tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/07/2011 : HAUS ARAFNA - New York Rhapsody

HAUS ARAFNA

New York Rhapsody

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[81/100]   

Galakthorroe
21/07/2011, Didier BECU

The German industrial band Haus Arafna is often described as one of the bands who are making the so called “Angstpop” genre. Since the early 90’s, Mr. and Mrs. Arafna indeed make the kind of pop which is both inspired by the dark industrial sounds from SPK and the minimal electro-clash pop from say, Chris & Cosey. Due to their high dose of originality, this duo gained much respect outside the scene, even in the fashion scene!

'New York Rhapsody‘ saw its premiere in 2009 at the New York Fashion Week. Fashion designer Katie Gallagher asked the band to compose music for her show. A more than unusual thing for an indusband and so it happens that “New York Rhapsody’ must be the most accessible Haus Arafna album you’ll ever come accross without forgetting their roots. Not that we ever will call this German duo pop, mind you!

The first three tracks contain the traditional Haus Arafna-elements: the sound of lashes, understated electronic beats, a threatening atmosphere, distorted voices and cries of despair and the kind of music that feels like you’re entering some slaughter house.

You know indeed what you’ll see won’t be the best thing the eyes will see but the perverse curiosity makes you enter the door.

Does it make sense to define their music as macabre dark pop? I guess so as “I Did It For You’ sounds like the ultimate love anthem penned by a serial killer and makes a song like “Kalt Im Bauch” have title perfection!

Those who are familiar with Haus Arafna know that their music is an unique experience where darkness and intelligence are converted to industrial music pieces for the outsiders of society.

Genius as always, not that we can imagine it being played on a catwalk and for the vinyl fans among you: this CD is also available on vinyl format with hand-numbered limited edition of 913 copies.

Didier BECU
21/07/2011


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017