tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

19/08/2015 : THE SOUND - All Fall Down

THE SOUND

All Fall Down

MusicAlbum Classics
Post Punk

[97/100]   

Renascent Records
19/08/2015, Didier BECU

While our favourite musicians grace our pages by coming up with ten albums that changed their lives, I was keen on jumping into my own collection as well. Personally I can’t think of any better start then The Sound, the English post-punk band from South London and probably (if not for sure) the most underrated band ever. We all know how it ended in April 1999. Frontman Adrian Borland suffered from heavy depression, but it is a well known fact that his biggest regret was that he never had been appreciated as a musician. In a better world The Sound would have been as big as U2, even bigger, but there was something in the air (God?) that prevented stardom. The Sound is known to a handful of people, especially in Britain, and that is a shame.

In fact, Borland's whole career is a mystery. He surely has some devoted fans, but for reasons I never understood, they always consider the song Winning or the second album From The Lion’s Mouth as the masterpiece. Well, it is, but they did a lot of better things... The third album All Fall Down for example. In terms of marketing the album was even a complete failure. WEA was not exactly happy with their previous work and the label forced the band to go into a more commercial direction. Borland opted for (pardon my French) commercial suicide and released a “difficult” album. No one listened (except a handful of fans) and the label was so disappointed that they didn’t released one single from it!

No singles? No hit songs? Well, that’s obviously what those WEA-bosses had in mind as All Fall Down is perhaps too short, but it contains 10 perfect post-punk songs that are marked by melancholy and timeless song writing. Monument is probably the most beautiful song you can write for a girl (not that she will listen), while Party Of The Mind is an ideal choice if you’re…well…schizophrenic. Calling The New Tune is great if you want to dance (in your room as you won’t hear it at any disco), Red Paint is punk as punk should be, while Where The Love Is would have been a classic if it was on U2’s Boy. We Could Go Far is simply the best song ever written, if only the world would listen! In fact, the word you use most when referring to The Sound is “if”. We’re just not worth it, Adrian, see you in heaven!

The album was (of course) deleted from WEA’s catalogue, but reissued by Renascent in 2001, containing three bonus tracks. 

Didier BECU
19/08/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat