tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2015 : THE JAM - About The Young Idea

THE JAM

About The Young Idea

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Polydor
07/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Tying in with a major 2015 exhibition at London's Somerset House and Paul Weller's recent Glastonbury appearance, About The Young Idea traces the exultant and iconic trio's most essential songs from 1977's In The City to the 1982 flexi-disc rarity Pop Art Poem.

Chronologically arranged and jam-packed (sorry) full of the new-wavers' most potent anthems, the double-disc set doesn't just concentrate on the hits - there are some high-end album tracks and b-sides such as Thick As Thieves, Pretty Green, English Rose and the always essential Monday, plus you get a previously unissued demo in the shape of the gutsy Takin' My Love.

Perhaps arguably the band's peak was Sound Affects, an album that seemed to be all things to all types with the reflective sardonic take on My Favourite Things, the acoustic pinnacle that is That's Entertainment, acting as the LP's centrepiece. And then there's the woozy psychedelia of Man In The Corner Shop and the elated gum-chewing swagger of Boy About Town, both brimming with brassy confidence from a threesome at the peak of their powers.

In the run up to their split, The Jam unleashed some pretty incredible singles, not least the tribal Funeral Pyre, the peppy jazz-funk workout Absolute Beginners and the landmark Town Called Malice which revealed Weller's love of soul amidst typically biting lyrics.

47 tracks, pretty much every one a stormer, making About The Young Idea the perfect summarisation of a band that knew when to call time and conclude on a high.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/07/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis