tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

DICEPEOPLE

One From Many

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[83/100]   

Syndicol Music
31/08/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

London is not known as the most sunny city and in 2013 Dicepeople emerged from its obscure underground. Dicepeople is an electro band consisting of Matt Brock (musician, songwriter and producer), Zmora (singer) and Rafael Filomeno (visual artist). For their music, this trio picks elements from several different genres, amongst them are Synth-Pop, EBM, Dark-Wave and Post-Rock.

The previous Dicepeople album End Of Line already showed the direction they were going, slightly darker and more electronic. With this new album One From Many these directions are extended with powerful soundscapes, heavy beats, distorted synths and guitars in overdrive. It’s like opening Pandora’s box and being taken away to an otherworldly place where fears and dreams come closer.

Void is an obscure spoken word intro that wades through horror scenes and that clearly embodies fear. Gone is a dormant Electro / Synth-Pop song that has a very special feel due to the vocal curves the voice of Zmora makes.

That a human body can be bent into virtually incomprehensible positions just by music is demonstrated in Multiplicity. A very danceable and rhythmic EBM song. The next song Celestial fits in seamlessly with a bit more Synth / Future-Pop touch.

That synthesizers are extremely flexible in terms of tonality becomes clear in Nitro. With some heavy noisy sounds, this song turns out to be an almost old-school-EBM-thing. It’s nice to experience how this trio spread out their musical tastes. Speaking of taste, we stay in the same style for Addiction. Slightly milder and a bit slower but still very firm. The alternating dance between the voice of Zmora and her male colleague works amazingly well.

We mentioned Dark-Wave in the intro and with Pigs it comes in hard. A blissful hip-shaking track!

When it comes to musical expertise, variation and not being afraid of making different electronic escapades, this is an album to refer to!

Then, with some more distortion and noisy influences, a nice beat and lyricism, we get This. Full of Electro-Punk influences, a mist of noise, a pinch of industrial … and so much more!

As the cherry on the cake we get Duality to complete this nine-track album. It sounds epic, medieval and contemporary at the same time. An almost painfully dry snaredrum literally beats throughout the whole song. A very mysterious track and perhaps even the darkest one on this very fascinating One From Many.

This is not Dicepeople’s debut and that can be clearly heard. This album became a very mature, well produced and diverse album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


NL

Londen is niet de meest zonnige stad en uit het obscure ondergrondse is in 2013 een electro-band onstproten: Dicepeople, bestaande uit Matt Brock (muzikant, songwriter en producer), Zmora (zanger) en Rafael Filomeno (beeldend kunstenaar). Het trio plukt in hun muziek elementen uit verschillende genres, waaronder synthpop, EBM, darkwave en post-rock.
Het laatste album van Dicepeople, End Of Line, liet al uitschijnen dat de ingeslagen richting iets donkerder en meer electro zou tijn. En met One From Many, wordt die lijn doorgetrokken naar krachtige soundscapes, met zware beats, vervormde synths en gitaren in overdrive. Een doos opent zich, en neemt je mee naar een onwereldse plek waarin angsten en dromen dreigend nabij komen.

Void is een obscure spoken words intro die waadt in horrortaferelen en die de angst waarvan sprake overduidelijk body geeft. Gone is een sluimerende electro/synthpopsong die door de vocale bochten in de stem van Zmora een heel apart karakter heeft.
Dat een lichaam door muziek in verstandelijk onbegrijpelijke bochten kan worden gedwongen, wordt muzikaal aangetoond in Multiplicity. Een goed dansbare ritmische EBM-song. Celestial sluit daar naadloos bij aan, en ademt synth-/future-pop uit.

Dat synthesizers extreem rekbaar zijn qua tonaliteit wordt duidelijk in Nitro. Met heavy noise in de klanken, ontpopt dit nummer zich tot een bijna old-school EBM-er. Mooi om te ervaren hoe het trio zich muzikaal breed uitsmeert. En nu we de smaak te pakken hebben, blijven we in hetzelfde ritme met Addiction. Iets milder en trager, maar toch heel stevig. De dans tussen de stem van Zmora en een mannelijke collega werkt verbluffend goed.

In de intro was darkwave genoemd, met Pigs krijgen we lik op stuk. Zalig heupwiegend nummer…
Als het gaat om muzikale kunde, variatie en niet bang zijn van verschillende electronische escapades, dan is dit album er ééntje om in te kaderen. Wat meer distortie en noisy invloeden, met alsnog een lekkere beat en lyriek, dan krijgen we This cadeau. Er zitten electro-punk invloeden in, er is een nevel van noise, een snuifje industrial,.. and so on.

En als toetje van dit 9 nummers tellende album krijgen we Duality. Het klinkt zowel episch en middeleeuws als hedendaags. Een tergend droge snaardrum beukt letterlijk doorheen de song. We krijgen een heel mysterieus nummer, het donkerste op deze overigens heel boeiende One From Many.

Dicepeople is niet aan hun proefstuk toe en dat hoor je. Dit is een heel volwassen, mooi geproducet en divers album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many 31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man