tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/11/2017 : RESISTOR - Ice Cold Gold

RESISTOR

Ice Cold Gold

MusicCD
EBM

[86/100]   

Black Leather Records
01/11/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Resistor is a band from Bogota, founded by Leonardo Jaime. Old-school EBM (Electronic Body Music), rooted in power, domination and rebellion. The album contains 11 droning, hard hitting EBM songs, full of aggression and rage that makes you think WTF! It may not be necessary to mention that a number of politically sensitive topics are addressed.

Resistor's music is built-up with hard-hitting rhythms in a repeating cadence, with an alternating melodic, the aggressive, mood and tone. Breathe, Cliche, Dopamine and Electricidad Total sound like a repeated attack on your eardrums.

Energy, healthy aggression and power at full force, no more no less!

With the tracks Fear, Pain, Hatred and Power we also get an impression of Resistor’s live capabilities and this seems to sound more than ok to us.

The tempo slows down a bit with the title song of this album Ice Cold Gold, only to gear-up and accelerate quickly after Mercenary Angel. A stomping and danceable EBM classic in the making. Next we are treated to some retro sounds on Moloko. You could even describe it as a minimalist EBM song. Then, it’s like being pulled through a time machine landing back in 2017 again, with a very danceable song. It is still reminiscent of old school, yet it has a techno-sounding edge in the drum-programming. It shows Resistor does not get lost in the EBM barrel but sounds contemporary. The track Resistor is like the bands ode to the EBM music style, sung in German which gives the song an even more aggressive touch. The song Shock is a worthy closure track for this great CD.

It’s clear Resistor will keep the underground awake in Bogota, Colombia and far beyond its borders with this very strong EBM album. It’s seems they have learned well from listening to some of the (also Belgian) pioneers of their beloved music genre and made it their own in the best possible way.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/11/2017


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline