tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2015 : THURISAZ - Live & Acoustic

THURISAZ

Live & Acoustic

MusicCD
AcousticUnplugged

[92/100]   

Self-released
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from the Flemish town of Wervik, has been around since the late nineties. This live CD is already their fourth album. Their music is usually described as atmospheric black metal, but on this release you may drop that term. No panic, because it is a gem.

For this album they recorded 9 songs and three covers in an acoustic way, while they are assisted by a string trio. This makes it a very atmospheric album, full of emotions.

Symbols from the album Circadian Rhythm has a different arrangement, but remains recognizable. Interlude 1 is an instrumental song that sounds very fragile. A magical moment! Years of Silence sounds(apart from the voice) like the original. The female voice by Els Blieck, adds more feeling.

Finalty is a cover of Woods of Ypres. I don’t know this band, nevertheless, it is a very beautiful song. Peter Theuwen’s voice sounds darker and creates a beautiful interplay with piano and strings. Other covers are A natural disaster by Anathema and My Kantele by Amorphis. Both songs of great bands, but Thurisaz does them flawlessly and on a very high level.

Are there any bad moments on this album? Actually no, there are 12 live songs, all beautifully arranged. The first masterpiece of 2015. And we are only halfway through January. In the spring they will release a new studio album. I am already excited about it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Deze band uit het Vlaamse Wervik, bestaat al sedert eind jaren negentig. Ze brengen met deze live-cd hun vierde album uit. De muziek wordt meestal omschreven als atmosferische black metal. Op deze cd mag je de term blackmetal evenwel vergeten, maar fans van het hardere werk van Thurisaz, moeten zeker dit album een keer beluisteren, want het is een juweeltje geworden.

Voor dit album hebben ze 9 nummers en 3 covers in een akoestisch jasje gestopt en ze worden bijgestaan door een driekoppig strijkorkest en een vocaliste. Dat alles zorgt voor een heel sfeervol album dat boordevol emoties zit. Het geluid is trouwens piekfijn opgenomen.

Opener Symbols uit het album Circadian Rhythm heeft een ander arrangement gekregen, maar blijft toch goed herkenbaar. Interlude 1 is een instrumental die heel breekbaar klinkt. Een kippenvelmoment! Years of silence lijkt (op de stem na) op het origineel. De vrouwelijke stem (Els Blieck) die in duet gaat met de zanger, zorgt voor nog meer gevoel.

Finalty is een cover van Woods of Ypres. Ik ken deze band niet, desalniettemin is het een zeer mooi nummer geworden. Peter Theuwen laat zijn stem zakken en donkerder klinken en zorgt voor een mooi samenspel met piano en strijkers. Andere covers zijn A natural disaster van Anathema en My Kantele van Amorphis. Allebei songs van toch wel grote bands. Thurisaz doet dit feilloos en op hoog niveau.

Zijn er mindere momenten op dit album? Eigenlijk niet, het zijn 12 livesongs die prachtig gearrangeerd en vertolkt worden. Het eerste meesterwerk in 2015. En we zijn nog maar halfweg januari… Bovendien brengen ze in het voorjaar nog een nieuw studioalbum uit. Ik ben nu al benieuwd!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain