tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

STAR INDUSTRY

Renegades

MusicCD
Gothic RockNew wave

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We had to wait five years for some new material by Star Industry, which feels indeed like an eternity in the music industry. Last year they released the Eyline-EP, that was worldwide well received, and this month the full album Renegade is coming our way, produced by Tom Proost.

Eyline opens the album and is followed by Driven, that can be easily described as a typical Star Industry-song; recognisable guitars, the voice of Peter Beckers that is similar to the one of Andrew Eldritch, a nice refrain and female vocals that give the song some extra colour. A real contrast is Selling Icons, that has a nice piano interlude.

Something totally different is Revelation, that has some electro and industrial influences like we know from Gary Numan. Renegade starts with angelic female vocals, but soon synths and a sing-a-long chorus are added. Dark Rain is definitely inspired by the 80’s, while Reign On Fire has that typical The Sisters Of Mercy-feel, albeit in a positive way. An ideal choice for a next song would be Shiver, that is electro like we know from Depeche Mode or Clan Of Xymox.

It graces Star Industry that they have recorded their songs in the most simple way, and that works. For devoted fans there is a limited edition with a second CD that features stuff like clubmixes from Eyline, Kids (the MGMT-song), The walk (The Cure) or Nineties.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


NL

Het was vijf jaar wachten op nieuw werk van Star Industry, wat bijna een eeuwigheid in de muziekindustrie is. Eind vorig jaar kwam de EP Eyline uit die overal goed werd ontvangen.Normaal, want het is een prima club- en radionummer. En in maart komt Renegade uit, dat door Tom Proost (o.a. de vaste livemixer van Raymond Van Het Groenewoud) is geproduceerd.

Na het bekende Eyline als opener, krijgen we met Driven een typisch Star Industry nummer: een herkenbare gitaar, de stem van Peter Beckers die wat naar Andrew Eldritch neigt, een vlot refrein en vrouwelijke vocals die het nummer wat extra kleur geven. Selling Icons vormt met zijn pianoriedel een mooi contrast met het eerder donker en bombastisch nummer.

Revelation heeft wat electro en industrial invloeden zoals Gary Numan die soms ook wel gebruikt. Renegade begint met een engelachtige vrouwengezang, maar krijgt daarna naast synthwerk, een meezingbaar refrein met middenin zelfs een orgelstukje.

Dark Rain heeft een duidelijke jaren tachtig-gevoel: een recht toe recht aan nummer met een heel herkenbare melodie. New Religion werkt weer met samples van vrouwelijke stemmen. Reign On Fire begint als een zwaar rocknummer, The Sisters Of Mercy klinken hier opnieuw een beetje om de hoek, maar op een positieve manier.

Shiver begint als een electrosong in de stijl van Depeche Mode of Clan Of Xymox: de manier waarop Peter zingt geeft een mooie sfeer aan het nummer. Echt een ideale keuze voor een volgende single.

Wat opvalt aan het album is dat er geen overbodige franjes aan de nummers zijn toegevoegd, en dat werkt. Star Industry is terug en hoe!

Voor de grote fans is er ook nog de limited edition met een tweede cd die (club)mixen van o.a. Eyline, Kids (van de band MGMT), The walk (The Cure) of Nineties bevat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades 01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets