tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

STAR INDUSTRY

Renegades

MusicCD
Gothic RockNew wave

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We had to wait five years for some new material by Star Industry, which feels indeed like an eternity in the music industry. Last year they released the Eyline-EP, that was worldwide well received, and this month the full album Renegade is coming our way, produced by Tom Proost.

Eyline opens the album and is followed by Driven, that can be easily described as a typical Star Industry-song; recognisable guitars, the voice of Peter Beckers that is similar to the one of Andrew Eldritch, a nice refrain and female vocals that give the song some extra colour. A real contrast is Selling Icons, that has a nice piano interlude.

Something totally different is Revelation, that has some electro and industrial influences like we know from Gary Numan. Renegade starts with angelic female vocals, but soon synths and a sing-a-long chorus are added. Dark Rain is definitely inspired by the 80’s, while Reign On Fire has that typical The Sisters Of Mercy-feel, albeit in a positive way. An ideal choice for a next song would be Shiver, that is electro like we know from Depeche Mode or Clan Of Xymox.

It graces Star Industry that they have recorded their songs in the most simple way, and that works. For devoted fans there is a limited edition with a second CD that features stuff like clubmixes from Eyline, Kids (the MGMT-song), The walk (The Cure) or Nineties.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


NL

Het was vijf jaar wachten op nieuw werk van Star Industry, wat bijna een eeuwigheid in de muziekindustrie is. Eind vorig jaar kwam de EP Eyline uit die overal goed werd ontvangen.Normaal, want het is een prima club- en radionummer. En in maart komt Renegade uit, dat door Tom Proost (o.a. de vaste livemixer van Raymond Van Het Groenewoud) is geproduceerd.

Na het bekende Eyline als opener, krijgen we met Driven een typisch Star Industry nummer: een herkenbare gitaar, de stem van Peter Beckers die wat naar Andrew Eldritch neigt, een vlot refrein en vrouwelijke vocals die het nummer wat extra kleur geven. Selling Icons vormt met zijn pianoriedel een mooi contrast met het eerder donker en bombastisch nummer.

Revelation heeft wat electro en industrial invloeden zoals Gary Numan die soms ook wel gebruikt. Renegade begint met een engelachtige vrouwengezang, maar krijgt daarna naast synthwerk, een meezingbaar refrein met middenin zelfs een orgelstukje.

Dark Rain heeft een duidelijke jaren tachtig-gevoel: een recht toe recht aan nummer met een heel herkenbare melodie. New Religion werkt weer met samples van vrouwelijke stemmen. Reign On Fire begint als een zwaar rocknummer, The Sisters Of Mercy klinken hier opnieuw een beetje om de hoek, maar op een positieve manier.

Shiver begint als een electrosong in de stijl van Depeche Mode of Clan Of Xymox: de manier waarop Peter zingt geeft een mooie sfeer aan het nummer. Echt een ideale keuze voor een volgende single.

Wat opvalt aan het album is dat er geen overbodige franjes aan de nummers zijn toegevoegd, en dat werkt. Star Industry is terug en hoe!

Voor de grote fans is er ook nog de limited edition met een tweede cd die (club)mixen van o.a. Eyline, Kids (van de band MGMT), The walk (The Cure) of Nineties bevat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades 01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession