tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

03/03/2015 : EX-RZ - Drone Operator

EX-RZ

Drone Operator

Music7 inch
New wave

[65/100]   

Starman Records
03/03/2015, Peter TYLER

Some years ago “Red Zebra” fell apart.. While composers Geert Maertens and Johan Isselee formed “Elements” along with the other musicians, singer Peter Slabbynck continues as “Ex-RZ”.

The band has fallen apart, which most likely explains the choice of the B-side, a remake of the song “I’m falling apart”.

But first Side A.. “Drone Operator”, a solid energetic single with the combat skills of a drone, loaded with Duracell batteries and operated by a Radio Shack remote control. “Is it a man, is it a woman, a child or a dog?”, sings Slabbynck.. I wouldn't know... there still are lots of other possibilities, not counting Megamindy as one of them. But without doubt this is a single that should hijack some airplay, even if it was only to enlighten the traffic jams.. Looking up to the sky and realising: with a drone, I would already have been there…

All of the sudden those flying objects remind me of the Love Missile of Sigue SIgue Sputnik, which brings us to Side B. Electronics and a drum machine, most likely borrowed by those gentlemen, are the foundation of this new version of “I’m Falling Apart”.

Peter Slabbynck is in all his diversity also a bit of a white rapper, it takes some time to adjust, but it is great fun... “Apart“ even sounds a little bit like the Flemish “Een paard" (A Horse), and yes.. even without any expedients I do see a galloping horse… During the production they even found a small bottle with still some drops of “Belpop sauce” in it, which despite of the overdue expiring date, was added to give the mix something… well.. something authentic... And the fun makes us realise we shouldn't mourn about the split of Red Zebra, but be happy instead, as we do have two bands in return !

I do love it…. vinyl singles in the year 2015... Now we only have to teach the nowadays radio deejays what a turntable looks like and how it works. Perhaps give one away in a contest for a real playlist? It would definitely be great for the Belgian music scene...

Peter TYLER
03/03/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo