tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

30/04/2020 : STRIKKLAND - Predatorial Right

STRIKKLAND

Predatorial Right

MusicDigital
EBM

[85/100]   

Self-released
30/04/2020, Peter DOLPHEN

EN

Sweden may have become one of the most EBM-producing countries, hence the multitude of projects the country has (not that long ago, our friends of Body Beats organised the International EBM-day 2019 with only Swedish bands).

It may not come as a surprise that over there new bands come out of the ground like mushrooms...

One of these new bands is Strikkland. Although, new... The band already exists for 5 years (since 2015), but has finally released their first single: Predatorial Right.

The track, normally followed by a second single in May (Dance like a god) and a still unnamed EP later on, shows clearly the influence of the bands the 2 members (Hendric Ceder, programming and Hendrik Johansson, lyrics) call their idols: DAF, Nitzer Ebb and SA42. I cannot put my finger on the fact that Depeche Mode is also an influence on this, but maybe that will be more clear in future releases.

At this point the single is only available through Bandcamp, but give it a try, you might like it!

Peter DOLPHEN
30/04/2020


NL

Zweden mag een van de meest EBM-producerende landen genoemd worden, getuige de vele projecten die het land rijk is (niet zo lang geleden organiseerden onze vrienden van Body Beats nog een volledig Zweedse avond op International EBM Day 2019).

Dat nieuwe bands er als champignons uit de grond schieten, is dan ook geen verrassing.

Een van die nieuwe bands is Strikkland. Nu ja, nieuw... De band zelf bestaat al 5 jaar (sinds 2015) maar heeft nu eindelijk zijn eerste exploot ook effectief uitgebracht: de single Predatorial Right.

Het nummer, dat normaliter in mei gevolgd zal worden door een tweede single (Dance like a god) en een nu nog naamloze EP, laat niets aan de verbeelding over: het is duidelijk dat de 2 (Henric Ceder, programming en Hendrik Johansson, lyrics) stevig beïnvloed zijn door dun idolen van DAF, Nitzer Ebb en SA42. Zelf haalt de band ook Depeche Mode aan als invloed, hoewel ik die nu niet direct hoor (misschien wel in wat nog volgt).

Voorlopig enkel digitaal te koop via Bandcamp, maar probeer het: you might like it!

Peter DOLPHEN
30/04/2020


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO