tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

DICEPEOPLE

One From Many

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[83/100]   

Syndicol Music
31/08/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

London is not known as the most sunny city and in 2013 Dicepeople emerged from its obscure underground. Dicepeople is an electro band consisting of Matt Brock (musician, songwriter and producer), Zmora (singer) and Rafael Filomeno (visual artist). For their music, this trio picks elements from several different genres, amongst them are Synth-Pop, EBM, Dark-Wave and Post-Rock.

The previous Dicepeople album End Of Line already showed the direction they were going, slightly darker and more electronic. With this new album One From Many these directions are extended with powerful soundscapes, heavy beats, distorted synths and guitars in overdrive. It’s like opening Pandora’s box and being taken away to an otherworldly place where fears and dreams come closer.

Void is an obscure spoken word intro that wades through horror scenes and that clearly embodies fear. Gone is a dormant Electro / Synth-Pop song that has a very special feel due to the vocal curves the voice of Zmora makes.

That a human body can be bent into virtually incomprehensible positions just by music is demonstrated in Multiplicity. A very danceable and rhythmic EBM song. The next song Celestial fits in seamlessly with a bit more Synth / Future-Pop touch.

That synthesizers are extremely flexible in terms of tonality becomes clear in Nitro. With some heavy noisy sounds, this song turns out to be an almost old-school-EBM-thing. It’s nice to experience how this trio spread out their musical tastes. Speaking of taste, we stay in the same style for Addiction. Slightly milder and a bit slower but still very firm. The alternating dance between the voice of Zmora and her male colleague works amazingly well.

We mentioned Dark-Wave in the intro and with Pigs it comes in hard. A blissful hip-shaking track!

When it comes to musical expertise, variation and not being afraid of making different electronic escapades, this is an album to refer to!

Then, with some more distortion and noisy influences, a nice beat and lyricism, we get This. Full of Electro-Punk influences, a mist of noise, a pinch of industrial … and so much more!

As the cherry on the cake we get Duality to complete this nine-track album. It sounds epic, medieval and contemporary at the same time. An almost painfully dry snaredrum literally beats throughout the whole song. A very mysterious track and perhaps even the darkest one on this very fascinating One From Many.

This is not Dicepeople’s debut and that can be clearly heard. This album became a very mature, well produced and diverse album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


NL

Londen is niet de meest zonnige stad en uit het obscure ondergrondse is in 2013 een electro-band onstproten: Dicepeople, bestaande uit Matt Brock (muzikant, songwriter en producer), Zmora (zanger) en Rafael Filomeno (beeldend kunstenaar). Het trio plukt in hun muziek elementen uit verschillende genres, waaronder synthpop, EBM, darkwave en post-rock.
Het laatste album van Dicepeople, End Of Line, liet al uitschijnen dat de ingeslagen richting iets donkerder en meer electro zou tijn. En met One From Many, wordt die lijn doorgetrokken naar krachtige soundscapes, met zware beats, vervormde synths en gitaren in overdrive. Een doos opent zich, en neemt je mee naar een onwereldse plek waarin angsten en dromen dreigend nabij komen.

Void is een obscure spoken words intro die waadt in horrortaferelen en die de angst waarvan sprake overduidelijk body geeft. Gone is een sluimerende electro/synthpopsong die door de vocale bochten in de stem van Zmora een heel apart karakter heeft.
Dat een lichaam door muziek in verstandelijk onbegrijpelijke bochten kan worden gedwongen, wordt muzikaal aangetoond in Multiplicity. Een goed dansbare ritmische EBM-song. Celestial sluit daar naadloos bij aan, en ademt synth-/future-pop uit.

Dat synthesizers extreem rekbaar zijn qua tonaliteit wordt duidelijk in Nitro. Met heavy noise in de klanken, ontpopt dit nummer zich tot een bijna old-school EBM-er. Mooi om te ervaren hoe het trio zich muzikaal breed uitsmeert. En nu we de smaak te pakken hebben, blijven we in hetzelfde ritme met Addiction. Iets milder en trager, maar toch heel stevig. De dans tussen de stem van Zmora en een mannelijke collega werkt verbluffend goed.

In de intro was darkwave genoemd, met Pigs krijgen we lik op stuk. Zalig heupwiegend nummer…
Als het gaat om muzikale kunde, variatie en niet bang zijn van verschillende electronische escapades, dan is dit album er ééntje om in te kaderen. Wat meer distortie en noisy invloeden, met alsnog een lekkere beat en lyriek, dan krijgen we This cadeau. Er zitten electro-punk invloeden in, er is een nevel van noise, een snuifje industrial,.. and so on.

En als toetje van dit 9 nummers tellende album krijgen we Duality. Het klinkt zowel episch en middeleeuws als hedendaags. Een tergend droge snaardrum beukt letterlijk doorheen de song. We krijgen een heel mysterieus nummer, het donkerste op deze overigens heel boeiende One From Many.

Dicepeople is niet aan hun proefstuk toe en dat hoor je. Dit is een heel volwassen, mooi geproducet en divers album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many 31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them