tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/01/2014 : FADERHEAD - Atoms & Emptiness

FADERHEAD

Atoms & Emptiness

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro PopFuturepopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

L-Tracks
13/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Faderhead is becoming one of the best club-acts! With the help of Daniel Myers & Mister Visconti (XP8), can't be lesser than a beauty! I pointed out the resemblance with Robbie Williams in the past & it still stands for me, but I know that not everybody agrees with me, maybe because Mister Williams is simply not able to make this kind of great clubbers?

I also love the second voice in the songs it really adds this extra thing that sometimes in not there on certain records!

I absolutely love the club tracks like "Stand Up" (love the mix of the 2 voices: like the beast and Robbie Williams on a sexoverdrive, really nice beats and a great clubber), "When The Freaks Come Out" (great vibes, great beats, great warm and well worked out sound, nice vocals, the lyrics might be talking about some creatures of the night hunting club land, but then the roaring alarm reminds me more about the second world war? On this the mix of both voices is simply great) and "You Can't Resist" (this one can become a full clubber in another remix, it has everything to become it, it just needs a higher tempo and there we are...) which are fluently mixed with future pop songs like "Champaign for the real pain" (where again the screaming beast is mixed with the cool Robbie Williams minded voice in sexoverdrive and it keeps me moving while it plays, love the sound and the nice mixing giving it a warm sound), "Someone Else's Dream" (it's a false slow one and I feel that it can become a real clubber in another mix, love the lyrics and the warm sound and great electronic drums) and "Every Hour Kills" (written in cooperation of Daniel Myer from Haujobb and gets a real Euro pop sound with a cool and restrained voice, love the beats on this one too)!

One of the strangest songs is for sure "Trough this Pain you Heal" it reminds me of some Front242 track (only the beats, some parts of Happiness in the live version" and feels like as if it's starting up, but never really explodes like the Front242 song), it somehow has something mysterious that keeps you captivated.

There is also the false ballad like the title track "Atoms & Emptiness" (a nice one, but not the kind of ballad to dance on and fall in love with your dance partner, it gets a bit bombastic at some point), the other slow one 'I Forget (somehow this is the only song I tend to skip) and '"Anti-paradise" (sounds like the hangover song).

The real ballad is the end song "My heart is safe".

I'm happy in the end that the auto-repeat is on and that I start over with a great clubber and the live vibe of that song! It wakes me up after the nice end song and gets me back on the dance floor!

I found more than enough clubbers to get addicted to this one, I hope you are too! This new record promises a lot of energy for the live gigs!

They are also working on a video for the song "Stand Up". Mia Castello (from the "Black Friday"-shortfilm) is working on it, just as partner in crime Konsul Kühlsen. "Stand Up" is the first track in the preview mix of the upcoming album.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
13/01/2014


 

Next reviews
6CT HUMOUR • Djuel
MIKLOS JANCSO • The Confrontation (Fenyes Szelek)
MOVEMENT TEN • Build Them And They Will Come
TOMORROW WE SAIL • For Those Who Caught The Sun In Flight
WINKIE • One day we pretend to be ghosts
ANNE CLARK AND HERRB • Fairytales From The Underground
SIEBEN • Each Divine Spark
HYBRYDS • The Silent Whisper
RICHARD RAAPHORST • Frankenstein's Army
BLAK OPZ • As Nations Decay

 

Other reviews from FADERHEAD
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FADERHEAD • FH4

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall