tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

DICEPEOPLE

One From Many

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[83/100]   

Syndicol Music
31/08/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

London is not known as the most sunny city and in 2013 Dicepeople emerged from its obscure underground. Dicepeople is an electro band consisting of Matt Brock (musician, songwriter and producer), Zmora (singer) and Rafael Filomeno (visual artist). For their music, this trio picks elements from several different genres, amongst them are Synth-Pop, EBM, Dark-Wave and Post-Rock.

The previous Dicepeople album End Of Line already showed the direction they were going, slightly darker and more electronic. With this new album One From Many these directions are extended with powerful soundscapes, heavy beats, distorted synths and guitars in overdrive. It’s like opening Pandora’s box and being taken away to an otherworldly place where fears and dreams come closer.

Void is an obscure spoken word intro that wades through horror scenes and that clearly embodies fear. Gone is a dormant Electro / Synth-Pop song that has a very special feel due to the vocal curves the voice of Zmora makes.

That a human body can be bent into virtually incomprehensible positions just by music is demonstrated in Multiplicity. A very danceable and rhythmic EBM song. The next song Celestial fits in seamlessly with a bit more Synth / Future-Pop touch.

That synthesizers are extremely flexible in terms of tonality becomes clear in Nitro. With some heavy noisy sounds, this song turns out to be an almost old-school-EBM-thing. It’s nice to experience how this trio spread out their musical tastes. Speaking of taste, we stay in the same style for Addiction. Slightly milder and a bit slower but still very firm. The alternating dance between the voice of Zmora and her male colleague works amazingly well.

We mentioned Dark-Wave in the intro and with Pigs it comes in hard. A blissful hip-shaking track!

When it comes to musical expertise, variation and not being afraid of making different electronic escapades, this is an album to refer to!

Then, with some more distortion and noisy influences, a nice beat and lyricism, we get This. Full of Electro-Punk influences, a mist of noise, a pinch of industrial … and so much more!

As the cherry on the cake we get Duality to complete this nine-track album. It sounds epic, medieval and contemporary at the same time. An almost painfully dry snaredrum literally beats throughout the whole song. A very mysterious track and perhaps even the darkest one on this very fascinating One From Many.

This is not Dicepeople’s debut and that can be clearly heard. This album became a very mature, well produced and diverse album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


NL

Londen is niet de meest zonnige stad en uit het obscure ondergrondse is in 2013 een electro-band onstproten: Dicepeople, bestaande uit Matt Brock (muzikant, songwriter en producer), Zmora (zanger) en Rafael Filomeno (beeldend kunstenaar). Het trio plukt in hun muziek elementen uit verschillende genres, waaronder synthpop, EBM, darkwave en post-rock.
Het laatste album van Dicepeople, End Of Line, liet al uitschijnen dat de ingeslagen richting iets donkerder en meer electro zou tijn. En met One From Many, wordt die lijn doorgetrokken naar krachtige soundscapes, met zware beats, vervormde synths en gitaren in overdrive. Een doos opent zich, en neemt je mee naar een onwereldse plek waarin angsten en dromen dreigend nabij komen.

Void is een obscure spoken words intro die waadt in horrortaferelen en die de angst waarvan sprake overduidelijk body geeft. Gone is een sluimerende electro/synthpopsong die door de vocale bochten in de stem van Zmora een heel apart karakter heeft.
Dat een lichaam door muziek in verstandelijk onbegrijpelijke bochten kan worden gedwongen, wordt muzikaal aangetoond in Multiplicity. Een goed dansbare ritmische EBM-song. Celestial sluit daar naadloos bij aan, en ademt synth-/future-pop uit.

Dat synthesizers extreem rekbaar zijn qua tonaliteit wordt duidelijk in Nitro. Met heavy noise in de klanken, ontpopt dit nummer zich tot een bijna old-school EBM-er. Mooi om te ervaren hoe het trio zich muzikaal breed uitsmeert. En nu we de smaak te pakken hebben, blijven we in hetzelfde ritme met Addiction. Iets milder en trager, maar toch heel stevig. De dans tussen de stem van Zmora en een mannelijke collega werkt verbluffend goed.

In de intro was darkwave genoemd, met Pigs krijgen we lik op stuk. Zalig heupwiegend nummer…
Als het gaat om muzikale kunde, variatie en niet bang zijn van verschillende electronische escapades, dan is dit album er ééntje om in te kaderen. Wat meer distortie en noisy invloeden, met alsnog een lekkere beat en lyriek, dan krijgen we This cadeau. Er zitten electro-punk invloeden in, er is een nevel van noise, een snuifje industrial,.. and so on.

En als toetje van dit 9 nummers tellende album krijgen we Duality. Het klinkt zowel episch en middeleeuws als hedendaags. Een tergend droge snaardrum beukt letterlijk doorheen de song. We krijgen een heel mysterieus nummer, het donkerste op deze overigens heel boeiende One From Many.

Dicepeople is niet aan hun proefstuk toe en dat hoor je. Dit is een heel volwassen, mooi geproducet en divers album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many 31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules