tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

STAR INDUSTRY

Renegades

MusicCD
Gothic RockNew wave

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We had to wait five years for some new material by Star Industry, which feels indeed like an eternity in the music industry. Last year they released the Eyline-EP, that was worldwide well received, and this month the full album Renegade is coming our way, produced by Tom Proost.

Eyline opens the album and is followed by Driven, that can be easily described as a typical Star Industry-song; recognisable guitars, the voice of Peter Beckers that is similar to the one of Andrew Eldritch, a nice refrain and female vocals that give the song some extra colour. A real contrast is Selling Icons, that has a nice piano interlude.

Something totally different is Revelation, that has some electro and industrial influences like we know from Gary Numan. Renegade starts with angelic female vocals, but soon synths and a sing-a-long chorus are added. Dark Rain is definitely inspired by the 80’s, while Reign On Fire has that typical The Sisters Of Mercy-feel, albeit in a positive way. An ideal choice for a next song would be Shiver, that is electro like we know from Depeche Mode or Clan Of Xymox.

It graces Star Industry that they have recorded their songs in the most simple way, and that works. For devoted fans there is a limited edition with a second CD that features stuff like clubmixes from Eyline, Kids (the MGMT-song), The walk (The Cure) or Nineties.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


NL

Het was vijf jaar wachten op nieuw werk van Star Industry, wat bijna een eeuwigheid in de muziekindustrie is. Eind vorig jaar kwam de EP Eyline uit die overal goed werd ontvangen.Normaal, want het is een prima club- en radionummer. En in maart komt Renegade uit, dat door Tom Proost (o.a. de vaste livemixer van Raymond Van Het Groenewoud) is geproduceerd.

Na het bekende Eyline als opener, krijgen we met Driven een typisch Star Industry nummer: een herkenbare gitaar, de stem van Peter Beckers die wat naar Andrew Eldritch neigt, een vlot refrein en vrouwelijke vocals die het nummer wat extra kleur geven. Selling Icons vormt met zijn pianoriedel een mooi contrast met het eerder donker en bombastisch nummer.

Revelation heeft wat electro en industrial invloeden zoals Gary Numan die soms ook wel gebruikt. Renegade begint met een engelachtige vrouwengezang, maar krijgt daarna naast synthwerk, een meezingbaar refrein met middenin zelfs een orgelstukje.

Dark Rain heeft een duidelijke jaren tachtig-gevoel: een recht toe recht aan nummer met een heel herkenbare melodie. New Religion werkt weer met samples van vrouwelijke stemmen. Reign On Fire begint als een zwaar rocknummer, The Sisters Of Mercy klinken hier opnieuw een beetje om de hoek, maar op een positieve manier.

Shiver begint als een electrosong in de stijl van Depeche Mode of Clan Of Xymox: de manier waarop Peter zingt geeft een mooie sfeer aan het nummer. Echt een ideale keuze voor een volgende single.

Wat opvalt aan het album is dat er geen overbodige franjes aan de nummers zijn toegevoegd, en dat werkt. Star Industry is terug en hoe!

Voor de grote fans is er ook nog de limited edition met een tweede cd die (club)mixen van o.a. Eyline, Kids (van de band MGMT), The walk (The Cure) of Nineties bevat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades 01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

 

Next reviews
JACQUES TOURNEUR • The Comedy Of Terrors
PAUL WELLER • White Sky
PABLO BERGER • Blancanieves
• Leonard Nimoy - The Death of Another Icon
THE LILAC TIME • No Sad Songs
RAPHAEL FRYDMAN • N'importe qui
JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI • What We Do In The Shadows
CASEY LA SCALA • The Remaining
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Broken Window Theory
MARTIN CALLINGHAM • Folding

 

Other reviews from STAR INDUSTRY
STAR INDUSTRY • Eilyne

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life