tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2015 : THE JAM - About The Young Idea

THE JAM

About The Young Idea

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Polydor
07/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Tying in with a major 2015 exhibition at London's Somerset House and Paul Weller's recent Glastonbury appearance, About The Young Idea traces the exultant and iconic trio's most essential songs from 1977's In The City to the 1982 flexi-disc rarity Pop Art Poem.

Chronologically arranged and jam-packed (sorry) full of the new-wavers' most potent anthems, the double-disc set doesn't just concentrate on the hits - there are some high-end album tracks and b-sides such as Thick As Thieves, Pretty Green, English Rose and the always essential Monday, plus you get a previously unissued demo in the shape of the gutsy Takin' My Love.

Perhaps arguably the band's peak was Sound Affects, an album that seemed to be all things to all types with the reflective sardonic take on My Favourite Things, the acoustic pinnacle that is That's Entertainment, acting as the LP's centrepiece. And then there's the woozy psychedelia of Man In The Corner Shop and the elated gum-chewing swagger of Boy About Town, both brimming with brassy confidence from a threesome at the peak of their powers.

In the run up to their split, The Jam unleashed some pretty incredible singles, not least the tribal Funeral Pyre, the peppy jazz-funk workout Absolute Beginners and the landmark Town Called Malice which revealed Weller's love of soul amidst typically biting lyrics.

47 tracks, pretty much every one a stormer, making About The Young Idea the perfect summarisation of a band that knew when to call time and conclude on a high.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/07/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu