tempobet yeni adresi
like this 7 inch review

03/03/2015 : EX-RZ - Drone Operator

EX-RZ

Drone Operator

Music7 inch
New wave

[65/100]   

Starman Records
03/03/2015, Peter TYLER

Some years ago “Red Zebra” fell apart.. While composers Geert Maertens and Johan Isselee formed “Elements” along with the other musicians, singer Peter Slabbynck continues as “Ex-RZ”.

The band has fallen apart, which most likely explains the choice of the B-side, a remake of the song “I’m falling apart”.

But first Side A.. “Drone Operator”, a solid energetic single with the combat skills of a drone, loaded with Duracell batteries and operated by a Radio Shack remote control. “Is it a man, is it a woman, a child or a dog?”, sings Slabbynck.. I wouldn't know... there still are lots of other possibilities, not counting Megamindy as one of them. But without doubt this is a single that should hijack some airplay, even if it was only to enlighten the traffic jams.. Looking up to the sky and realising: with a drone, I would already have been there…

All of the sudden those flying objects remind me of the Love Missile of Sigue SIgue Sputnik, which brings us to Side B. Electronics and a drum machine, most likely borrowed by those gentlemen, are the foundation of this new version of “I’m Falling Apart”.

Peter Slabbynck is in all his diversity also a bit of a white rapper, it takes some time to adjust, but it is great fun... “Apart“ even sounds a little bit like the Flemish “Een paard" (A Horse), and yes.. even without any expedients I do see a galloping horse… During the production they even found a small bottle with still some drops of “Belpop sauce” in it, which despite of the overdue expiring date, was added to give the mix something… well.. something authentic... And the fun makes us realise we shouldn't mourn about the split of Red Zebra, but be happy instead, as we do have two bands in return !

I do love it…. vinyl singles in the year 2015... Now we only have to teach the nowadays radio deejays what a turntable looks like and how it works. Perhaps give one away in a contest for a real playlist? It would definitely be great for the Belgian music scene...

Peter TYLER
03/03/2015


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic