tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

30/04/2020 : STRIKKLAND - Predatorial Right

STRIKKLAND

Predatorial Right

MusicDigital
EBM

[85/100]   

Self-released
30/04/2020, Peter DOLPHEN

EN

Sweden may have become one of the most EBM-producing countries, hence the multitude of projects the country has (not that long ago, our friends of Body Beats organised the International EBM-day 2019 with only Swedish bands).

It may not come as a surprise that over there new bands come out of the ground like mushrooms...

One of these new bands is Strikkland. Although, new... The band already exists for 5 years (since 2015), but has finally released their first single: Predatorial Right.

The track, normally followed by a second single in May (Dance like a god) and a still unnamed EP later on, shows clearly the influence of the bands the 2 members (Hendric Ceder, programming and Hendrik Johansson, lyrics) call their idols: DAF, Nitzer Ebb and SA42. I cannot put my finger on the fact that Depeche Mode is also an influence on this, but maybe that will be more clear in future releases.

At this point the single is only available through Bandcamp, but give it a try, you might like it!

Peter DOLPHEN
30/04/2020


NL

Zweden mag een van de meest EBM-producerende landen genoemd worden, getuige de vele projecten die het land rijk is (niet zo lang geleden organiseerden onze vrienden van Body Beats nog een volledig Zweedse avond op International EBM Day 2019).

Dat nieuwe bands er als champignons uit de grond schieten, is dan ook geen verrassing.

Een van die nieuwe bands is Strikkland. Nu ja, nieuw... De band zelf bestaat al 5 jaar (sinds 2015) maar heeft nu eindelijk zijn eerste exploot ook effectief uitgebracht: de single Predatorial Right.

Het nummer, dat normaliter in mei gevolgd zal worden door een tweede single (Dance like a god) en een nu nog naamloze EP, laat niets aan de verbeelding over: het is duidelijk dat de 2 (Henric Ceder, programming en Hendrik Johansson, lyrics) stevig beïnvloed zijn door dun idolen van DAF, Nitzer Ebb en SA42. Zelf haalt de band ook Depeche Mode aan als invloed, hoewel ik die nu niet direct hoor (misschien wel in wat nog volgt).

Voorlopig enkel digitaal te koop via Bandcamp, maar probeer het: you might like it!

Peter DOLPHEN
30/04/2020


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith