tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2015 : THURISAZ - Live & Acoustic

THURISAZ

Live & Acoustic

MusicCD
AcousticUnplugged

[92/100]   

Self-released
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from the Flemish town of Wervik, has been around since the late nineties. This live CD is already their fourth album. Their music is usually described as atmospheric black metal, but on this release you may drop that term. No panic, because it is a gem.

For this album they recorded 9 songs and three covers in an acoustic way, while they are assisted by a string trio. This makes it a very atmospheric album, full of emotions.

Symbols from the album Circadian Rhythm has a different arrangement, but remains recognizable. Interlude 1 is an instrumental song that sounds very fragile. A magical moment! Years of Silence sounds(apart from the voice) like the original. The female voice by Els Blieck, adds more feeling.

Finalty is a cover of Woods of Ypres. I don’t know this band, nevertheless, it is a very beautiful song. Peter Theuwen’s voice sounds darker and creates a beautiful interplay with piano and strings. Other covers are A natural disaster by Anathema and My Kantele by Amorphis. Both songs of great bands, but Thurisaz does them flawlessly and on a very high level.

Are there any bad moments on this album? Actually no, there are 12 live songs, all beautifully arranged. The first masterpiece of 2015. And we are only halfway through January. In the spring they will release a new studio album. I am already excited about it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Deze band uit het Vlaamse Wervik, bestaat al sedert eind jaren negentig. Ze brengen met deze live-cd hun vierde album uit. De muziek wordt meestal omschreven als atmosferische black metal. Op deze cd mag je de term blackmetal evenwel vergeten, maar fans van het hardere werk van Thurisaz, moeten zeker dit album een keer beluisteren, want het is een juweeltje geworden.

Voor dit album hebben ze 9 nummers en 3 covers in een akoestisch jasje gestopt en ze worden bijgestaan door een driekoppig strijkorkest en een vocaliste. Dat alles zorgt voor een heel sfeervol album dat boordevol emoties zit. Het geluid is trouwens piekfijn opgenomen.

Opener Symbols uit het album Circadian Rhythm heeft een ander arrangement gekregen, maar blijft toch goed herkenbaar. Interlude 1 is een instrumental die heel breekbaar klinkt. Een kippenvelmoment! Years of silence lijkt (op de stem na) op het origineel. De vrouwelijke stem (Els Blieck) die in duet gaat met de zanger, zorgt voor nog meer gevoel.

Finalty is een cover van Woods of Ypres. Ik ken deze band niet, desalniettemin is het een zeer mooi nummer geworden. Peter Theuwen laat zijn stem zakken en donkerder klinken en zorgt voor een mooi samenspel met piano en strijkers. Andere covers zijn A natural disaster van Anathema en My Kantele van Amorphis. Allebei songs van toch wel grote bands. Thurisaz doet dit feilloos en op hoog niveau.

Zijn er mindere momenten op dit album? Eigenlijk niet, het zijn 12 livesongs die prachtig gearrangeerd en vertolkt worden. Het eerste meesterwerk in 2015. En we zijn nog maar halfweg januari… Bovendien brengen ze in het voorjaar nog een nieuw studioalbum uit. Ik ben nu al benieuwd!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo