel muziekfragment dat op geen van de drie releases staat. Prime Cuts, de single uit 1980, is wat experimenteler dan Idol Time en doet wat denken aan Kraftwerk of de premature Human League. Excerpt en Kunstkopf zijn gelijksoortige songs. Alle drie atmosferisch en instrumentaal en afkomstig van de single Prime Cuts. En dat hoor je.

Op Reaction, geproduceerd door o.a. Bob Rock, hoor je de band nog wat zoeken. De vocals zijn niet bijster goed, maar de song bevat wel wat leuk synth werk. Coincidence is vocaal gezien beter gelukt.

Deze release is een mooi tijdsdocument dat aantoont waar de roots van elektro en wave liggen. Een aanrader voor wie van elektro en vroege wave houdt. Je hoort muziek dat is gemaakt met primair materiaal, waardoor alles een speciale sound krijgt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : E - The Levitation Syndrome 09/12/2016 : E - The Levitation Syndrome

 

Next reviews
PJ HARVEY • The Hope Six Demolition Project
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)
NEAR EARTH ORBIT • End Of All Existence
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design