tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2015 : THURISAZ - Live & Acoustic

THURISAZ

Live & Acoustic

MusicCD
AcousticUnplugged

[92/100]   

Self-released
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from the Flemish town of Wervik, has been around since the late nineties. This live CD is already their fourth album. Their music is usually described as atmospheric black metal, but on this release you may drop that term. No panic, because it is a gem.

For this album they recorded 9 songs and three covers in an acoustic way, while they are assisted by a string trio. This makes it a very atmospheric album, full of emotions.

Symbols from the album Circadian Rhythm has a different arrangement, but remains recognizable. Interlude 1 is an instrumental song that sounds very fragile. A magical moment! Years of Silence sounds(apart from the voice) like the original. The female voice by Els Blieck, adds more feeling.

Finalty is a cover of Woods of Ypres. I don’t know this band, nevertheless, it is a very beautiful song. Peter Theuwen’s voice sounds darker and creates a beautiful interplay with piano and strings. Other covers are A natural disaster by Anathema and My Kantele by Amorphis. Both songs of great bands, but Thurisaz does them flawlessly and on a very high level.

Are there any bad moments on this album? Actually no, there are 12 live songs, all beautifully arranged. The first masterpiece of 2015. And we are only halfway through January. In the spring they will release a new studio album. I am already excited about it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Deze band uit het Vlaamse Wervik, bestaat al sedert eind jaren negentig. Ze brengen met deze live-cd hun vierde album uit. De muziek wordt meestal omschreven als atmosferische black metal. Op deze cd mag je de term blackmetal evenwel vergeten, maar fans van het hardere werk van Thurisaz, moeten zeker dit album een keer beluisteren, want het is een juweeltje geworden.

Voor dit album hebben ze 9 nummers en 3 covers in een akoestisch jasje gestopt en ze worden bijgestaan door een driekoppig strijkorkest en een vocaliste. Dat alles zorgt voor een heel sfeervol album dat boordevol emoties zit. Het geluid is trouwens piekfijn opgenomen.

Opener Symbols uit het album Circadian Rhythm heeft een ander arrangement gekregen, maar blijft toch goed herkenbaar. Interlude 1 is een instrumental die heel breekbaar klinkt. Een kippenvelmoment! Years of silence lijkt (op de stem na) op het origineel. De vrouwelijke stem (Els Blieck) die in duet gaat met de zanger, zorgt voor nog meer gevoel.

Finalty is een cover van Woods of Ypres. Ik ken deze band niet, desalniettemin is het een zeer mooi nummer geworden. Peter Theuwen laat zijn stem zakken en donkerder klinken en zorgt voor een mooi samenspel met piano en strijkers. Andere covers zijn A natural disaster van Anathema en My Kantele van Amorphis. Allebei songs van toch wel grote bands. Thurisaz doet dit feilloos en op hoog niveau.

Zijn er mindere momenten op dit album? Eigenlijk niet, het zijn 12 livesongs die prachtig gearrangeerd en vertolkt worden. Het eerste meesterwerk in 2015. En we zijn nog maar halfweg januari… Bovendien brengen ze in het voorjaar nog een nieuw studioalbum uit. Ik ben nu al benieuwd!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death