tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

STAR INDUSTRY

Renegades

MusicCD
Gothic RockNew wave

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We had to wait five years for some new material by Star Industry, which feels indeed like an eternity in the music industry. Last year they released the Eyline-EP, that was worldwide well received, and this month the full album Renegade is coming our way, produced by Tom Proost.

Eyline opens the album and is followed by Driven, that can be easily described as a typical Star Industry-song; recognisable guitars, the voice of Peter Beckers that is similar to the one of Andrew Eldritch, a nice refrain and female vocals that give the song some extra colour. A real contrast is Selling Icons, that has a nice piano interlude.

Something totally different is Revelation, that has some electro and industrial influences like we know from Gary Numan. Renegade starts with angelic female vocals, but soon synths and a sing-a-long chorus are added. Dark Rain is definitely inspired by the 80’s, while Reign On Fire has that typical The Sisters Of Mercy-feel, albeit in a positive way. An ideal choice for a next song would be Shiver, that is electro like we know from Depeche Mode or Clan Of Xymox.

It graces Star Industry that they have recorded their songs in the most simple way, and that works. For devoted fans there is a limited edition with a second CD that features stuff like clubmixes from Eyline, Kids (the MGMT-song), The walk (The Cure) or Nineties.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


NL

Het was vijf jaar wachten op nieuw werk van Star Industry, wat bijna een eeuwigheid in de muziekindustrie is. Eind vorig jaar kwam de EP Eyline uit die overal goed werd ontvangen.Normaal, want het is een prima club- en radionummer. En in maart komt Renegade uit, dat door Tom Proost (o.a. de vaste livemixer van Raymond Van Het Groenewoud) is geproduceerd.

Na het bekende Eyline als opener, krijgen we met Driven een typisch Star Industry nummer: een herkenbare gitaar, de stem van Peter Beckers die wat naar Andrew Eldritch neigt, een vlot refrein en vrouwelijke vocals die het nummer wat extra kleur geven. Selling Icons vormt met zijn pianoriedel een mooi contrast met het eerder donker en bombastisch nummer.

Revelation heeft wat electro en industrial invloeden zoals Gary Numan die soms ook wel gebruikt. Renegade begint met een engelachtige vrouwengezang, maar krijgt daarna naast synthwerk, een meezingbaar refrein met middenin zelfs een orgelstukje.

Dark Rain heeft een duidelijke jaren tachtig-gevoel: een recht toe recht aan nummer met een heel herkenbare melodie. New Religion werkt weer met samples van vrouwelijke stemmen. Reign On Fire begint als een zwaar rocknummer, The Sisters Of Mercy klinken hier opnieuw een beetje om de hoek, maar op een positieve manier.

Shiver begint als een electrosong in de stijl van Depeche Mode of Clan Of Xymox: de manier waarop Peter zingt geeft een mooie sfeer aan het nummer. Echt een ideale keuze voor een volgende single.

Wat opvalt aan het album is dat er geen overbodige franjes aan de nummers zijn toegevoegd, en dat werkt. Star Industry is terug en hoe!

Voor de grote fans is er ook nog de limited edition met een tweede cd die (club)mixen van o.a. Eyline, Kids (van de band MGMT), The walk (The Cure) of Nineties bevat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades 01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf