tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP)

MILTON STAR

Things Fall Apart (EP)

MusicCD
Dark Alternative Country

[90/100]   

Stereogram Recordings
07/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Milton Star is a Scottish duo. Previously Alan Wyllie and Greame Currie released the single Salvation/Sorryville, and now they ask your attention for the successor. They call their style dark alternative country, but in Things Fall Apart they especially sound like a cross between Nick Cave and Mark Lanegan, with influences from Angelo Badalamenti and Ennio Morricone, in an atmospheric and neatly structured melody, embellished with dark guitar sounds, strings and soft rumbling percussion with a beautiful baritone voice on top and a story about the dark side of the human condition and the destructive capacity of depression.

The collaboration between the two musicians goes back to the post-punk period. Nowadays they write their mix of indie and dark country in an old church in Fife, just over the Scottish border. The acoustics and the beautiful countryside feed ideas and form the sound of our compositions, says Allen Wyllie, and that's no exaggeration, as Things Fall Apart is undoubtedly a heavenly production. That's how Lou Reed would sound if he came from Fife, Ralph's Life Magazine wrote about Milton Star, and we agree with that vision.

Keep an eye on those guys!

https://soundcloud.com/miltonstar

https://vimeo.com/channels/miltonstar

William LIÉNARD
07/07/2015


NL

Milton Star is een Schots duo dat eerder de single Salvation/Sorryville op de wereld losliet en nu uw aandacht vraagt met de opvolger. Ze noemen hun stijl dark alternative country, maar op Things Fall Apart klinken Alan Wyllie en Graeme Currie vooral als een kruising tussen Nick Cave en Mark Lanegan, met invloeden van Angelo Badalamenti en Ennio Morricone, in een atmosferische en netjes gestructureerde melodie, opgesmukt met donker gitaargeluid, strijkers en zacht roffelende percussie en bovenop de prachtige baritonstem in een verhaal over de donkere kant van de menselijke conditie en de destructieve capaciteit van depressie.

De samenwerking tussen beide muzikanten gaat terug tot de postpunkperiode. Tegenwoordig schrijven ze hun mix van indie en donkere country in een ongebouwde kerk in Fife, net over de Schotse grens. De akoestiek hier en het prachtige platteland voeden de ideeën en vormen het geluid van onze composities, zegt Alen Wyllie, en dat is geen centimeter overdreven, want Things Fall Apart is zonder meer een hemelse productie. Zó zou Lou Reed zaliger klinken mocht hij van Fife afkomstig zijn, schreef Ralph’s Life Magazine, over Milton Star, en daar zijn we het volmondig mee eens.

In het oog houden die kerels!

William LIÉNARD
07/07/2015


07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP) 07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP) 07/07/2015 : MILTON STAR - Things Fall Apart (EP)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom