tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2015 : THE JAM - About The Young Idea

THE JAM

About The Young Idea

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Polydor
07/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Tying in with a major 2015 exhibition at London's Somerset House and Paul Weller's recent Glastonbury appearance, About The Young Idea traces the exultant and iconic trio's most essential songs from 1977's In The City to the 1982 flexi-disc rarity Pop Art Poem.

Chronologically arranged and jam-packed (sorry) full of the new-wavers' most potent anthems, the double-disc set doesn't just concentrate on the hits - there are some high-end album tracks and b-sides such as Thick As Thieves, Pretty Green, English Rose and the always essential Monday, plus you get a previously unissued demo in the shape of the gutsy Takin' My Love.

Perhaps arguably the band's peak was Sound Affects, an album that seemed to be all things to all types with the reflective sardonic take on My Favourite Things, the acoustic pinnacle that is That's Entertainment, acting as the LP's centrepiece. And then there's the woozy psychedelia of Man In The Corner Shop and the elated gum-chewing swagger of Boy About Town, both brimming with brassy confidence from a threesome at the peak of their powers.

In the run up to their split, The Jam unleashed some pretty incredible singles, not least the tribal Funeral Pyre, the peppy jazz-funk workout Absolute Beginners and the landmark Town Called Malice which revealed Weller's love of soul amidst typically biting lyrics.

47 tracks, pretty much every one a stormer, making About The Young Idea the perfect summarisation of a band that knew when to call time and conclude on a high.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/07/2015


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela