tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

03/03/2015 : EX-RZ - Drone Operator

EX-RZ

Drone Operator

Music7 inch
New wave

[65/100]   

Starman Records
03/03/2015, Peter TYLER

Some years ago “Red Zebra” fell apart.. While composers Geert Maertens and Johan Isselee formed “Elements” along with the other musicians, singer Peter Slabbynck continues as “Ex-RZ”.

The band has fallen apart, which most likely explains the choice of the B-side, a remake of the song “I’m falling apart”.

But first Side A.. “Drone Operator”, a solid energetic single with the combat skills of a drone, loaded with Duracell batteries and operated by a Radio Shack remote control. “Is it a man, is it a woman, a child or a dog?”, sings Slabbynck.. I wouldn't know... there still are lots of other possibilities, not counting Megamindy as one of them. But without doubt this is a single that should hijack some airplay, even if it was only to enlighten the traffic jams.. Looking up to the sky and realising: with a drone, I would already have been there…

All of the sudden those flying objects remind me of the Love Missile of Sigue SIgue Sputnik, which brings us to Side B. Electronics and a drum machine, most likely borrowed by those gentlemen, are the foundation of this new version of “I’m Falling Apart”.

Peter Slabbynck is in all his diversity also a bit of a white rapper, it takes some time to adjust, but it is great fun... “Apart“ even sounds a little bit like the Flemish “Een paard" (A Horse), and yes.. even without any expedients I do see a galloping horse… During the production they even found a small bottle with still some drops of “Belpop sauce” in it, which despite of the overdue expiring date, was added to give the mix something… well.. something authentic... And the fun makes us realise we shouldn't mourn about the split of Red Zebra, but be happy instead, as we do have two bands in return !

I do love it…. vinyl singles in the year 2015... Now we only have to teach the nowadays radio deejays what a turntable looks like and how it works. Perhaps give one away in a contest for a real playlist? It would definitely be great for the Belgian music scene...

Peter TYLER
03/03/2015


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer