tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/07/2011 : HAUS ARAFNA - New York Rhapsody

HAUS ARAFNA

New York Rhapsody

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[81/100]   

Galakthorroe
21/07/2011, Didier BECU

The German industrial band Haus Arafna is often described as one of the bands who are making the so called “Angstpop” genre. Since the early 90’s, Mr. and Mrs. Arafna indeed make the kind of pop which is both inspired by the dark industrial sounds from SPK and the minimal electro-clash pop from say, Chris & Cosey. Due to their high dose of originality, this duo gained much respect outside the scene, even in the fashion scene!

'New York Rhapsody‘ saw its premiere in 2009 at the New York Fashion Week. Fashion designer Katie Gallagher asked the band to compose music for her show. A more than unusual thing for an indusband and so it happens that “New York Rhapsody’ must be the most accessible Haus Arafna album you’ll ever come accross without forgetting their roots. Not that we ever will call this German duo pop, mind you!

The first three tracks contain the traditional Haus Arafna-elements: the sound of lashes, understated electronic beats, a threatening atmosphere, distorted voices and cries of despair and the kind of music that feels like you’re entering some slaughter house.

You know indeed what you’ll see won’t be the best thing the eyes will see but the perverse curiosity makes you enter the door.

Does it make sense to define their music as macabre dark pop? I guess so as “I Did It For You’ sounds like the ultimate love anthem penned by a serial killer and makes a song like “Kalt Im Bauch” have title perfection!

Those who are familiar with Haus Arafna know that their music is an unique experience where darkness and intelligence are converted to industrial music pieces for the outsiders of society.

Genius as always, not that we can imagine it being played on a catwalk and for the vinyl fans among you: this CD is also available on vinyl format with hand-numbered limited edition of 913 copies.

Didier BECU
21/07/2011


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)