tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion...

AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023

A second opinion...

Concert
23/08/2023, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Elsewhere on our Peek-a-Boo website site you can read Xavier Kruth's report with general information about the venue, the atmosphere, etc., as well as a number of live reviews. In this article you will only find reviews of bands undersigned witnessed. In other words: Please read both concert reports to experience the atmosphere of Amphi 2023!

Day one. I attended Synthattack's performance early in the morning with the numerous other black mob members also already present. This band from Hannover saw the light of day in 2015. I have seen them at work at WGT in 2017 and wanted to see if the band is still performing as strongly. Martin Schindler appeared, as always, with his face painted in black and white, with his keyboardist Nicole at the back of the stage, in his shadow. When we talk about Synthtattack, think about heavy beats, a combination of EBM, harsh electro and dark electro. And that is also what we got served for over 40 minutes. It was noticeable that the audience who showed up was already very awake. A rhythmically moving audience let it in, and so did I. Their set contained a surprisingly beautiful version of 'Insomnia' by Faithless. It was still very enjoyable to see Synthattack on stage again, yes, but not that surprising as when I saw them six years ago.

Then we lingered a bit to see A Life Divided start, the typical poppy goth rock that many Germans go crazy for... and I run away from. Meanwhile catching some sounds in the distance from Wesselsky, serving more of the same, while we consumed some bland German beer (you can hardly beer). To kill the time before I consciously went to see the next performance, I saw the space creatures of S.P.O.C.K start. The Swedes bring corny synthpop with a spacy undertone. Not my cup of tea, but the audience is always right, and many were enthusiastically present. There is no arguing about taste, and I saw a frenzied audience, even though the vocals sounded more out of tune than on tone. We all know that only a happy few within 'the genre' have a great singing voice, but it was a bit too much.

Then we headed to the Theater Stage, in the mid-afternoon, for a performance by the harsh electro and aggro-tech gang Centhron. The three-piece band around singer Elmar Schmidt has been kicking ass since 2002. And that would be no different in the overcrowded theater stage today. The performance started with a piece of epic classical sounding synths. The announcement of the apocalypse, and I probably won't have to say it looked like it when things really got going. Beats pumping at a hellish pace, aggressive bass-lines, Schmidt singing his throat out. I know that the genre is viewed with pity by many and that the number of fans of the genre may be somewhat smaller. I can only say that the energy, the drive and the aggression, the dirty lyrics that do not shy away from controversy, have led to a very solid show. With a fully filled Theater Stage, and a wide audience of not just 'cybergoths'. Like myself, many have already moved in to conquer a good spot for the upcoming show of Calva Y Nada. After 25 years of silence, back on stage for a best of, because a band like Calva can. You can read in the review by colleague Xavier Kruth how great that performance was!

Mandatory thing to do after Centhron had gone was to go see the EBM pioneers of Front 242. Just like colleague Xavier Kruth, I am also far from 'the number one fan'. Yes, they are absolute EBM pioneers and have musically overwhelming merits, but for me it is not the band that grabs me by the throat. You can see the full setlist on the photos somewhere on this site. I skipped Deine Lakaien and Welle:Erdball, so for me day one ended here.

Day two. The sun, despite the ominous predictions that this could become a rain-soaked edition, was still present. So we could already tick that off. We started with Qntal, a band that is more convincing when seen in a venue, I think. At least in terms of atmosphere and experience, because musically Multi-instrumentalist Michael Popp and singer Syrah (Sigrid Hausen) are absolute toppers. For me it was the first time I saw them since somewhere in 2005 in the Arena Van Vletingen in Ghent. Their classic chants have as many languages as I have fingers, combined with electro and EBM beats. Yes, it continues to work. A few classics like 'Die Finstere Nacht' and the great 'Ad Mortem Festinatus' already set the main stage ablaze.

I went down to see Whispering Sons at work on the Theater Stage. I haven't seen them live for a while and wanted to see how the mainly German audience would react to their show. At WGT, we already saw that they have gathered a very broad fan base, and that was no different at Amphi. A fully packed Theater Stage watched Fenne Kuppens and company play a great live show with such ease. I noticed again that their music sounds so much stronger live than on their records. No nonsense, no talking, just rocking. A concept that still works for me, rather than seeing bands spending more time on binding texts or (sometimes even worse) on so many visuals and effects that the music almost disappears to the background. No, these Belgian post-punks do it purely with their music, and it's rock solid. They only got 50 minutes, so the pace was appropriate but still enough for 12 songs. The Ramones finished 20 songs in that time, but we have to admit that Whispering Sons also played quite a bit in their tightly allotted time too. I remain an irrevocable fan of their first EP. In my honest opinion, they have never matched that sound again on any later release. So I secretly hoped one or two songs from Endless Party would have made the setlist. Too bad, all songs were taken from the albums Image and Several Others. But this did not endanger their great performance in any way. Highlights were 'Alone', 'Surface' and 'Waste' but then almost their entire set was bursting with fun, and love for what they do, the no-nonsense approach. It is clear that Whispering Sons now have a really broad fan base, not only consisting of the numerous Belgians present, but also fans from 30 other nationalities. Because yes, Amphi also attracts visitors from all over Mother Earth. The applause made it more than clear that the show was awesome. The only thing that would bring the performances even closer to the audience would be a little more interaction with the audience.

Yes, I also like the heavier beats from time to time, certainly since I heard Combichrist would play an old school pure electro set. Because in all honesty: since the band threw in a bunch of guitars, I'm less of a fan. I have the same feeling with Psyclon Nine. If they play out purely aggro-tech-wise, I'm also more inclined to listen than when it turns into a metal show. To be clear: I have nothing against some guitars, on the contrary. But my love with these kinds of bands is mainly the electro version, so to speak. And yes, the Norwegian Andy Laplegua (also frontman of Icon Of Coil) was accompanied only by someone behind the computers/turntables. Pure electro. The sound on the main stage was not always optimal, or at least not from where I stood. But that couldn't spoil the fun when a lot of 'hits' were played. The audience that had gathered in front of the main stage in large numbers had to endure 'Electrohead', 'Fuck That Shit', 'Get Your Body Beat' and 'Fuckmachine', among others. Next year the band is already booked to play on the Call The Ship To The Port event. Together with [X]RX. That sound like a party already!

Choosing is losing, also on Amphi. While Combichrist played, Rue Oberkampf played the Orbit Stage. We missed them but took up position in front of the stage, with just as much curiosity, to see NNHMN (Non-Human) at work. NNHMN is a Berlin-based dark electronic music duo that brings moody and floaty, but danceable minimal with some techno influences. Lee and Michal Lauberg provided a solid party. What they present is so stimulating, fascinating, varied. The vocal sound that is sometimes whispery, then mesmerizing, combined with inviting synths and drum machines. MS Rheinenergie (the party ship / Orbit stage) is a very strong ship, but I do think that it has caused some commotion on the Rhine river because the dancing crowd had the thing rocking to all sides. I think I made the right choice, as seeing Lord Of The Lost (remember: German entry for Eurosong 2023, finished last) on the main stage with their guitar-driven solid goth rock/-metal was actually no option. I've seen them live twice and twice I left after 20 minutes. Now I have saved myself another Lord of The Lost retreat and witnessed NNHMN, a band that I have loved already for a while instead.

Finally, a quite different and choice: Seeing OMD on the main stage or L'âme Immortelle on the Orbit stage, while Actors closed in the Theater Stage. Ok, OMD is big, but OMD is also so eighties, and let me be the guy who doesn't care much for that. On the other hand, they are monuments in the genre. Anyway I don't like their music as much as what L'âme Immortelle brings. So I chose to go for the Austrians. The band has been around since 1996, when Thomas Rainer and Hannes Medwenitsch joined forces. In the same year, the third band member Sonja Kraushofer was also recruited as singer for their dark-wave, but then very danceable music. The combination of Sonja's great singing voice and Thomas' rougher, unpolished vocal parts, works wel land makes the band sound diverse. From subdued ballads to heavy stompers to dark wave songs, it gives one goosebumps. They now have a very nice musical heritage and the set list was a reflection of that. 'Dem Abgrund entgegen', 'Requiem', 'Asche', the absolute classic '5 Jahre', the great 'Life Will Never Be The Same Again', 'Angst', 'es Tut Mir Leid', 'Fallen Angel' and the encore songs 'Bitterkeit' and 'Still'. For me, it was like rediscovering a band of which the CDs I own, lie somewhere at home are gathering dust. Well, this great performance has woken me up again. And yes, this is a band where a singer like Sonja has an angelic voice. Even after all these years, she sounds sharp, consistent, catchy. In the quiet intimate passages, but also when she lashes out. It was a nice end to my only second (yes, shame on me) Amphi.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2023


NL

Amphi 2023 was weer de moeite! In dit artikel lees je reviews van enkele bands die ik zag. Ook Xavier Kruth kroop in zijn pen. Zijn impressies lees je elders op deze site, samen met algemene info over de venue, de sfeer, etc. Lees beide concertverslagen om de sfeer van Amphi 2023 te (her)beleven.

Dag één startte voor mij in alle vroegte met het optreden van Synthattack. De band uit Hannover zag het levenslicht in 2015. Ik had ze op WGT in 2017 aan het werk gezien en was benieuwd of de band hetzelfde zou presteren. Martin Schindler verscheen zoals altijd met het gezicht in zwart/wit, zijn toetseniste Nicole bleef achteraan op het podium in zijn schaduw. Wie Synthtattack zegt denkt zware beats, een combinatie van EBM, harsh electro en dark electro. En dat kregen we ook, 40 minuten lang. Dat het opgedaagde publiek ook al echt wakker was, was te merken. Een ritmisch bewegend publiek liet het zich welgevallen, en ik ook. Er zat een verrassend mooie versie in van Insomnia van Faithless. Leuk om ze terug te zien. Maar verrassender dan ik ze een 6 jaar terug zag is het niet. Genietbaar, dat wel!

Vervolgens bleef ik hangen voor A Life Divided, de typische poppy gothrock. Mij kon het niet boeien. Vanuit de verte kon ik wat klanken van Wesselsky opvangen, in hetzelfde genre. Ook vanuit de verte, genietend van flauw Duits gerstenat (bier kan je het niet noemen) een paar nummers horen weerklinken. En om de tijd wat te doden heb ik de ruimtewezens van S.P.O.C.K nog zien starten. De Zweden brengen melige synthpop met een spacy ondertoon. Het is not my cup of tea, maar het publiek heeft altijd gelijk, en dat was talrijk en enthousiast aanwezig. Over smaak en kleur valt niet te twisten en ik zag een uitzinnig publiek. Ook al klonk de zang meer vals dan op de toon. We weten allemaal dat slechts enkele happy few binnen ‘het genre’ behept zijn met een geweldige zangstem. Maar het was heel vals.
Halfweg de middagtrok ik richting Theatre Stage voor een optreden van de harsh electro en aggrotech-bende Centhron. De driekoppige band rond zanger Elmar Schmidt schopt al sedert 2002 keet. En dat zou niet anders zijn in de overvol gevulde theatre stage. Het optreden startte met een stukje episch klassiek klinkende synths. De aankondiging van de apocalyps, en ik zal waarschijnlijk niet hoeven te zeggen dat het erop leek toen het echt los ging. Aan een hels tempo pompende beats, agressieve basslines, Schmidt die de strot uit zijn keel zong. Ik weet dat het genre door velen meewarig wordt bekeken en dat het aantal fans van het genre misschien wat beperkt is, maar ik kan enkel vaststellen dat de energie, de drive en de agressie, de schunnige teksten die geen controverse schuwen, wel hebben geleid tot een heel stevige show. Met een volledig gevulde Theatre Stage, en een breed publiek, niet enkel de ‘cybergoths’. Nu wellicht (zoals ook ikzelf) waren velen al afgezakt om een plekje te veroveren voor de show van Calva Y Nada. Na 25 jaar live-stilte terug op het podium, voor een best off, want een band zoals Calva kan énkel dat brengen. Je leest in de review van collega Xavier Kruth hoé geweldig dat was!

Verplicht nummer na Centhron waren de EBM-pioniers van Front 242. En net zoals collega Xavier Kruth ben ik verre van ‘de nummer één fan’. Ja, ze zijn absolute EBM-pioniers en hebben muzikaal overweldigende verdiensten, maar ook voor mij is het niet de band die me bij de strot pakt. De volledige setlist zie je bij de foto’s. Dag één eindigde hier voor mij.

Day two. De zon, ondanks de onheilspellende voorspellingen dat dit wel eens een doorregende editie kon worden, was toch van de partij. Dus dat konden we al afvinken. Gestart bij Qntal. Dit is een band die beter tot zijn recht komt in een zaal lijkt me. Qua sfeer en beleving dan toch, want muzikaal zijn multi-instrumentalist Michael Popp en zangeres Syrah (Sigrid Hausen) absolute toppers. Voor mij was het al geleden van ergens in 2005 in de Arena Van Vletingen in Gent dat ik de ze nog aan het werk zag. Hun klassieke zang in evenveel talen als ik vingers heb, gecombineerd met electro en EBM beats. Het blijft werken. Een paar klassiekers zoals Die Finstere Nacht, en het geweldige Ad Mortem Festinatus zetten de main stage al in lichterlaaie.

Dan ben ik afgezakt naar de Theatre Stage om Whispering Sons aan het werk te zien. Ik zag ze al even niet live aan het werk én wist hoe het voornamelijk Duitse publiek zou reageren. Op WGT zag je al dat ze een heel brede fanbase hebben, en dat was op Amphi niet anders. Niet alleen de Belgen waren talrijk aanwezig, ook de 30 andere nationaliteiten kwamen opdagen. Want ja, Amphi trekt bezoekers van alle uithoeken van moeder Aarde. Een volledig gevulde Theatre Stage aanschouwde hoe Fenne Kuppens en de haren met zo’n gemak geweldige liveshows spelen. Mij viel het opnieuw op dat dit live nog zoveel sterker is dan op plaat. No nonsense, geen gepraat maar rocken. Voor mij nog steeds een concept dat werkt, eerder dan bands die meer tijd spenderen aan bindteksten of (soms nog erger) aan zoveel visuals dat de muziek verdwijnt. Nee de Belgische postpunkers doen het puur met hun muziek, en die staat er. Ze kregen slechts 50 minuten, dus tempo was aangewezen. Genoeg voor 12 songs. Waar The Ramones er in die tijd 20 afwerkten, moeten we nageven dat Whispering Sons toch ook aardig wat heeft gespeeld in de hun strak toegemeten tijd. Ik blijf onherroepelijk fan van hun eerste EP. Die sound hebben ze voor mij op geen enkel album nog geëvenaard. Dus ik hoopte stiekem dat er één of twee songs van Endless Party de setlist zouden hebben gehaald. Pech, alle songs kwamen van de albums Image en Several Others. Maar dat doet op geen enkele wijze afbreuk aan een geweldig optreden. Uitschieters waren Alone, Surface en Waste. Of ik die echt uitschieters kan noemen, is wat lastig. Want de gehele set barstte van het plezier, liefde voor wat ze doen, de no nonsense aanpak. Het applaus maakte meer dan duidelijk dat het awesome was. Het enige dat de optredens nog dichter bij het publiek zou brengen, is iets meer interactie met het publiek.

En ja, ik hou wel van de stevigere beats. En ik had horen waaien dat Combichrist een oldschool pure electro set zou spelen. In alle eerlijkheid: sedert de band er weer een dosis gitaren op gooit, ben ik minder fan. Ik heb hetzelfde met Psyclon Nine. As die puur aggrotechgewijs uithalen, ben ik ook meer geneigd te luisteren dan wanneer het een metalshow wordt. Voor alle duidelijkheid: ik heb niets tegen gitaren, wel integendeel. Maar mijn liefde bij dit soort bands is vooral de electroversie, om het zo uit te drukken. En jawel hoor, de Noor Andy Laplegua (ook frontman van Icon Of Coil) had enkel iemand achter de computers/draaitafels bij. Pure electro. De klank op de main stage was niet steeds optimaal, of toch niet van waar ik stond. Maar dat kon de pret niet drukken toen heel wat ‘hits’ de revue passeerden. Het publiek kreeg o.a. Electrohead, Fuck That Shit, Get Your Body Beat en Fuckmachine te verduren. Volgend jaar staat de band geprogrammeerd voor de Call The Ship To The Port op ‘den boot’. Samen met [X]RX. Dat wordt daar tanzen geblazen…

Kiezen is verliezen, ook op Amphi. Want tijdens Combichrist speelde op de Orbit Stage Rue Oberkampf. Die heb ik dus moeten missen, maar met evenzeer nieuwsgierigheid zag ik NNHMN (Non-Human) aan het werk. NNHMN is een in Berlijn gevestigd donker elektronisch muziekduo dat moody en zweverige, maar dansbare minimal met wel wat techno-invloeden brengt. Lee en Michal Lauberg zorgden voor een ferm feestje. Wat ze doen is zo prikkelend, fascinerend, afwisselend. De vocale sound die soms fluisterend, soms betoverend is, gecombineerd met synths en uitnodigende drummachines. MS Rheinenergie (het partyship /Orbist-stage) is een héél stevige bood, maar ik denk wel dat die voor wat deining heeft gezorgd op de Rijn. Want de dansende meute heeft het ding doen schudden langs alle kanten. Ik heb denk ik een juiste keuze gemaakt, gezien op de main stage Lord Of The Lost (remember: Duitse inzending voor Eurosong 2023, laatste geëindigd) hun gitaargedreven stevige gothrock/-metal te berde brachten. Ik zag hen al twee keer optreden in mijn leven en ben twee keer na 20 minuten vertrokken. Nu heb ik mezelf de aftocht bespaard en met NNHMN een band die ik al even volgde live aanhoord en het was het meer dan waard.

Als afsluiter weer een verschuerende keuze: OMD op de main stage of L’âme Immortelle op de Orbit. Actors sloot af in de Theatre Stage. OMD is big. Maar OMD is ook zo eighties, en laat ik nu iemand zijn die daar weinig mee heeft. Maar anderzijds zijn het monumenten in het genre. Maar de muziek ligt me minder dan wat L’âme Immortelle brengt. Dus dan toch maar gekozen voor de Oostenrijkers. De band draait al mee van in 1996, toenThomas Rainer en Hannes Medwenitsch de krachten bundelden. In datzelfde jaar werd ook het derde bandlid Sonja Kraushofer ingelijfd als zangeres. Darkwave, maar dan van die heel dansbare. De combinatie van de geweldige zangstem van Sonja en dan Thomas die de ruwere, ongepolijste stempartijen voor zijn rekening neemt, is een combinatie die wérkt en die maakt dat de band enorm divers klinkt. Van ingetogen ballades, over stevige meestampers, tot darkwave songs waar je kippenvel van krijgt. Ze hebben intussen een heel mooie muzikale erfenis en de setlist was daar een weerslag van. Dem Abgrund entgegen, Requiem, Asche, de absolute klassieker 5 Jahre, het geweldige Life Will Never Be The Same Again, Angst, Es Tut Mir Leid, Fallen angel en bij de bisnummers Bitterkeit en Still. Voor mij was het het herontdekken van een band waar de CD’s die ik er thuis van heb onder een dun laagje stof liggen. Wel, dit geweldige optreden heeft me weer wakker geschud. En ja, dit is dan wél een band waarbij de zangeres Sonja een engelenstem heeft. Ook na al die jaren scherp, toonvast, pakkend. In de stille, intieme passages, maar evenzeer als ze uithaalt. Het was een mooie deugddoende afsluiter voor mijn (nog maar, ja, shame on me) tweede Amphi.

Voor wie die volgend jaar al wil plannen, er zijn al een serie bands aangekondigd om duimen en vingers bij af te likken: And One, Blutengel, Kirlian Camera, Minuit Machine, Solar Fake, Agent Side Grinder, The Beauty Of Gemina, Girls Under Glass, Merciful Nuns, Bloody dead and sexy, Ost+front, …. Dus rep je naar de ticketshop. We will be present!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2023


23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion... 23/08/2023 : AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 - A second opinion...

Music reviews

16
11
THE WEATHERMEN
PIAS 40
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
PIAS40
28
10
SKINNY PUPPY
PIAS 40
27
10
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Blue Screens 1995 -2009
25
10
BHPL
II
24
10
PARTIKUL
Having Gone

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
47 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
45 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 36 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 39 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
53 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
11
THE ESSENCE
I wanted to write a song that was more poppy, with a flamenco riff. The result, 'A Mirage', became a huge hit.
30
10
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
There are worse things in life than being called the Pink Floyd of gothic rock. I can certainly live with that.
26
10
PLACEBO EFFECT
What does art mean? Something that we humans carry within us. An unexplored spot that may never be properly clarified “scientifically”
25
10
SUCH BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS
For me there was never much difference between The Sex Pistols and Fad Gadget or Front 242. They're both punk, just with different instruments.
23
10
ALEXANDER NYM (NSK STATE IN TIME)
If you’re marching towards annihilation, you should at least do it with a happy song.

PHOTOS

29
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
UNDERVIEWER
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
FIX8:SED8
De Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
29
11
HONEYMOON COWBOYS
Café Café Hasselt
29
11
JE T'AIME
Fzw Dortmund
27
11
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
19
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Depot Leuven

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery
05
12
AROMA DI AMORE
Voor de dood
04
12
MUSSOLINI HEADKICK
Your God is Dead
03
12
REVOLTING COCKS
Da Ya Think I'm Sexy
02
12
BLACK LINE
Snap
01
12
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
30
11
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia