tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP)

MILTON STAR

Things Fall Apart (EP)

MusicCD
Dark Alternative Country

[90/100]   

Stereogram Recordings
07/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Milton Star is a Scottish duo. Previously Alan Wyllie and Greame Currie released the single Salvation/Sorryville, and now they ask your attention for the successor. They call their style dark alternative country, but in Things Fall Apart they especially sound like a cross between Nick Cave and Mark Lanegan, with influences from Angelo Badalamenti and Ennio Morricone, in an atmospheric and neatly structured melody, embellished with dark guitar sounds, strings and soft rumbling percussion with a beautiful baritone voice on top and a story about the dark side of the human condition and the destructive capacity of depression.

The collaboration between the two musicians goes back to the post-punk period. Nowadays they write their mix of indie and dark country in an old church in Fife, just over the Scottish border. The acoustics and the beautiful countryside feed ideas and form the sound of our compositions, says Allen Wyllie, and that's no exaggeration, as Things Fall Apart is undoubtedly a heavenly production. That's how Lou Reed would sound if he came from Fife, Ralph's Life Magazine wrote about Milton Star, and we agree with that vision.

Keep an eye on those guys!

https://soundcloud.com/miltonstar

https://vimeo.com/channels/miltonstar

William LIÉNARD
07/07/2015


NL

Milton Star is een Schots duo dat eerder de single Salvation/Sorryville op de wereld losliet en nu uw aandacht vraagt met de opvolger. Ze noemen hun stijl dark alternative country, maar op Things Fall Apart klinken Alan Wyllie en Graeme Currie vooral als een kruising tussen Nick Cave en Mark Lanegan, met invloeden van Angelo Badalamenti en Ennio Morricone, in een atmosferische en netjes gestructureerde melodie, opgesmukt met donker gitaargeluid, strijkers en zacht roffelende percussie en bovenop de prachtige baritonstem in een verhaal over de donkere kant van de menselijke conditie en de destructieve capaciteit van depressie.

De samenwerking tussen beide muzikanten gaat terug tot de postpunkperiode. Tegenwoordig schrijven ze hun mix van indie en donkere country in een ongebouwde kerk in Fife, net over de Schotse grens. De akoestiek hier en het prachtige platteland voeden de ideeën en vormen het geluid van onze composities, zegt Alen Wyllie, en dat is geen centimeter overdreven, want Things Fall Apart is zonder meer een hemelse productie. Zó zou Lou Reed zaliger klinken mocht hij van Fife afkomstig zijn, schreef Ralph’s Life Magazine, over Milton Star, en daar zijn we het volmondig mee eens.

In het oog houden die kerels!

William LIÉNARD
07/07/2015


07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP) 07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP) 07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth