tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

03/03/2015 : EX-RZ - Drone Operator

EX-RZ

Drone Operator

Music7 inch
New wave

[65/100]   

Starman Records
03/03/2015, Peter TYLER

Some years ago “Red Zebra” fell apart.. While composers Geert Maertens and Johan Isselee formed “Elements” along with the other musicians, singer Peter Slabbynck continues as “Ex-RZ”.

The band has fallen apart, which most likely explains the choice of the B-side, a remake of the song “I’m falling apart”.

But first Side A.. “Drone Operator”, a solid energetic single with the combat skills of a drone, loaded with Duracell batteries and operated by a Radio Shack remote control. “Is it a man, is it a woman, a child or a dog?”, sings Slabbynck.. I wouldn't know... there still are lots of other possibilities, not counting Megamindy as one of them. But without doubt this is a single that should hijack some airplay, even if it was only to enlighten the traffic jams.. Looking up to the sky and realising: with a drone, I would already have been there…

All of the sudden those flying objects remind me of the Love Missile of Sigue SIgue Sputnik, which brings us to Side B. Electronics and a drum machine, most likely borrowed by those gentlemen, are the foundation of this new version of “I’m Falling Apart”.

Peter Slabbynck is in all his diversity also a bit of a white rapper, it takes some time to adjust, but it is great fun... “Apart“ even sounds a little bit like the Flemish “Een paard" (A Horse), and yes.. even without any expedients I do see a galloping horse… During the production they even found a small bottle with still some drops of “Belpop sauce” in it, which despite of the overdue expiring date, was added to give the mix something… well.. something authentic... And the fun makes us realise we shouldn't mourn about the split of Red Zebra, but be happy instead, as we do have two bands in return !

I do love it…. vinyl singles in the year 2015... Now we only have to teach the nowadays radio deejays what a turntable looks like and how it works. Perhaps give one away in a contest for a real playlist? It would definitely be great for the Belgian music scene...

Peter TYLER
03/03/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face