tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

DICEPEOPLE

One From Many

MusicCD
Dark Electro

[83/100]   

Syndicol Music
31/08/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

London is not known as the most sunny city and in 2013 Dicepeople emerged from its obscure underground. Dicepeople is an electro band consisting of Matt Brock (musician, songwriter and producer), Zmora (singer) and Rafael Filomeno (visual artist). For their music, this trio picks elements from several different genres, amongst them are Synth-Pop, EBM, Dark-Wave and Post-Rock.

The previous Dicepeople album End Of Line already showed the direction they were going, slightly darker and more electronic. With this new album One From Many these directions are extended with powerful soundscapes, heavy beats, distorted synths and guitars in overdrive. It’s like opening Pandora’s box and being taken away to an otherworldly place where fears and dreams come closer.

Void is an obscure spoken word intro that wades through horror scenes and that clearly embodies fear. Gone is a dormant Electro / Synth-Pop song that has a very special feel due to the vocal curves the voice of Zmora makes.

That a human body can be bent into virtually incomprehensible positions just by music is demonstrated in Multiplicity. A very danceable and rhythmic EBM song. The next song Celestial fits in seamlessly with a bit more Synth / Future-Pop touch.

That synthesizers are extremely flexible in terms of tonality becomes clear in Nitro. With some heavy noisy sounds, this song turns out to be an almost old-school-EBM-thing. It’s nice to experience how this trio spread out their musical tastes. Speaking of taste, we stay in the same style for Addiction. Slightly milder and a bit slower but still very firm. The alternating dance between the voice of Zmora and her male colleague works amazingly well.

We mentioned Dark-Wave in the intro and with Pigs it comes in hard. A blissful hip-shaking track!

When it comes to musical expertise, variation and not being afraid of making different electronic escapades, this is an album to refer to!

Then, with some more distortion and noisy influences, a nice beat and lyricism, we get This. Full of Electro-Punk influences, a mist of noise, a pinch of industrial … and so much more!

As the cherry on the cake we get Duality to complete this nine-track album. It sounds epic, medieval and contemporary at the same time. An almost painfully dry snaredrum literally beats throughout the whole song. A very mysterious track and perhaps even the darkest one on this very fascinating One From Many.

This is not Dicepeople’s debut and that can be clearly heard. This album became a very mature, well produced and diverse album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


NL

Londen is niet de meest zonnige stad en uit het obscure ondergrondse is in 2013 een electro-band onstproten: Dicepeople, bestaande uit Matt Brock (muzikant, songwriter en producer), Zmora (zanger) en Rafael Filomeno (beeldend kunstenaar). Het trio plukt in hun muziek elementen uit verschillende genres, waaronder synthpop, EBM, darkwave en post-rock.
Het laatste album van Dicepeople, End Of Line, liet al uitschijnen dat de ingeslagen richting iets donkerder en meer electro zou tijn. En met One From Many, wordt die lijn doorgetrokken naar krachtige soundscapes, met zware beats, vervormde synths en gitaren in overdrive. Een doos opent zich, en neemt je mee naar een onwereldse plek waarin angsten en dromen dreigend nabij komen.

Void is een obscure spoken words intro die waadt in horrortaferelen en die de angst waarvan sprake overduidelijk body geeft. Gone is een sluimerende electro/synthpopsong die door de vocale bochten in de stem van Zmora een heel apart karakter heeft.
Dat een lichaam door muziek in verstandelijk onbegrijpelijke bochten kan worden gedwongen, wordt muzikaal aangetoond in Multiplicity. Een goed dansbare ritmische EBM-song. Celestial sluit daar naadloos bij aan, en ademt synth-/future-pop uit.

Dat synthesizers extreem rekbaar zijn qua tonaliteit wordt duidelijk in Nitro. Met heavy noise in de klanken, ontpopt dit nummer zich tot een bijna old-school EBM-er. Mooi om te ervaren hoe het trio zich muzikaal breed uitsmeert. En nu we de smaak te pakken hebben, blijven we in hetzelfde ritme met Addiction. Iets milder en trager, maar toch heel stevig. De dans tussen de stem van Zmora en een mannelijke collega werkt verbluffend goed.

In de intro was darkwave genoemd, met Pigs krijgen we lik op stuk. Zalig heupwiegend nummer…
Als het gaat om muzikale kunde, variatie en niet bang zijn van verschillende electronische escapades, dan is dit album er ééntje om in te kaderen. Wat meer distortie en noisy invloeden, met alsnog een lekkere beat en lyriek, dan krijgen we This cadeau. Er zitten electro-punk invloeden in, er is een nevel van noise, een snuifje industrial,.. and so on.

En als toetje van dit 9 nummers tellende album krijgen we Duality. Het klinkt zowel episch en middeleeuws als hedendaags. Een tergend droge snaardrum beukt letterlijk doorheen de song. We krijgen een heel mysterieus nummer, het donkerste op deze overigens heel boeiende One From Many.

Dicepeople is niet aan hun proefstuk toe en dat hoor je. Dit is een heel volwassen, mooi geproducet en divers album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
31/08/2018


31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many 31/08/2018 : DICEPEOPLE - One From Many

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes